lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: The plugin to view edit save .png with alpha channels
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-29-2003, 12:52 AM   #1
svösh
 
svösh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 733
Veteran Modder Helpful! Contest winner - Modding 
Thumbs up The plugin to view edit save .png with alpha channels

The holly Grail has been found!!!!!!! The plugin to view, edit, save .png in photoshop 5, 5.5, 6, and 7 with alpha channels

Any one interested in the right Plugin to open save and edit the Infamous .png files in everyone’s favorite Photoshop come and get it

http://www.angelfire.com/crazy2/xclo..._skinning.html

No more smashing your heads in to walls, Let the skinning begin !!!!


Everyone that downloads it please just put a quick thanks or whatever here so we can see how many people needed it, just for fun. After all the trouble I went to finding it, at least show some love . thanks


pixel, poly builder
svösh's kotor mods

Last edited by svösh; 11-11-2003 at 08:32 PM.
svösh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 01:14 AM   #2
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
oh wow.....thanks alot.....this really made my day....and i was just thinking all hopes for help in these forums were dead.....

seriously.....thanks alot for taking the time to send me this
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 01:20 AM   #3
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
and yes it works.....right there under channels is your alpha channel....wow.....

so now let's ask this.... which i will probably figure out eventually on my own, but as i have never had the plugin to deal with this properly before, how does one create an alpha channel in a new file.....?
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 01:27 AM   #4
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
OH...MY...GOD! It looks like it works!

eidospsogos, to add the alpha channel to a new file, just click on the New Channel button at the bottom of the channels tab. It's one of the symbol buttons.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 01:28 AM   #5
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
So, svösh, where the heck did you find this thing and why is it so damn hard to find?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 01:38 AM   #6
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
great now we're talking.....problems solved.....

too bad adobe didn't decide to put a functional plug-in in their 700 dollar program.....
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 02:15 AM   #7
svösh
 
svösh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 733
Veteran Modder Helpful! Contest winner - Modding 
@ eidospsogos glad to make your day A very simple way to make an alpha channel is this on the layer your working on make a path or selection if you make a path you can then convert the path to selection using the button at the bottom of the path’s palette. Anyways once you have made the selection go to the channels palette and at the bottom there click on the second button the one that has a circle in a square called ( save selection as channel ) then you can paint black or white use any of the filters or levels to play with the alpha channel


@ razorace if I tell you I’ll have to kill you . just kidding man

As I said I was searching for some time my key words were .”png photoshop plugin with alpha channels”. I was almost ready to give up after the 500 th link,...about png’s usage for browser test’s Blah, blah, blah…. and spec's and what not. Then I found it, as it turns out I got it at a site for skinning tribes 2 characters I don't have the game tribes 2 but “ I Believe my search is over, I have found the one!” So I downloaded it and save it to my hard drive. Tried it and what do you know it works I was so happy a made few mistakes setting up that web page to host it but in the end it was worth it because after all now we can all get to skinning.

Lets all enjoy the now toy


pixel, poly builder
svösh's kotor mods

Last edited by svösh; 11-11-2003 at 08:25 PM.
svösh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 02:31 AM   #8
svösh
 
svösh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 733
Veteran Modder Helpful! Contest winner - Modding 
Believe you me eidospsogos I checked the adobe site for a .png plugin and no such luck. What great support they have over there (Extreme sarcasm)
No kidding eh? after paying a little more then you, around $800.00 Canadian i was quite pissed they didn't have a proper .png plugin

but now all our copy’s of Photoshop do


pixel, poly builder
svösh's kotor mods
svösh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 07:58 PM   #9
[FotF]Maddog
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 62
which directory do i place it in in photoshop 7
Dog
[FotF]Maddog is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2003, 08:21 PM   #10
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
Photoshop\Plug-Ins\Adobe Photoshop Only\File Formats

You'll have to overwrite the current one. You might want to make a backup copy.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2003, 04:35 AM   #11
svösh
 
svösh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 733
Veteran Modder Helpful! Contest winner - Modding 
I'v added a readme to install the the plugin in the .zip . For the people that didn't follow the instructions on my site


pixel, poly builder
svösh's kotor mods
svösh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2003, 10:04 PM   #12
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
The Up Filter for PNG files (no interlace) seems to result in the smallest file sizes and there's no image loss.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2003, 12:11 PM   #13
BloodRiot
 
BloodRiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Portugal
Posts: 551
Hot Topic Starter 
Jolly good show Svösh.

This will come in handy. Thx man.

BloodRiot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2003, 08:04 PM   #14
Dethsaint
Rookie
 
Dethsaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Hmmm... I'm using PSPro 7 for skinning purposes but I suppose "save as alpha channel" will work in the excact same manner as your plugin?

Hmmm...

Not that I've got any spare time to skin in anyway since I've actually begun playing the game in MP


"Playing games with lag is like playing soccer with a deflated football" - Dethsaint
Dethsaint is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2003, 09:06 PM   #15
svösh
 
svösh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 733
Veteran Modder Helpful! Contest winner - Modding 
@ Dethsaint

Sorry man I can’t tell you as I haven’t used paint shop pro since psp 3 so I don’t know. But I assume so.

If you mean when saving as a .png yes you will want a check mark in the options for the alpha channels. But of course you will need to create one first. I assume you know how to do that ?

If not read some of the posts above as Ps pro copied Photoshop and has many similarities.


pixel, poly builder
svösh's kotor mods
svösh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-05-2003, 04:20 PM   #16
Dethsaint
Rookie
 
Dethsaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Hmmm...

"On this meditate I will..."

I'll figure something out, but thx. anyway.


"Playing games with lag is like playing soccer with a deflated football" - Dethsaint
Dethsaint is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Skinning > The plugin to view edit save .png with alpha channels

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.