LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Holowan Laboratories (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=324)
-   -   [TSL WIP] Adding requirement description to feats. Need a little hlep. (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=211836)

Varna 01-29-2013 10:37 PM

Adding requirement description to feats. Need a little hlep.
 
This is mostly for a personal mod. I'm trying to ramp up the difficulty a bit by beefing up enemies using the autobalance.2da and nerfing the NPCs and adding lots of requirements to feat and lowering the effectiveness of force powers.

Adding requirements to feats is easy enough. The problem I'm having is that I have no idea how to get a description detailing the new requirement to show up. I checked out Andrei's Rebalanced Classes And Gameplay (which is so close to what I want but just not there yet) and it managed to add str/dex/int/etc requirement under the description. I took a look at the files in that particular mod but I can't figure out how it's done. Anyone have any suggestions?

JCarter426 01-29-2013 10:45 PM

That's all in dialog.tlk. You would have to edit the entry for each feat with TalkEd. You should be warned that editing this file can lead to compatibility issues.

Varna 01-29-2013 10:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JCarter426 (Post 2827357)
That's all in dialog.tlk. You would have to edit the entry for each feat with TalkEd. You should be warned that editing this file can lead to compatibility issues.

Thanks for the fast reply.

Is there some kind of tip to avoiding issues? Making sure the description has x number of maximum characters or such?

JCarter426 01-29-2013 11:00 PM

No, nothing like that. I believe the TSL Patcher can edit it, but I'm not sure of the limitations... you would have to read its exhaustive readme.

Varna 01-30-2013 01:33 AM

I appreciate the assistance. Looks like this will take some time.

In the interests of not starting another thread... I'm using the autobalance to beef up the enemies some more. I understand just about everything field except "crmod." Anyone know what this one does to enemies?

Hassat Hunter 01-30-2013 06:42 AM

TSLPatcher can only add new lines to the dialog.tlk. So if you dont want a conflict with any other mods, you have to make a new line (instead of modifying the old), using "append.tlk" and then have TSLPatcher apply the new dialog line to the .2da where it is required.
Would probably also be best to have TSLPatcher modify the force powers (it should have a compare .2da function that automatically sets all changed).

As for crmod, I remember searching for it, and it's pretty much a NWN leftover AFAIK.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.