LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Jedi Outcast (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   How to get Mods to Work (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=79338)

Outcast161 09-22-2002 01:27 PM

How to get Mods to Work
 
I've recently been downloading many different mods but I dont know how to get them into my game. Any help would be much appreciated.

JEDI OUTCAST 09-22-2002 01:31 PM

put them in your gamedata folder. make a folder up.( say jo ) put the mod in there when you go in your game go in settings-mods and file name jo will be there. you have to make a new file all the time you download a mod. some mods dont need a new file the already have a file of there own.

dood 09-22-2002 01:45 PM

Every thing what Jedi Outcast said is true but first step is to look in the readmy.txt file- it is always help...:D I always do that and my mod's always work greate. :P

JEDI OUTCAST 09-22-2002 01:50 PM

yeah look in read me first.

JEDI OUTCAST 09-22-2002 05:15 PM

it is best to put them in gamedata folder. so when you want to play with a new mod you dont have to delete it and put in a new one.

thehomicidalegg 09-23-2002 12:45 AM

NEVER put a mod in your base directory,

and also makesure each mod directory has a description.txt with the mod's name in it so taht it will appear in the setup menu

JEDI OUTCAST 09-26-2002 01:31 PM

yeah never put mods in your base folder.:D

Jedi Master Steven 05-30-2010 07:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JEDI OUTCAST (Post 841897)
yeah never put mods in your base folder.:D

Ok I put it in the GameData folder but which one? Second one or first one?
Because I'm confused...I did what you said and it didn't work for me. I have a Windows XP PC Computer and I did WHAT you said!
Please help!!!

acdcfanbill 05-31-2010 02:27 AM

There should only be one GameData folder.

C:\Program Files\Lucasarts\Star Wars...\GameData

Is the default location I believe.

Inside of the gamedata folder there is one called base, that's the one thats not supposed to have mods in it. So if you are installing the dark forces mod, you would make a new folder called darkforces inside GameData, and then put the stuff in there.

irish_texan 04-24-2011 10:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thehomicidalegg (Post 837313)
NEVER put a mod in your base directory

Quote:

Originally Posted by JEDI OUTCAST (Post 841897)
yeah never put mods in your base folder.


mods go in GameData not base. yes this is true. unless its a stand-alone pk3 file (like a single skin or model) in which case it DOES belong in base, and you can just move it out of the base folder when you dont feel like using it...

SITH LORD 872 04-24-2011 10:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Outcast161 (Post 836396)
I've recently been downloading many different mods but I dont know how to get them into my game. Any help would be much appreciated.

What mods are you using?

Tinny 04-25-2011 12:02 AM

The final structure should look like:

JA install folder/GameData/Mod folder/a .pk3 file

In the mods list look for the mod with the name of the mod folder.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.