LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Jedi Academy (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=474)
-   -   Setting up my own dedicated server (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=210628)

Mr.Dapper 09-08-2012 11:41 PM

Setting up my own dedicated server
 
Hey guys,

I came here hoping to find some answer to this complication. I have some people to make a machinima with but I'm trying to host my own server.

I'll try to be as brief and specific as possible.

I have Windows 7 (all these admin pop ups are highly irritating) and I have the actual game (not through steam or anything like that)

I have the patch. I have JA plus. That leads me to my first questions. If I use JA plus while I'm hosting a game, does that mean all my clients have to enter with JA plus too?

Now, I have the server.cfg file in the gamedata of the JA plus mod (I had it before in the original gamedata but I read somewhere that if you're using a mod it should be in the mod's gamedata, correct?)
The jampded.exe is in the base of the JA Plus mod.

Now, when I click on the jampded.exe, nothing happens.
It shows up with: 0 files in pk3 files. Couldn't load mpdefault.cfg

So what do I need to do now? I tried again to create a game and put dedicated server set on Internet. Nothing happens. Always stops at something about sending a heartbeat to raven blah blah blah. Like it just doesn't go through.

Also, does "seta sv_cheats 1" in the server.cfg file mean it allows you to do cheats like noclip? It would be preferable for me to have noclip on to record scenes. And what if you want to spawn skins and monsters?

Thanks.

Kurgan 09-10-2012 07:45 AM

For support for JA Plus mod, go to the JA Plus mod forum on their website (or contact the author directly through his email in the readme).

You should be able to host with only the game, official patch from LucasArts/Raven Software and the unofficial dedicated server files (see LucasFiles).

If you just want to see what a server looks like, try mine (108.178.55.189:29070). You can also go to the Dedicated Server forum and read the old posts. Failing that, start your own thread over there and it should be working. I know that JKA works in Win7. Never tried hosting on my local Win7 machine, but I don't see why it wouldn't work...

You may need to reset the server for cheats to work after being enabled the first time, but if they are setup, then any cheat you can use offline (in multiplayer mode of course) should work. Just be warned that any player who has connected should be able to use them. Jedi Plus Mod may have its own "Rules." Again, this is a separate thing that not everyone is familiar with and the author may have tinkered with the defaults. So ask in the appropriate place from people who know. JPM used to be really popular, but I never really spent much time with it based on personal preference.

MTFBWY


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.