LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Jedi Knight / MotS (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   256 SDRAM or 128 RDRAM? (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=5949)

Qui-Gon Jinn 03-03-2000 01:53 AM

256 SDRAM or 128 RDRAM?
 
256 SDRAM or 128 RDRAM? I have heard that they are equivalent in speed, but the RDRAM outperforms the SDRAM in the working process. What is better?

------------------
http://www.JediKnight.8k.com

"Be Mindful of the Living Force." - Qui-Gon Jinn



Argath 03-04-2000 10:39 PM

It depends on the platform you're going to be using it on. On an i820 Pentium III system, RDRAM will be the fastest thing you can buy, but the price is simply way too steep to justify buying it. The performance benefit offered by RDRAM pales in comparison to its extremely high price. If I were you, I'd go for a 440BX setup with 256 MB of PC100.

I did a quick search and found this article, which reinforces what I said with some benchmarks. It's your choice, but I think RDRAM is a waste of money.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.