LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Episode I: The Phantom Menace (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Huge Yellow Blocks! Help me *insert name here* you're my only hope!! (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=5501)

Obi Gon 07-27-2000 03:10 PM

Huge Yellow Blocks! Help me *insert name here* you're my only hope!!
 
Okay, many people had the same problem with the game that I had, and last year no one could help us out. So I said, what the hell...maybe someone here NOW can help.

Here's the problem. I have an ATI Driver graphics card (I think) and in the game, several things are surrounded in yellow blocks. Everthing from the Pod Racers, to the spaces inbetween a droids hand. All the backround in some levels is like that too. Everythings incased.

I tried downloading the lastest drivers, but that only turned to boxes black..instead of yellow.

I also tried addative blending, and that didn't work either.

I have a Pentium 2 400 computer, so my PC is fairly new, and when I took it to my friends house, he only has a Pentium 300, and it was fast as hell on his, and all the graphics were fine...me...I have to turn all the details off so I can get a decent running speed...and it's still slow.

I know this is alot...but can anyone help me out? Any ideas..suggestions...whatever. Thanks.


Saesee Tom 07-27-2000 04:46 PM

It might not help, but try fiddling around with the screen size or in-game effects.
Water warp, ect.

Get back to me soon.


------------------
http://www.sevaan.com/starwars/chara...mages/tiin.jpg

Obi Gon 07-27-2000 05:32 PM

No, they're always off anyway...

Zanzibar 07-27-2000 08:11 PM

Oy, sounds bad. I think that your particular version of ATI card had a transparency issue that was basically unsolvable for our compatibility programmer. Suggestion? I hate to say it, but you may have to bite the bullet and go buy a new video card. My guess is that you'll wind up happier with a new card anyways - your machine should be plenty fast to run today's games; if games are running slow, it's almost definitely your video card is too old.

I tried looking around online for some cheap Voodoo1 or Voodoo2 add-in cards that I'd give you pointers to, but I can't find any http://www.jediknight.net/mboard/frown.gif If you can find a used Diamond Monster 1 or Monster 2 card somewhere, it's worth the money if it's less that 25-30 bucks or so. Jeez, I have 2 or 3 of them lying around here at the office.

My suggestion is to get an add-in card because that's the cheapest; you can find a really good Voodoo3 card for under a hundred bucks nowadays, but that would require replacing your card. Voodoo1 and 2 cards are simply added into your system, using your existing video card for windows, and the add-in card for games etc.

Obi Gon 07-28-2000 01:19 AM

Sounds good Zanzibar...I'll look into that.

Most of my games do run pretty slow, so I think I will get a whole new card all together...I dunno, i'll see what happens.

Thanks for your help.

Matt Kenobi 07-28-2000 02:55 AM


not that it matters but i have a ATI card and the same O.S. and mine runs real fast!

------------------
http://fan.starwars.com/Fishsticks/files/ObiWan2.jpg

Visit My Cool Site Matt Kenobi's Everything Star Wars

Zanzibar 07-28-2000 08:58 PM

There's actually quite a few ATI cards, and some of them were released about the same time the 3dfx cards were, so they have some but not all of the comparable features. I think the problem is that this particular ATI card uses a different transparency flag than what TPM expects, so polygons that should have transparency bits set show up as solid instead of transparent.

Some of the later ATI cards have no troubles with TPM, but some early models have fits with it.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.