LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Modding requests (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=635)
-   -   A voice for Revan K1 (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=210471)

TWINKEYRUNAWAY 08-08-2012 02:34 AM

A voice for Revan K1
 
View page
YouTube Video

I thought it would be really cool if I could find someone to do the lines for this character in the first game. To give him a voice, something I think would be something of a milestone for an unmodded pure version of kotor. Before you ask, I am not making this mod but I am doing something of a scouting mission to see if there are interested voice actors. So far I have received 5 auditions and 3 of them are sounding really good/fitting. The purpose is so that eventually such a feat can be accomplished.

The mod request would be if I could find a suitable voice, would any modder here be interested in making it so that the voice actor's lines can be lip-synced into the game?(with a reasonable amount of time and effort of course).

CptPriceless 08-08-2012 02:47 AM

I like the idea, and I might even install it if something like this is accomplished - move KotOR 1 step closer to modern day standards.

Still, it wouldn't be a permanent tenant of my Override folder though; this makes me react the same way I reacted to Halo 4 when MC got a voice >.< I always thought MC was me... But after watching the H4 trailers, he really wasn't the same character anymore... Same for Revan. Give him voice and it won't be me talking anymore. x.x

Fallen Guardian 08-08-2012 04:34 AM

I believe this is how it is, I can't remember the last time I tested such a thing, but you cannot give the PC lines voice and lipsnych, at least, how they are now. Basically, you'd need to have a dummy NPC of your PC spawn every time you start a conversation, and work that dummy into the conversation with the voice and stuff after every conversation choice the PC makes. Now I might be wrong, but if I'm not, it's just an unrealistic goal to get the entire game voiced. Though technically it could be done. It'd just take a LONG time to complete. Again, I might be wrong.

Zerimar Nyliram 08-08-2012 03:36 PM

Yeah, seems like an impossible task. Instead, I think a better option would be to replace all of Revan's current voice files ("Huh?" "What?" "Didn't work," etc.) with a voice actor who sounds more like the one from TOR.

TWINKEYRUNAWAY 08-08-2012 03:40 PM

That does sound like a hassle. ._. Still I think it can have great cut-scene purpose. I was playing mass effect the other day, which actually my source of inspiration. Well I guess the only way for something like this to be tested out, would be to get a few lines recorded, attempt to put them in game and see how the scene/convo goes. If it didn't go well then this would be a lost cause, but if it looked and sounded good maybe it still has a future. Of course I am no skilled modder(yet anyway) so I don't know exactly how things work in this engine or how much a modder would have to go through just to make this possible.

Hassat Hunter 08-08-2012 04:41 PM

I don't think that would be needed, doesn't a custom red line acting as if the PC is the speaker with VO work?
Does still require each .dlg to be modified though to have the PC's response again as voiced line afterwards...

EDIT:
Also, yes, agree unvoiced protaganist are usually better. Shudder when someone says that's "old fashioned" or worse... quite contrary for me. :/

Rtas Vadum 08-08-2012 11:58 PM

Although I wouldn't be opposed to the idea, it can't run on the same lines that TOR does. Meaning that, if one would do this, recording lines for the character, it wouldn't seem right if the female would be unvoiced.

TWINKEYRUNAWAY 08-09-2012 12:19 AM

Finding a male is much harder than finding a female one. I literally have quite a few fem voice actresses, it wouldn't be hard at all to get someone to do lines for females thankfully. Its just the more I show this to people the less likely such an idea can occur considering it takes a considerable amount of time. Though I think I can turn some heads with the current prospect I found. Perhaps in my next video, the modders I am trying to pitch will feel more...willing.

Fallen Guardian 08-09-2012 03:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter (Post 2816166)
I don't think that would be needed, doesn't a custom red line acting as if the PC is the speaker with VO work?
Does still require each .dlg to be modified though to have the PC's response again as voiced line afterwards...

EDIT:
Also, yes, agree unvoiced protaganist are usually better. Shudder when someone says that's "old fashioned" or worse... quite contrary for me. :/

I believe the game engine will automatically end the dialogue if you attempt to put PLAYER as the speaker.

I also agree with your edit. Though I liked Mass Effect's voicing of the protagonist, I think most games should leave the PC unvoiced.

Christos K 08-09-2012 04:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zerimar Nyliram (Post 2816157)
Yeah, seems like an impossible task. Instead, I think a better option would be to replace all of Revan's current voice files ("Huh?" "What?" "Didn't work," etc.) with a voice actor who sounds more like the one from TOR.

This I would like.

The actor they got to play Revan in ToR sounds tough in a Jedi way while, no offense to the voice actor, the guy in KotOR doesn't sound all that tough or soldier like if you know what I mean.

darthtyren 08-09-2012 10:06 AM

I've had this idea a while back. Although it would be the greatest thing ever, in order for it to work the pc would either need it's own tag or an npc dummy to stand in, as said by others.

Show spoiler

JCarter426 08-09-2012 11:13 AM

No, what you're referring to isn't the same thing at all.

Granted having an NPC stand in for the player is possible - The Witcher, for example - but not with the way the game is currently set up.

As far as voiced PCs go, I'd say I prefer voiced over unvoiced, but definitely not in the case of a KOTOR style dialogue tree. I don't really mind reading the dialogue options; the main benefit for having a voiced PC I see is that you can have fewer dialogue options, reduce it down to the important player choices and skill-based stuff like persuasion, and make the rest essentially a cutscene. Having the PC voice exactly what you just read every time - again, The Witcher for the most part - is just tedious, makes it even slower. Then again, I also hate it when the PC says something completely different from what I read - The Witcher 2, Mass Effect, and many others. So maybe I just can't be satisfied.

Bob Saget 08-18-2012 10:31 PM

While this may simply be something else, I saw a video on youtube where someone was having the PC voice out his lines, with lypsynch, apparently it was supposedly for a fan-made Kotor movie. I was quite interested in how this person would have accomplished it.

Regardless, this kind of mod has been thought of before but not only is it very time-consuming, what is required to make it possible would be tough.

However, I would like to point out that cloning and NPC of the PC is sort of a good idea, when instead you convert the PC into an NPC for a specific amount of time in which he/she speaks his/her lines.

If this project is to be done, I would like it if they made the PC into less of a drone for the Jedi as an LS character.

darthtyren 08-19-2012 02:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Church101 (Post 2816801)
While this may simply be something else, I saw a video on youtube where someone was having the PC voice out his lines, with lypsynch, apparently it was supposedly for a fan-made Kotor movie. I was quite interested in how this person would have accomplished it.

I believe I know what you're talking about. Those lines were recorded alongside the editing of that video. No PC voicing dialogue.

Sith Holocron 08-19-2012 05:34 PM

Who would be crazy enough to record that many lines for a game? It would also not only be a male Revan you'd have to record for but a female Revan as well.

TWINKEYRUNAWAY 08-19-2012 11:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sith Holocron (Post 2816836)
Who would be crazy enough to record that many lines for a game? It would also not only be a male Revan you'd have to record for but a female Revan as well.

Quite a few people actually. :thmbup1:

I think the fem revan was already mentioned. Though it has been concluded that this can't be achieved as of yet.

Blix 08-20-2012 12:53 AM

That will be some kind of dedication right there.

Sith Holocron 08-20-2012 03:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blix (Post 2816859)
That will be some kind of dedication right there.

They'd have to committed all right . . . probably to an institution.

TWINKEYRUNAWAY 08-20-2012 04:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sith Holocron (Post 2816863)
They'd have to committed all right . . . probably to an institution.

So...your saying they would go crazy? I think you misjudge how dedicated some people can be(I am being realistic myself, I just wanted to see what some of you would say about this idea). Though no one would ever predict how such a project can go. I am sure BOS had similar problems considering it had taken several years to fully complete with voice acting and modeling.

Also I have visited a few voice acting websites for help with certain projects. I have seen how dedicated some people can be, some of these guys have done voice work recordings of over 500 lines and over. So I think it is safe to say there are some crazy people out there with that attitude. though taking several months to record those lines doesn't sound all that attractive.

LDR 08-20-2012 04:51 PM

This sounds like a job for the ever-venerable Zhaboka.

Sith Holocron 08-21-2012 04:55 AM

1) I also wonder how large this mod would be considering the amount of lines that would have to go in.

2) It's not just the lines themselves but also the lip-syncing to contend with.

3) Wouldn't there also be some animating that would have to go along with all of this?

Blix 08-21-2012 12:02 PM

I would assume the following would happen: 1) one male VA for all male Revan lines, and of course 1 female VA for all female lines. 2) override so that if you are using male Revan, then the female lines are not necessary and are not implemented into the pack or are separate download.

Sith Holocron 08-21-2012 12:12 PM

There's still the lipsync (and possibly some animating) that would have to be done for thousands of lines.

Hassat Hunter 08-21-2012 12:42 PM

Not to mention modify ALL .dlg files which have player choices...

Fallen Guardian 08-21-2012 12:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sith Holocron (Post 2816918)
There's still the lipsync (and possibly some animating) that would have to be done for thousands of lines.

The lipsync would be painful to do.. So much copying and pasting.. ugh.

Basically you'd just need a modder who knew lipsyncing, knew dialogue files and maybe a little scripting. The modder would have to be VERY dedicated (or just like tedious work) plus the two voice actors would need to love doing thousands of lines.

Maybe as an alternative, for those who actually want voiced PCs, we could only have the major conversations be voiced?

Stuff like

spoiler:
when you confront Bastila atop the Rakatan temple


or

spoiler:
when you face Malak on the Leviathan


or

spoiler:
the last talk with Malak before you fight him on the Star Forge


It would lessen the workload considerably, but it might be jarring to have some dialogue be voiced and the majority of it be unvoiced.

Sith Holocron 08-21-2012 02:28 PM

And there's a matter of compatibility, as well. What about all the popular mods available - like Brotherhood of Shadow: Solon's Revenge - would those be ignored?

TWINKEYRUNAWAY 08-21-2012 03:02 PM

I like what Fallen guardian suggested. What if only the major scenes were voiced? I guess it would feel weird that the majority of lines not recorded. But it would be interesting to have that one part where you guys find out your character is revan and then all of your party meets up to discuss what happened after the leviathan and have your character speak.

Sith holocron brings up a very major point. All that trouble for voice work and lip syncing not compatible with mods like BOS would turn people away. Though, if fallen guardian's suggestion was taken into account, maybe it can be a possibility?

Sith Holocron 08-21-2012 03:24 PM

Why not just set up a tutorial on how to have the folks do it themselves? Once they know how to do it themselves, then it's up to the actors to record the lines, make the scripts, and find a place to host it.

JCarter426 08-21-2012 04:49 PM

It would be incompatible with any mod that alters the original game dialogues, obviously... but that's much less of an issue than TLK compatibility, which would not be an issue as there are already TLK entries for the player's responses. I believe TSLPatcher supports DLG files to some degree as well.

Slstoev 08-21-2012 05:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sith Holocron (Post 2816932)
And there's a matter of compatibility, as well. Would it be covering vanilla TSL or the TSLRCM?

Wait, why are you talking about? This is for K1, isn't it?

Sith Holocron 08-21-2012 06:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Slstoev (Post 2816948)
Wait, why are you talking about? This is for K1, isn't it?

I've now corrected my earlier post. (What can I say? I also had that game and mod on the brain.)

Bob Saget 08-21-2012 07:19 PM

I think you're overreacting Holocron, it's not really as bad as you think. Let me answer some of the issues you brought up.

A- Compatibly. Yes there will be problems with that, and unfortunately there's no avoiding it. It won't exactly **** up the game, but it will just be weird seeing the PC voiced in some conversations and not in others. However, I'm perfectly happy playing vanilla k1 with a voice mod like this.

B. - Dedication: You'd be surprised on how many people would be willing to do such a project. Look at game developers, they put 3-4 years of their life into developing a great game. Take Mass effect, for example, the amount of effort into making such a game the way it is is much more than doing a project like this, so really dedication will probably be an issue at times but it's not like you need to be insane to do the project.

If you're suggesting that everyone does have a short attention-span (I know some people do, but then again when you have experience it lengthens it), then we wouldn't see all of the mods out today, I.E. - TSLRCM

Fallen Guardian 08-22-2012 05:09 PM

All right, so I went and started scripting the things just to see if it'd even be possible to completely duplicate your PC (armor, weapons, head items, etc.). I got the spawning to work so the duplicate that spawns will be the right height/gender, but even the though the script that would equip the duplicate with the right stuff compiles, when I attempt to run it in-game the script doesn't work. Here's the script itself:

Code:

void main()
{

  object oPC = GetFirstPC();

  object oDuplicate = GetObjectByTag("dup_pcfm");

  object oRWep = GetItemInSlot(4, oPC);

  object oLWep = GetItemInSlot(5, oPC);

  object oHGear = GetItemInSlot(0, oPC);

  object oArmor = GetItemInSlot(1, oPC);

      string sTRWep = GetTag(oRWep);

      string sTLWep = GetTag(oLWep);

      string sTHGear = GetTag(oHGear);

      string sTArmor = GetTag(oArmor);
 
        object oRWepD = GetObjectByTag(sTRWep);

        object oLWepD = GetObjectByTag(sTRWep);

        object oHGearD = GetObjectByTag(sTRWep);

        object oArmorD = GetObjectByTag(sTRWep);


        CreateItemOnObject(sTRWep, oDuplicate, 1);

        CreateItemOnObject(sTLWep, oDuplicate, 1);

        CreateItemOnObject(sTHGear, oDuplicate, 1);

        CreateItemOnObject(sTArmor, oDuplicate, 1);


            AssignCommand(oDuplicate, ActionEquipItem(oRWepD, 4, TRUE));

            AssignCommand(oDuplicate, ActionEquipItem(oLWepD, 5, TRUE));

            AssignCommand(oDuplicate, ActionEquipItem(oHGearD, 0, TRUE));

            AssignCommand(oDuplicate, ActionEquipItem(oArmorD, 1, TRUE));


              DuplicateHeadAppearance(oDuplicate, oPC);


}

I put in a sendmessage to PC function in various spots a bit ago, to see if it was cutting off at some point, and apparently it cuts off after the CreateItemOnObject. Now I know both JCarter and Hassat Hunter, who are both very good at scripting, have looked at this thread so I was wondering if they, or anyone, could help me figure out what the problem is with the script.

JCarter426 08-22-2012 05:44 PM

Oh, it's possible. I've already written a script for that in K2; it also copies appearance. Should work in K1 as well. Thanks, by the way... I try my best. :)

Here's a fragment... or rather some fragments as I cut out the K2-only stuff:
Code:

int iI;
// Clear INVENTORY
  for( iI = 0; iI <= 19; iI++ ) {
        ActionUnequipItem(GetItemInSlot(iI, oClone), TRUE);
        }
//Copy INVENTORY
  for( iI = 0; iI <= 19; iI++ ) {
        if( GetIsObjectValid(GetItemInSlot(iI, oTarget)) ){
                AssignCommand(oClone, ActionEquipItem(CreateItemOnObject(GetTag(GetItemInSlot(iI, oTarget)), oClone, 1, 1), iI, TRUE));
                }
        }
// Copy APPEARANCE
ApplyEffectToObject(2, EffectDisguise(GetAppearanceType(oTarget)), oClone, 0.0);

One issue is there's no way to get a weapon's template; I had to resort to grabbing the tag and assuming it's the same as the template. It usually is, but that might not be the case for a few items. Shouldn't matter too much though.

Also, K1's inventory slots don't actually go up to 19, but that shouldn't matter. Feel free to change it to the correct number; I'm too lazy to look it up... probably 17 but meh. :p

I imagine one would also desire to make the player invisible. I'm not 100% sure how one would do that in K1 (I always use the supper cheap Lightsaber_Floating appearance for K2), but it's probably possible.

Incidentally, I've done all of the above with feats, powers, skills, class, level, and attributes in K2. That's not all possible in K1. I can fully clone any creature in K2... and I'll be releasing this quite soon.

Fallen Guardian 08-22-2012 06:25 PM

Thanks JC! I tried it out but the clone still won't change his inventory. :/ Did I set it up correctly? (The clone I have spawn has nothing equipped to begin with so I didn't use the clear inventory code.)

Code:

void main()
{

object oClone = GetObjectByTag("dup_pc");

object oPC = GetFirstPC();


ApplyEffectToObject(2, EffectDisguise(GetAppearanceType(oPC)), oClone, 0.0);

int iI;

  for( iI = 0; iI <= 18; iI++ ) {
        if( GetIsObjectValid(GetItemInSlot(iI, oPC)) ){
                AssignCommand(oClone, ActionEquipItem(CreateItemOnObject(GetTag(GetItemInSlot(iI, oPC)), oClone, 1, 1), iI, TRUE));
                }
        }
}


JCarter426 08-22-2012 06:36 PM

Hmm. It looks right to me... not sure why it won't work. Try putting:
Code:

SendMessageToPC(GetFirstPC(), IntToString(iI));
after the ActionEquipItem line, to see if that part is running properly.

And yeah, clearing the inventory was really just a safety precaution. You probably don't need it.

Hassat Hunter 08-22-2012 07:23 PM

Make sure the conversation doesn't hide items. I've spend lots of time getting items equipped once, and it never worked due to that.

@ JCarter; An "invisible" player doesn't allow lipsync though, the way a clone would.

JCarter426 08-22-2012 09:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter (Post 2817026)
Make sure the conversation doesn't hide items. I've spend lots of time getting items equipped once, and it never worked due to that.

That's a good point. I don't think most dialogues in K1 have it hidden by default, but it's something to look out for.
Quote:

@ JCarter; An "invisible" player doesn't allow lipsync though, the way a clone would.
If you're going to have an NPC doing the talking, you need to get rid of the real PC, no? Don't want two of them standing around.

Fallen Guardian 08-23-2012 12:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JCarter426 (Post 2817030)
That's a good point. I don't think most dialogues in K1 have it hidden by default, but it's something to look out for.

No, it's definitely not that. Anyway, when I execute the script I get the numbers 1,4,7,8 and 10 printed back in the log file.

TWINKEYRUNAWAY 08-23-2012 12:20 AM

This is way off topic but...fallen guardian is an epic name kinda think of it.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.