lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Help hex-editing feats, please
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-16-2004, 05:05 PM   #1
Möpschen
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Smile Help hex-editing feats, please

Hiho,

i need help hex-editing some kotor-feats:
I want to exchange 'Empathy' for 'Implant Level I' and 'Improved Empathy' for 'Implant Level II' (because 'Empathy' isn't very useful for my 'charismatic persuader' ).

Can anyone tell me the offsets i have to edit, please?

BTW: I tried the 'Kotor Mod Utility' but i'm unable to figure out how to use this program.
Also - when playing around with KMU - an error occurs when altering feats: error collecting feats.
Maybe the KMU is not compatible with Kotor 1.01? Or the german version of Kotor?
Möpschen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-16-2004, 06:50 PM   #2
sk8terkid81
Lurker
 
sk8terkid81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7
ok man ill help you with the kmu editor if you still have it, ok first put kmu in the save game direct you want e.g C:\Program Files\LucasArts\SWKotOR\saves\000002 - Game1 or any other save game. Remember the save game has to be in the ebon hawk or your hideout otherwise it wont work. So double-click kmu and wait, ok now you have 2 choices about the training click your one, now choose your option ok itll say choose a feat/power/e.t.c you posses say you want all implant levels and you want to get read of empathy or watever, you find a feat you have already then when its says choose a feat you want to exchange and press the number that corrasponds with empathy or the one u dont need, ok now its should come up with 1st feats 2nd feats e.t.c choose 1st feats if you want implants choose implant level one, now you have that feat, if you want all three levels then you will have exchange another feat you dont need to get all three levels of implants, but the trick to kmu is that you dont need the second level, e.g. you have 1st level implant skip 2nd and have 3rd instead ok you have to hav the first one though cos without level one there can be no level 3, ok hope you got all that, one more tip for you if thats to hard just exchange one feat for profeciency all in special feats (it gives you all prequistes)


The only thing better than skatin is being able to choke someone with the force
sk8terkid81 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-16-2004, 07:35 PM   #3
Möpschen
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Hmm, thx, but... :/

I did this exchance procedure twice (empathy 1/2 --> implants 1/2).
KMU showed the Implant-Feats correctly in its 'Feat overview' (screenshot ~65kb : http://mitglied.lycos.de/dummhuhn/bilder/kmu.jpg ), but in Kotor i still have the empathy feats, not the implant-feats.

What went wrong?
Möpschen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-16-2004, 09:44 PM   #4
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
i had these problems with early versions of the program. have you downloaded the most recent 1.3 version of kmu yet? downloading the new version of the program fixed my problems.

as for hex-editing for feats, the only way i know of to do it is in this thread.

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=119851
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-16-2004, 11:50 PM   #5
Möpschen
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
The link ( http://cgi.gamefaqs.com/boards/genme...topic=11597572 ) does not work "An invalid Topic ID has been used to access this page. Return to the General Board page to select a board."


Where to get a newer version of KMU?
The link http://www.kmu.web1000.com/ redirects me to http://www.paysforsurveys.com/ .


(hmm, if anyone could mail me KMU 1.3 ?! ... mailto: *obsolete*
i have only 1.0 beta)

Last edited by Möpschen; 01-17-2004 at 12:38 AM.
Möpschen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-17-2004, 12:16 AM   #6
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
i will email it to you. no problem. and don't use the link in that thread. further down in the thread someone posts the tutorial. but i have it in a text doc. i'll email it to you with the program.

hey, i sent you the stuff. in the zip is also a freeware hex-editor that helped me out alot. the tutorial is in that folder in .rtf format. if anything remains unclear, go to the thread about hex editing as i gave a more simple explanation of how to find the values when i was talking about editing your other party members. you do not have to do what the author of the original tutorial suggested and give enough xp to level to 20. you only have to take your current in-game xp and use the windows calculator to find it's hex equivalent. but that's all in the hex-editing savegame thread.
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-17-2004, 12:38 AM   #7
Möpschen
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
JAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!111one
The updated version of KMU worked! Flawless swap of feats - tschaka!

Thx, KMU-creator, thx, eidosp(sp?)...-thingy

May the Schwartz be with you!
Möpschen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Help hex-editing feats, please

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:27 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.