lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: how do you .. g_speed & cg_fpls 1
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-30-2003, 07:43 AM   #1
jediofthenew
Rookie
 
jediofthenew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: nyc
Posts: 15
how do you ..

1. first person view for lightsaber duels or if there is a mod or cheat out there

2. slow the game down but not so drastically that you cant even play as i experienced with the slow down cheat. just enough to have slower "realistic" speed duels.

thank you
jediofthenew is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 09:48 AM   #2
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Answer to 1st question.

Theres a console command for that. i think its "cg_fpls" or something.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 12:32 PM   #3
Jedi Luke
Veteran
 
Jedi Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: At home
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally posted by |GG|Crow_Nest
Answer to 1st question.

Theres a console command for that. i think its "cg_fpls" or something.
Yeah, pretty sure its CG_fpls 1 (i'm pretty sure it works in JO mp)

Does it work in JA sp? If not, what is the command for first person saber view in JA SP?




Dark Forces MOD for Jedi Academy

Mapper, Icarus Scripter
______________________________

Reborn Ancient Jedi TC Mod

Beta Tester
-----------------------------------------------
Sig made by Roxstar! AWESOME gif sig made by IG-64! Thanks dudes, you rock!
Jedi Luke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 12:45 PM   #4
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Quote:
Originally posted by Luke Sirra Jedi
Yeah, pretty sure its CG_fpls 1 (i'm pretty sure it works in JO mp)

Does it work in JA sp? If not, what is the command for first person saber view in JA SP?
I think its the same, dunno if it works for 1.01




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 12:50 PM   #5
Jedi Luke
Veteran
 
Jedi Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: At home
Posts: 861
Cos i think i remember trying CG_fpls 1 but i don't think it worked. There probably is a command to enable first person saber view in SP. If not, coders, here's a job for you. It would be a pretty cool experience with 1st person saber in ja sp. Physically stepping into the role of a jedi.




Dark Forces MOD for Jedi Academy

Mapper, Icarus Scripter
______________________________

Reborn Ancient Jedi TC Mod

Beta Tester
-----------------------------------------------
Sig made by Roxstar! AWESOME gif sig made by IG-64! Thanks dudes, you rock!
Jedi Luke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 12:51 PM   #6
Darth Kaan
 
Darth Kaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ruusan
Posts: 900
It works, sort of. It's not pretty though.

Darth Kaan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 01:09 PM   #7
Jedi Luke
Veteran
 
Jedi Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: At home
Posts: 861
Yeah, you probably need to do the coding yourself to set the player view pos. I can map, script but can't be bothered studying the C language .




Dark Forces MOD for Jedi Academy

Mapper, Icarus Scripter
______________________________

Reborn Ancient Jedi TC Mod

Beta Tester
-----------------------------------------------
Sig made by Roxstar! AWESOME gif sig made by IG-64! Thanks dudes, you rock!
Jedi Luke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 01:21 PM   #8
Jedi Luke
Veteran
 
Jedi Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: At home
Posts: 861
Ok i just tried it. CG_fpls 1 is a command in the mp.exe engine and therefore functions, but is pretty crappy like in JO mp. However, it does not work in the sp engine (as predicted) because this was always an enhancement for the mp.exe engine. To enable first person in SP (just as good as the 1st person in JO), coders would have to get busy.




Dark Forces MOD for Jedi Academy

Mapper, Icarus Scripter
______________________________

Reborn Ancient Jedi TC Mod

Beta Tester
-----------------------------------------------
Sig made by Roxstar! AWESOME gif sig made by IG-64! Thanks dudes, you rock!
Jedi Luke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 02:17 PM   #9
Sam Fisher
eh.
 
Sam Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,466
For the slow down time cheat, you need to be on your own server(with cheats enabled) and into the console type:

timescale

The regular speed is 1, so anything below 1 is slower, anything above is faster.




stuck in an eternity of sunshine and chocolate.
Sam Fisher is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 02:21 PM   #10
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
1. Wow, I thought the fpv didnt exist in JA. I myself would have absolutely *no* use for it

2. game speed is altered by the "timescale" command.... think it is g_timescale x I dont know what numbers you'd need to put in to slow things down a notch, but I dont know how you'd go doing this in MP/duel anyway. Ive only ever used timescale to *speed things up* in SP. You lose music and voices though....

MTFBWYA


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 10:22 PM   #11
jediofthenew
Rookie
 
jediofthenew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: nyc
Posts: 15
the reason i want this

the reason i want those 2 things is :

I fell in love with the first person lightsber duel in star wars trilogy arcade. It puts you in a first person duel against darth vader and its at a slow "realistic" speed , anyone else get to experience that ? i loved it but only got to play it once. never got that far into the game again.

so really what i am trying to do is reproduce the effect and feel of that level. fpduel and slower like the movie vader and luke duel.

if you any other solutions or other ways to get it like that , please do post them , for now i post the firstperson thing on the other board for coding thanks alot !
jediofthenew is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 10:28 PM   #12
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
wow.... an almost octapost.... :| Lay off the submit button, it's rather old and ragged.
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 10:29 PM   #13
jediofthenew
Rookie
 
jediofthenew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: nyc
Posts: 15
sp

also its intended for use in sp , but thanks for the mp posts aswell , i want to develope, if i cant this way, a mod that jsut doest it all for you . the first person and slower duel level , i get to work on the mod for the level , but i really am clueless on moding the speed and first person so im looking for alternatives
maby the mod that does it all can go mp later but for now i jsut want to play this way in sp first .
jediofthenew is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-30-2003, 10:31 PM   #14
jediofthenew
Rookie
 
jediofthenew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: nyc
Posts: 15
almost octapost fixed

i fixed the almost octapost :-)
jediofthenew is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2003, 07:39 PM   #15
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,329
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
cg_fpls 1 works in MP (haven't tested it in SP). The only trouble is that the model's head gets in the way (JK2 used a semi-transparent model in SP and MP.. in fact it was an "arms only" model, though there was also a headless model).

Raven staffers have said time and again that they don't plan to implement this in JA like they did in the previous game, hinting that the feature was just "thrown in at the last minute" in JK2 and "never really supported." To do it in JA would require they "do it justice" by making it fit with every custom model in the game, and since that would be "too much work" they won't do it.

Thankfully OpenJediProject has this included as a "to do" feature if I'm not mistaken, though it may take on a slightly different "trueview" approach rather than a straight port of the JK2 version (though I've been begging RA for the option to use one like JK2 had with the arm's only skin).

g_speed is a server side command that controls game speed. Change it from the default (lower for slower, higher for faster) and you can find something you like.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-01-2003, 07:46 PM   #16
Chuahtemoc
 
Chuahtemoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: I am a domesticated cow
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally posted by Kurgan
cg_fpls 1 works in MP (haven't tested it in SP). The only trouble is that the model's head gets in the way (JK2 used a semi-transparent model in SP and MP.. in fact it was an "arms only" model, though there was also a headless model).
I have been searching for a way to do it in SP, but of course, it lowers the amount of things you can do. It'll be somewhat an Obi-Wan vs Vader fight, where they'rew slow, delibrate, and.... old.

But raven did something similar in SoF2--they didn't give access to a third person view in SP, but they did in MP (until the Gold patch came out). Oh well.


YORIMOTO says SUMiSUMi!!!


"When in the Course of human events, it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another, and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature's God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation." - Thomas Jefferson

"It is vain, sir, to extenuate the matter. Gentlemen may cry, peace, peace; but there is no peace. The war is actually begun! The next gale that sweeps from the north will bring to our ears the clash of resounding arms! Our brethren are already in the field! Why stand we here idle? What is it that gentlemen wish? What would they have? Is life so dear or peace so sweet as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery?

Forbid it, Almighty God -- I know not what course others may take; but as for me -- give me liberty or give me death!" - Patrick Henry


3x50p 11.21.03
Chuahtemoc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Academy > how do you .. g_speed & cg_fpls 1

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:49 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.