LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Jedi Outcast (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   Zone vs Internet Server Browser (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=34900)

Endo'Cun 03-20-2002 09:37 AM

Zone vs Internet Server Browser
 
*What Will Everybody Be Using For Matches, And Just For Fun.*

Post Your Favorite: :)

Internet Server Browser Built In :)

Or

The Zone :(

Zek 03-20-2002 09:46 AM

The Zone sucks ass. I might use Gamespy Arcade if it's compatible, I didn't really like Q3's server list.

Pipe Smoke 03-20-2002 09:59 AM

Yea I never played Q3A more than once or twice, didn't take me long to find that it sucked. But I've noticed that the built in server browser in RTCW kinda blows. So if JK2's is like that, maybe I will have to bust out the GameSpy but more likely I'll just tolerate it. As for the Zone, I mean... there is the nostalgia factor and such, but I'll probably skip it. We'll see. I am hoping though, that Raven will give JK2 a spiffy built in browser. What kind did EF have?

MrCrusher 03-20-2002 10:19 AM

Gamespy Arcade or Gamespy3D.... havent used either for a few years so I'll have to compare features. Arcade has pre game chat window and a nice buddy list feature. Not sure which one offers best filters etc...

Jolts 03-20-2002 10:52 AM

I'll use the all seeing eye

thrEEpaGe 03-20-2002 11:12 AM

well i will just have to see how good the netcode is =)

P129 03-20-2002 11:40 AM

The built in server browser for me.

It will possibly be like the other Q3-engine games, like not showing every server but it sure beats GameSpy Arcade and sure as hell the Zone on my comp. The transition takes so long that I could read an entire book as it's loading...

SaberPro 03-20-2002 11:47 AM

Built-in Browser :)

Zone lags too much....sometimes even with cable connection :mad:

Bio Warrior 03-20-2002 12:04 PM

ill mostly use the ingame browser

RedHerring 03-20-2002 03:33 PM

Built in browser all the way

Zone isn't stable enough, Gamespy is too big to runi n the background

If all else fails I'll use ASE

Krak3n 03-20-2002 03:51 PM

I'll be useing gamespy.....i'd ecpect GSA to support JO. EF's server brpwser is ok, but nothin special. It's ok just to pick a server with a low ping and play, but GSA is way better, in my opinion, shame about the adds :(.

Kurgan 03-20-2002 04:04 PM

I'll have to see what's available. No way I'll use the Zone though. If the JK2 server browser is identical to the Q3 one, I may consider using Qtracker or maybe GSA as a last resort.

I thought the Unreal games had the best built-in server browsers.. hopefully the JK2 team tweaked the default Q3 one just a bit.. I liked being able to sort by folders, rather than just have one giant filtered list like in Q3. ; p

Still, anything's better than installing that crappy Zone software and putting up with all the bother over there.

TUS_Tomcat 03-20-2002 04:14 PM

Zone, in game browser, and all seeing eye

NO GAMESPY argh!

HBK 03-20-2002 04:14 PM

I usually use the in game browser. I've actually never used GSA or the ASE or the Zone. Not counting the Zone, Does the ASE, GSA and ingame browser all 'see' different games? Which one would reveal more games? Any overlap? Can you explain the pros and cons to me? Thank you.

digl 03-20-2002 05:50 PM

I'll just use the bookmarks, because there will be only a few servers I'll be able to play in with a good ping.

Force Merge!

ps2maddenman 03-20-2002 06:53 PM

I hate the calibur of people who play on the zone, I will go with the ingame browser, then maybe the eye.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.