LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Holowan Laboratories (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=324)
-   -   Editing the .git file thats already a .mod? (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=212141)

supreme kotor 04-16-2013 04:57 PM

Editing the .git file thats already a .mod?
 
I got another question. WoooHoo:thmbup1:

So I think may of you guys are familiar with Quanon. And as some of you know he had Quanons big sell out (LINK).

Well in his sell out theres the Yavin files. I would like to use one of these but it's already in a .mod file so I can't add any placeables or NPC's is there anyway to edit the .git?

Thanks- Supreme Kotor

Fallen Guardian 04-16-2013 06:17 PM

You can use this nifty tool by stoffe to open the .MOD and extract whatever resources you need. Once you're done editing those things, you can use the same tool to pack it all up again and save it.

Hassat Hunter 04-16-2013 07:29 PM

Also a little hint for later... never EVER place a .git file in the override folder.
(unless you're testing something out and really know what you're doing)

supreme kotor 04-16-2013 08:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fallen Guardian (Post 2831037)
You can use this nifty tool by stoffe to open the .MOD and extract whatever resources you need. Once you're done editing those things, you can use the same tool to pack it all up again and save it.

Thanks

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter (Post 2831046)
Also a little hint for later... never EVER place a .git file in the override folder.
(unless you're testing something out and really know what you're doing)

I will keep that in mind.

Salk 08-15-2013 03:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter (Post 2831046)
Also a little hint for later... never EVER place a .git file in the override folder.
(unless you're testing something out and really know what you're doing)

Hello Hassat Hunter!

In my search for issues in the KotOR game, I noticed an unnecessary duplication of two unique items in Manaan underwater: a sonic emitter and a scientist's memo. Both are items of which there should be one copy only.

Using KotOR tool I found out that the duplication happens because there are two same containers in two different rooms.

I could easily delete the node pertaining one of the two containers in the m28aa.git file of the game but I read your warning and I am asking you if there is a better method than dropping the modified m28aa.git in the override (which is the only method I used).

I guess what I can do is to extract the content of manm28aa.rim and manm28aa_s.rim in one folder, delete that node from m28aa.git and then repackage the folder files into manm28aa.mod using KotOR Tool's ERF Builder?

Would that procedure be correct? And am I correct to think that the only effect of eliminating that node would be removing that container from the game?

Thanks!

JCarter426 08-15-2013 08:16 AM

Yes, that'll do it. And that's the only way to do it. When a .GIT is present in Override, every time the game loads that module, it loads it as it is in the .GIT. So if you take an item from a container, it'll be there again when you return. Even worse things can happen, but that really should be enough to deter you.

That said, I uh... I do it all the time. I'm very lazy and I don't mind having my game broken because I have backup installations.

Salk 08-15-2013 09:23 AM

JCarter426,

thanks for your nice reply. I have actually tried dumping the modified .git file in the Override and I didn't expect this kind of behavior: the container is gone but it was not really worth it.

Things I noticed:

1) The camera views from the computer are all black with a few areas of light

2) When I leave the area and return to it, everything starts over (!)

This is obviously not acceptable. Isn't there a way to remove a container from the game without wreaking havoc?

On a side note, I tried to rebuild the module with my changed .git file too. The good thing about it is that there are not those awful side effects; the bad one is that the container is still there.

JCarter426 08-15-2013 09:48 AM

The container is still there because you've already visited the module; if you load from an earlier save, it should be gone now.

Salk 08-15-2013 11:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JCarter426 (Post 2836735)
The container is still there because you've already visited the module; if you load from an earlier save, it should be gone now.

Oh okay. I thought it was enough to leave the area and return.

Salk 08-15-2013 11:40 AM

Right, I verified and it's just like you said.

But I still have the problem of the camera feed images from the terminal being all dark for some mysterious reason.

Here you can take a look at what it looks like: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B9_1...it?usp=sharing

All images are as dark as that one.

Any idea what is causing it and if there is anything I can do?

UPDATE: Interesting. Using another editor to make the changes to the .git file does not result in the same corrupted images. Before I edited the .git file with Bioware's GFF Editor. Then I tried tk102's K-GFF Editor and it did it. Is Bioware's own editor less reliable then?

Hassat Hunter 08-15-2013 01:03 PM

Yes... don't use it!

Also I have no idea why you need to rebuild an entire module, just use the ERFEditor tool to enter the new .git straight into the file, save, done.

Salk 08-15-2013 04:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hassat Hunter (Post 2836741)
Yes... don't use it!

Also I have no idea why you need to rebuild an entire module, just use the ERFEditor tool to enter the new .git straight into the file, save, done.

But how do you distribute something like that?

Fair Strides 2 08-15-2013 05:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Salk (Post 2836750)
But how do you distribute something like that?

You pack it with the other files, or use TSLPatcher to add the files to the ,rim,.mod, or .erf.

Salk 08-16-2013 01:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fair Strides 2 (Post 2836753)
You pack it with the other files

You mean you distribute a modified .rim file to overwrite the original?

Fair Strides 2 08-16-2013 02:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Salk (Post 2836768)
You mean you distribute a modified .rim file to overwrite the original?

Or use the TSLPatcher to add the file directly into the .mod, or .rim. To do so, IIRC, you need to install the file to the modules folder, but add the file plus extension to the path.

Hassat Hunter 08-16-2013 05:52 AM

Yeah, you would directly integrate the .git into the .mod (or .rim) with TSLPatcher.
Take a look at my mod here;
http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...-armband-drop/

You can open the changes.ini with the TSLPatcher Edit.exe to see what exactly is done. It's not that hard :)

Salk 08-16-2013 08:28 AM

Okay, thanks for your help! :)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.