Yes, beta 3 will be going in its own directory this time. I thought using the same directory would be simpler, but it turned out to be more trouble than a new directory.
I hadn't thought about people using beta 1 having trouble connecting. That certainly makes sense. I wonder if the engine knows when a .pk3 file has been changed if it has the same name as the file on the client. Someone willing to test this?