lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: To all who can't compile and are trying new shaders!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-28-2003, 11:05 AM   #1
Patrick_H
 
Patrick_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 85
To all who can't compile and are trying new shaders!

If your compilier ever runs for around 40 seconds, completes, and doesn't create a BSP file, check to make sure you didn't leave a new shader file in the shaders directory. I had a new one called "garrison" in there, and as soon as I removed it, compiling returned to normal. Most annoying bug in my life! If some lonely soul hadn't fixed his own problem and reported it at massassi.net then I'd still be crying about it today! I spent a day trying to figure that out. I reinstalled Jk2 Radiant, GTK Radiant- but nothing worked.

And it left me with one nagging question:

How do I test out custom shaders in MP mode?

I.E. for light-emitting, transparent, skies, and the ever retarded "surfaceparm metalsteps- water-splashing-replacement" shaders?
Patrick_H is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 11:15 AM   #2
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
For Radiant: edit shaderlist.txt, and add "yourshader.shader" to the list. If you're the anal type, put it in correct alphabetical order.

For jk2mp.exe: do the console command "set sv_pure 0" before you "devmap yourmap."
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 11:33 AM   #3
Patrick_H
 
Patrick_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 85
rgoer, I did exactly that and my map wouldn't compile!

And my shader had exactly one definition in it to redefine a "metalsteps" texture. Of course, I am willing to accept that I may have made a mistake, so I will try again.

Unless... I only add in the altered shaderlist file and the shader when I go to test and remove it when I compile?

I'll be back with more when I've tried all this out.
Patrick_H is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 12:50 PM   #4
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Would you mind looking in junk.txt and posting what it says, as to why it woudn't compile?

From the sounds of it, there's a typo in your shader definition. something like "blendFund add" will ususally only render your shader useless, not prevent compile, though...
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 01:10 PM   #5
Patrick_H
 
Patrick_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 85
I would look in the junk.txt file but I can't find the damn thing!

...and Windows XP long ago stopped letting me do a file search on my machine.
Patrick_H is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 01:16 PM   #6
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
ok, so here's a neat trick for you:

right click on the desktop and choose "new shortcut." target that shortcut at this location: "C:\Documents and Settings\<your user name>\Local Settings\Temp\junk.txt"
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 01:19 PM   #7
Patrick_H
 
Patrick_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 85
Cool!

I'm traditionally a Mac user so I'm not used to thinking this way. I'm an artist, y'know...
Patrick_H is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 01:20 PM   #8
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
If you are compiling with q3map2 and q3map2toolz (as you probably should be, heh heh), you'll find the various logs in the program files/q3map2 toolz/logs/ folder.

heh, I only use XP here at work... most of my other development and design is done on OS X, so I hear ya, brother. It's all the same, though, really... I mean, you just basically did a "ln -s 'my junk.txt alias' 'path/to/junk.txt'"
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 01:23 PM   #9
Patrick_H
 
Patrick_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 85
I'll have to try that compiler. I have been using sofmap2 with JK2 Radiant.
I tried the one included with GTK Radiant and it was being too fussy so I gave up.
Patrick_H is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 01:25 PM   #10
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Look a few pages back in the forum for a thread called "what compile options should I choose for the final level" or something like that. Much about q3map2 and q3map2toolz is detailed there.
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > To all who can't compile and are trying new shaders!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.