LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Holowan Laboratories (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=324)
-   -   Streamsounds Sounds (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=211665)

Fallen Guardian 12-27-2012 06:43 PM

Streamsounds Sounds
 
So I was attempting to insert a sound effect into the streamsounds folder as an entirely new sound effect. However, when I save it as a .wav and put it in the folder KotOR won't play it in-game. What file format/compression options should I use when I save the file to make it playable in-game?

Phildevil 12-27-2012 06:59 PM

Just wav may not be fine. I think you have to get-it to be a mono, instead of a stereo. Should be easy enough with audacity.

Fallen Guardian 12-27-2012 07:04 PM

I tired that, no luck.

kyrie 12-27-2012 07:14 PM

Did you save it as a RAW .wav file?

Fallen Guardian 12-27-2012 07:30 PM

No, I didn't. I'll give that a go.

EDIT: I exported it as a RAW file from Audacity but it didn't come out as a .wav file. How exactly do I export as a raw .wav?

JCarter426 12-27-2012 09:41 PM

Mono waveform should be fine. I've put regular WAV files into Override and played them through ammunitiontypes.2da. I've never tried adding a sound effect (I'm assuming you're trying it with PlaySound) because I doubt it can be done easily (well, maybe not doubt so much as I didn't want to bother trying it at the time). So basically I can't help... :xp: except to say I wouldn't waste time messing with the format when so many other things could go wrong; try replacing a sound effect and see if it plays fine, then you'll know if it's the format.

Fallen Guardian 12-30-2012 09:45 PM

Okay, I replaced one of the vanilla sound effects and everything works fine. However, when I try using it as a unique sound it doesn't play for some reason. (When I replaced it I took the easy way of testing, replacing the player select sound. The sound effect played when I switched to the player, but when I used playsound on my sound effect with the custom name it didn't... perhaps that has something to do with it?)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.