LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   JO Mapping (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=359)
-   -   Map Lighting (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=71938)

JediGhost[SITH] 07-28-2002 02:29 AM

Map Lighting
 
This has probably been asked before (and it cant be found by using the Search function)

How do I make my map be a solid brightness level throughout the level?

My map is either fully-bright or fully-dark and it's getting on my nerves because I can't figure it out...

RichDiesal 07-28-2002 11:59 AM

You can use ambient lighting during the build process before you've put in any lights to get even lighting across the entire map.

Select worldspawn, enter the key ambient and a low value, such as 50 or 100.

Also note that you can have no light entities in your map whatsoever for ambient light to work. Also note that ambient lighting, for the most part, looks awful and should not be used on the actual release of a map.

JediGhost[SITH] 07-28-2002 05:09 PM

Hey, wow, thanks for the simple answer!

Yeah, I'm just using my map for some easy stuff with my clan, no super-detailed lighting is necessary

Thanks again.

JediGhost[SITH] 07-28-2002 05:18 PM

Okay, it's not working, here's what I'm doing:

Hitting N
Selecting worldspawn on the list
Typing "ambient" as the key
Typing "100" as the value
Hitting enter

I've been trying to write it as each different type of BSP and so far my map is still pitch black..

What should I select on the BSP menu?

Emon 07-28-2002 05:19 PM

Ambient lighting should should only be used with a very low value to add visibility. It's good in DM maps where you want a dark envirnment but don't want it to be completely dark so you can't see the enemy.

UniKorn 07-29-2002 07:48 AM

You will have to give your ambient light a color value as well
key : _color
value : 1 1 1

RichDiesal 07-30-2002 11:31 PM

Ah damn, yes, forgot that. _color is necessary for it to work.

JediGhost[SITH] 08-01-2002 08:52 PM

Another question that has been asked millions of times (i'm lookin for the answer now):

Why do my floors sound like water when I walk on them?

Emon 08-01-2002 09:17 PM

It's because you're using shaders that for SP, will make it sound like metal. A bug in SOF2MAP causes the metal steps in MP to sound like water. Just remove the surface param for metal steps in the shader.

JediGhost[SITH] 08-01-2002 11:32 PM

Next Question (and hopefully my last, im getting the hang of this):

How can I make a texture fit itself into the block I've made?

That may be hard to understand so let me explain:

I've loaded in the NS_Streets textures so I can use the liquor bottles to create a bar.

Whenever I make the liquors' texture, the bottles are always 5 times too big.

What I need is to create a block (a texture the size to fit my bar) and have the bottles fit themselves into it, making them the proper size.

I hope you can understand the question and help me out :(

RichDiesal 08-02-2002 02:36 AM

Use the Surface Inspector and mess around with the buttons at the bottom... if the bottle is made out of a brush, you'll need to mess with it face by face (which is a LOT of work, by the way). If it's curves, use the Set button in the Patch subset to repeat the texture x and y number of times across the face of the patch (1 and 1, in your case).


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.