LucasForums

LucasForums (http://www.lucasforums.com/index.php)
-   Beta Testing (http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=362)
-   -   ForceMod II - Final beta feedback (http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=99712)

Azymn 05-16-2003 03:23 PM

ForceMod II - Final beta feedback
 
Well, ladies and gentlemen, you know what i need. :)

Let the games begin.

rut-wa jodar 05-16-2003 04:04 PM

My initial Reaction is.......



:drop2: OMG ! :drop2:




I`m testing it right now

Azymn 05-16-2003 04:24 PM

First bug
 
cHoSeN-oNe has just informed me of a bug when running a dedicated server.....

EDIT: This bug was with the last version. Host dedicated servers to your heart's content. :)

Classic Luke 05-16-2003 05:21 PM

My email is messed :(
 
Seems my email is messed as i dont see any forcemod final beta in it :( Anyways, if its not too much trouble can you email it to me at the following address please:) ?
bleroy@tampabay.rr.com

rut-wa jodar 05-16-2003 08:00 PM

Azymn, I noticed in your cvarlist this

f_saberbreak
-"0" No changes
-"1" Only drains force when hit
-"2"
-"3"

does it mean that breakable sabers are not fully implemented ?

Azymn 05-16-2003 08:15 PM

Oh, the cvar_list.txt isn't updated yet.

Saberbreaks are fully implemented.

You can set the cvar through the menu under forcemod->lightsabers.

rut-wa jodar 05-16-2003 08:20 PM

Can u explain under what conditions will the saberbreaks occur .I have noticed bots seem to lose lightsabers more often too. but i think it`s something to do with 1.04 patch.

Mace_Windu21 05-16-2003 10:32 PM

Saber Blades
 
The saber blades for episodes 4, 5, and 6 seem to have the core above where the saber glow stops, so please fix that. But the rest is awsome! :fett:

Classic Luke 05-16-2003 11:08 PM

f_saberdroptime problem, i think
 
I played forcemod for about 20 minutes with no problems, then i changed the f_saberdroptime to 0. Five minutes later my game crashes. Does this happen to anyone else? When i switched my f_saberdroptime to a non-zero value (in this case 1.5) i encountered no problems.

Azymn 05-16-2003 11:38 PM

rut-wa: saberbreaks occur when the very first thing you hit on the opponent is the arm or hand holding the blade you want to destroy. So you must hit the right arm to destroy the dualblade, and the left arm to break the 2nd saber. This is actually quite difficult, because the lightsaber must be on, and it's very hard to hit the saber arm without hitting something else first (esp. the saberblade) with the current collision code.
So it's not a common event - but you'll receive a message if someone breaks your blade, and there will be a small explosion and the person will fall to the ground.
When you say they lose sabers, is it the special blades? or are they stuck with the throwing hand out?

Mace_Windu21: I'll tidy those blades up a bit.

Classic Luke: I found what was causing the problem with f_saberdroptime and it will be fixed.

rut-wa jodar 05-17-2003 06:36 AM

It`s when they are stuck with their arm in the throw position. I don`t think it`s a problem with your mod though.
I found a random bug too, on bespin I was having a saber battle against a bot when all of a sudden i found myself stuck to a wall and noticed a green and blue line between my character and the wall. WIERD !!!!. It has only occured once I am trying to recreate it so i can send you a pic.

The Mod is stunning BTW ! :D

bliv 05-17-2003 06:48 AM

lol, how many e-mails do you need to send?

rut-wa jodar 05-17-2003 07:09 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Azymn
rut-wa: saberbreaks occur when the very first thing you hit on the opponent is the arm or hand holding the blade you want to destroy. So you must hit the right arm to destroy the dualblade, and the left arm to break the 2nd saber. This is actually quite difficult, because the lightsaber must be on, and it's very hard to hit the saber arm without hitting something else first (esp. the saberblade) with the current collision code.
So it's not a common event - but you'll receive a message if someone breaks your blade, and there will be a small explosion and the person will fall to the ground.
When you say they lose sabers, is it the special blades? or are they stuck with the throwing hand out?

Mace_Windu21: I'll tidy those blades up a bit.

Classic Luke: I found what was causing the problem with f_saberdroptime and it will be fixed.

My apologies Azymn
I was using wrong version of your mod I never checked my email after I got the 1st version of beta 3 you posted.

I have noticed bots turn sabers off and on alot if bot_honourableduelacceptance cvar is set to 1. Can the seeker droids be disabled for pure saber bots ?

Flamehart 05-17-2003 02:15 PM

Yeah, those seeker droids get annoying. Desann lost his lightsaber again a few times when I played, and I set the lightsaber block for Lightning AND Drain, but neither worked. Is it because I'm using Twin Lightsabers? Just wondering.

rut-wa jodar 05-17-2003 02:20 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by AOTJ_Craig
Yeah, those seeker droids get annoying. Desann lost his lightsaber again a few times when I played, and I set the lightsaber block for Lightning AND Drain, but neither worked. Is it because I'm using Twin Lightsabers? Just wondering.
To block drain and lightning you have to keep the crosshair on your opponent.

Flamehart 05-17-2003 02:25 PM

Did that, it didn't block. Also, with Jedi v. Merc mod off, the Bryar Pistol is unselectable, it wont let me switch to anything but the lightsaber, even if im "Lightsaber and Guns." Mind telling me whats wrong here too?

Mace_Windu21 05-17-2003 02:32 PM

ForceMod II Server
 
I think someone should set up a ForceMod II beta 3 server, to beta test on against real players. So, please someone do that and put the time and date of when it is so we know when. Thanks! :D

Flamehart 05-17-2003 03:28 PM

Ok, found somethin weird. After some extended amount of time of playing on MercMod, JO seems to close out saying it performed an illegal operation. Also, when flying on jetpack and using the grapple it says illegal operation. The seeker drones are getting VERY annoying and making it hard to have a decent fight vs. Bots. In normal game mod (no Jedi Vs. Merc) the Bryar can still be selected, just not directly, its like I have to pick up another gun before it will let me switch to it.

rut-wa jodar 05-17-2003 05:06 PM

OMG!! I just fought against darth maul Bot I managed to split his sith saber in two, he then begins to kick my butt me with 2 sabers. :drop2:

KiLLeR_SqUiRReL 05-17-2003 05:29 PM

When i perform emotes or rolls, the final arm animations stick for a while, then return to normal. the jetpack fires kinda stops every once in a while, then turns back on. When you jump slighty forward shooting 2 pistols, certain models (maul) will have their torso turned completely around, like a creepy chucky doll. also, when i execute .cfg files, it will occasionally crash my game. and, though this has only happened once, i started bespin streets and spawned in an out-of-map point, then i had to devmap/restart it to fix it. but like i said, it's only happened once. and, lastly, i cant seem to select dual e11's, and i have typed in the console command. that's all i've found for now. AWESOME MOD, btw.

Azymn 05-17-2003 05:43 PM

bliv: lol - you're right. I can't believe i posted the wrong version initially. Make sure everyone who has problems has downloaded the version with the main menu that reads:

ForceMod II
The Mercs Strike Back

,or else you have the old beta 2.

I will disable seeker drones for the pure saber users, they actually started buggin me too. :)

AOTJ_Craig - I'll fix the bryar when jedivmerc is off. You probably just don't spawn with any ammo. You can still block with Twin sabers - make sure f_saberblockall is set to "1", in addition to the lit/drain blocking.

For crashes, try and determine what events are happening right before the crash - i'll check out the jetpack/grapple combo. Is anyone else having the same crashes?
Make sure f_saberdroptime is at least "1" (this will be fixed in the next version). If anyone else can find specific cvars that cause the problem, that would be great.

Azymn 05-17-2003 05:52 PM

KiLLeR_SqUiRReL - I'm trying to find ways of fixing those anims...i'll check out the other stuff you mentioned.
Dual e11's (i assume that's the blasters) can only be had if you're a heavy soldier, and f_dualgunshow is "1".

Zathu Koon 05-17-2003 06:42 PM

Woo, great job on what I saw. :)

Heres the bugs:
- Force Template pages that you have to switch to don't show up until you save one.
- There are some darks in the pure jedi one, light syrup shows up dark, as does white knight. Might do this in other ones, didn't check.
- Level 4 Jump doesn't drain any force
- Can't roll multiple times (Not sure if this was intended, but I like to be able to hold down roll and go untill I let go
- Not really a bug, but is it possible that you could list the emotes in /aminfo?

Azymn 05-17-2003 07:48 PM

Quote:

- Force Template pages that you have to switch to don't show up until you save one.
- There are some darks in the pure jedi one, light syrup shows up dark, as does white knight. Might do this in other ones, didn't check.
The menus are certainly one of the trickiest things i've dealt with. I'll do my best to get them workin right for the final release.

Quote:

- Level 4 Jump doesn't drain any force
You have to adjust the jumpmod settings in the forcemod->force powers menu on the main screen.

Quote:

- Can't roll multiple times (Not sure if this was intended, but I like to be able to hold down roll and go untill I let go
Looking into it...

Quote:

- Not really a bug, but is it possible that you could list the emotes in /aminfo?
You got it.

Azymn 05-17-2003 10:46 PM

Squirrel - Can you email me the cfg files that were causing it to crash when you ran them?

Also - have any of you noticed that it crashes when a merc dies?
Or when you use the grapple and jetpack at the same time?

I'm trying to pinpoint the problem, so any thoughts would help.
Thanks.

Classic Luke 05-18-2003 12:24 AM

Questions on cloaking
 
Is cloaking identical to mind trick? What i mean is that after an aggressive action a bot will be able to see, even though i am still cloaked. Also, it seems that cloaking, just like mind trick, only works on enemies within my vision because sometimes i will activate cloaking and a bot will turn a corner and see me, hehe, then im dead!
I don't know if making the cloaking affect all players regardless of whether they are in my vision would unbalance the merc classes making the scout superior. In any case, i would wish that cloaking would have an effect on all players; also, i would wish that aggressive actions would not negate the cloaking effect on enemies. To balance these out, perhaps you can decrease the amount of time one may be cloaked, or you can increase the amount of time it takes for the merc bar to regenerate.
Anyways, thank-you for the great mod Azymn, GREAT JOB!!!!

Azymn 05-18-2003 01:56 AM

Cloaking vs Mindtrick:

- You can attack without penalty while cloaked.
- Cloaking does affects all enemies, regardless of level.
- Cloaked units can be seen by bots at close range (~20 feet-ish), to simulate how human players could see a cloaked merc as well, but they have a reduced chance to hit you accurately.

So Luke, that's probably why they see you, because you're getting close to them. If you keep your distance, you stay cloaked to everyone. Even if they see you, if you move away they will lose track of you.

I'll double-check the distance they can see at to see if it's too far, but see if this new information helps any.

Classic Luke 05-18-2003 02:58 AM

Lol thanks bud!
 
Ah-ha! That explains it Azymn, thank you friend:))

mariners2001 05-18-2003 05:03 AM

Looks great Azymn! Big improvement over the previous version!

Like you said I have experienced a mass amount of crashes (the majority with Mercs as you said). The damage scale seems way high but it does make the fights more challenging. The grapple is extremely buggy. There is no grapple-line visible and no swinging, retracting, and detracting...

Everything else is INCREDIBLE!! I love the classes you implemented and the new .cfg's to customize bots. The saber's appearance is vastly improved. The ancient saber is great too. Is there a way to make other blades for the sabers?

A few suggestions:
1) Could you make it so that an invisible blade is possible? This would work great with Gaffi-Stick and Sword mods. However, there would have to be a way to prevent people from running around with invisible blades.
2) I like what you did with the Watto/Maw bots and allow them to hover like they are supposed to. However, could there be a way (possibly another jetpack option?) to remove the jet sounds and the smoke?

rut-wa jodar 05-18-2003 02:31 PM

I wonder if this suggestion would be viable. Toggable team skins option so FFA skin models can be used in team games.

Bug:
I have noticed in beta3 that even pure jedis have a grapple hook if "G" is pressed during gameplay, has anyone else noticed ?

RenegadeOfPhunk 05-18-2003 03:03 PM

I'm crashing every single time I start a game. Within about a minute or so.
And I don't seem to be doing anything specific - usually I'm just running along - just about to get into the action :/

Seems really wierd - I've tried messing around with settings to try and track it down, but nothing seemed to make a difference..!

mariners2001 05-18-2003 06:56 PM

yeah i also wanted to add that I'm getting a mass amount of crashes which is basically making it unplayable... :(

they are random crashes and don't seem to happen at any particular moment.

mort!!! 05-18-2003 07:04 PM

dual pistol holding angle
 
Wudan says you used a half-gunsit animation for the dual pistols. he also said this causes the pistols to be angled up in an exagerrated way. he has developed an new animation program called gla_neo. Maybe you could fix this problem w/ it.

Get it at: http://users.sisna.com/tokyopop/glatool.zip

Flamehart 05-18-2003 07:39 PM

Ok, my game crashes randomly too. The grapple works fine with the pull and swing, but there is no line showing where it really is, its very hard to see. I have tried what you told me to, and it still didnt block Lightning and Drain. If you launch Forcemod via the Mod menu, the Forcemod section is labeled "Rules" until you click on it. Bryar starts with 0 ammo (except in Jedi V. Merc mode). Choosing lightsaber and guns gives you no guns and twin sabers.

Classic Luke 05-19-2003 12:05 AM

Rolling
 
I noticed that i can shoot while at the same time rolling. And as stated earlier, choosing to wield both a saber and guns results in you wielding 2 sabers. For the moment, these are things observed:)
Is there a cvar controling saber throw damage btw?

Flamehart 05-19-2003 12:21 AM

You think that's weird. While doing things like aerial flips or something with your lightsaber on, you can deflect bullets too =P

mariners2001 05-19-2003 03:50 AM

a couple other notes:
1) two-sabered bots lose their saber 99.9% of the time and instead of just fighting with the other one they wait for the other to be called back (and it never does). this should definitely be fixed. just fight against tavion and you'll see.
2) jetpacked bots don't fly around as much as they did in the earlier beta's. the flamethrower is awesome (i love that bots can use them) but can absorb block it?

bliv 05-19-2003 05:39 AM

I've not had one crash yet........

rut-wa jodar 05-19-2003 06:04 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by bliv
I've not had one crash yet........
Neither have I.


Quote:

Originally posted by AOTJ_Craig
You think that's weird. While doing things like aerial flips or something with your lightsaber on, you can deflect bullets too =P

That`s a cool bug IMO !



Quote:

Originally posted by mariners2001
two-sabered bots lose their saber 99.9% of the time and instead of just fighting with the other one they wait for the other to be called back (and it never does). this should definitely be fixed. just fight against tavion and you'll see.

I think the non returnable sabers bug is down to ravens patches but I have noticed it happening a little more often in forcemod 2 Beta3.

Classic Luke 05-19-2003 10:32 AM

Problems with player-made maps
 
Hmmm, when i've been playin or tryin to play with player-made maps, bespin afl style in particular, my game tends to crash. Also, when i tried to play on the Kektik Verslassner map, the same thing happens. It seems to be a memory issue, for my computer will say something to the effect that forcemod2 has caused an error in unknown. However when playing on maps included with the game i rarely if ever crash. Anyways, playin on the maps included with the game still rocks :)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.