lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: What is the best way to make a working lift?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-28-2003, 03:48 PM   #1
merlinova
 
merlinova's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Central US
Posts: 205
What is the best way to make a working lift?

I am working on a multi-player map, and am trying to put a working lift into it. I have consulted quite a few tutorials on the subject, but something always goes wrong when I try to implement it. For instance, the last time I tried it, my lift was 50 units above where it was supposed to be. Any ideas or suggestions?




You're just a few runes short of an incantation...
merlinova is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 05:24 PM   #2
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Yepp, use the forum search function. This subject was discussed at least 101 times. You can find the search button at the top of this page.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-28-2003, 07:11 PM   #3
Manquesa
 
Manquesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 699
If it's a func_plat make sure you're using an origin brush. RichDiesals tutorial is pretty good at explaining how to use func_plats, except for him not mentioning the very critical need to have an origin brush associated with it (If I remember right).


Finished Projects:
Sith Terminator
Awing
Tie-Interceptor
Y-Wing
Death Glider
Slave 1
Ep. 3 Jedi Starfighter

Current Projects:
T-16 Skyhopper
Manquesa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-29-2003, 02:29 AM   #4
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Origins are associated with func_trains and func_rotatings, not func_plats.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-29-2003, 03:00 AM   #5
Manquesa
 
Manquesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 699
Quote:
Originally posted by wedge2211
Origins are associated with func_trains and func_rotatings, not func_plats.
Well, it has been a while since I did any mapping at all really. I been modeling as of lately. But I've never been able to get func_plats to work right without an origin brush. And I distinctly remember reading 1 or more tutorials that did specify to use an origin brush with the func_plat which is how I finally got my func_plats working.
Also I did go through RichDiesals tutorial on them and they didn't work right untill I added the origin brush.
Maybe I was doing something else wrong or there's another method I don't know about that's easier.


Finished Projects:
Sith Terminator
Awing
Tie-Interceptor
Y-Wing
Death Glider
Slave 1
Ep. 3 Jedi Starfighter

Current Projects:
T-16 Skyhopper
Manquesa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-29-2003, 05:01 PM   #6
merlinova
 
merlinova's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Central US
Posts: 205
Thanks for the suggestions, guys. I'll have to check it out later, as I'm still at work right now...




You're just a few runes short of an incantation...
merlinova is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > What is the best way to make a working lift?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:30 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.