lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: WIP: Star Destroyer
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-23-2004, 09:06 AM   #1
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
WIP: Star Destroyer

i'm curently working on a star destroyer it was originaly intended FFA and TFFA and CTF but i decided it would be a lot better if it was a siege
there is still some issue's to be worked out with the lighting and stuff
i would like some suggestions for a siege scenario
i wil post screenshots later today

darthALEX out


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2004, 09:32 AM   #2
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
here are the screenshots as promised

http://www.imagedump.com/index.cgi?pick=get&tp=43178

http://www.imagedump.com/index.cgi?pick=get&tp=43181

http://www.imagedump.com/index.cgi?pick=get&tp=43182

http://www.imagedump.com/index.cgi?p...id=20&warned=y


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2004, 10:49 AM   #3
Zappa_0
JOM Director
 
Zappa_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 2,967
They look good, but I think they could use alittle more detail to them. Other then that it looks good.
Zappa_0 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2004, 11:05 AM   #4
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
*gets on knees*

Dear, dear Alex.. Light the damn thing.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2004, 11:47 AM   #5
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
Yeah, the very uniform light (or no light?) and the all-light-gray textures make it even harder to spot any details. I guess some level of ambient light would be in order is space (I'm not talking about realism, though) but some shadows and such would make it far easier to actually see any 3D features.

Yet, it sure looks like a Star Destroyer! Good work!

(And you have a funny image host... Links to XXX sites and cable descrambler sites, just to mention the most harmless ones... ).
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2004, 03:34 PM   #6
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally posted by GothiX
*gets on knees*

Dear, dear Alex.. Light the damn thing.
*grabs a torch*

as you wish

i'll do the lighting once i finish the architexture cause it takes a like a day and nigh to compile with lights
and without it takes a minute and a half

i'll show some radiant screens later they show how detailed the damn thing is and how big it is on the grid


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2004, 03:56 PM   #7
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
just tought i'd have some fun


http://www.imagedump.com/index.cgi?pick=get&tp=43243

some radiant shots

http://www.imagedump.com/index.cgi?pick=get&tp=43249

http://www.imagedump.com/index.cgi?pick=get&tp=43253

http://www.imagedump.com/index.cgi?pick=get&tp=43255

and the size on the grid

http://www.imagedump.com/index.cgi?pick=get&tp=43259


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2004, 04:02 PM   #8
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
Doube the size of your lightgrid in worldspawn, it'll take less time.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2004, 04:27 PM   #9
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally posted by GothiX
Doube the size of your lightgrid in worldspawn, it'll take less time.
3 letters

HOW?


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2004, 07:33 PM   #10
Zappa_0
JOM Director
 
Zappa_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 2,967
Screenshots look great.
Zappa_0 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2004, 08:14 PM   #11
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally posted by {xg}darthVADER
3 letters

HOW?
key: "gridsize"
value: "128 128 128" (or even "256 256 256")
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2004, 01:00 AM   #12
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
Hate to inform ya XG, but

Look here

and Also at www.jediknight.net.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2004, 03:35 PM   #13
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
whats your point ?

i'm going to complete this map wether activision releases a version of theirs or not


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2004, 05:49 PM   #14
Lightning
 
Lightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The Netherlands Ship: Z-95 Headhunter
Posts: 496
looks great are you going to but those outomated turrets on the destroyer like those of the flight school maps?
Lightning is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2004, 06:34 PM   #15
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
Quote:
Originally posted by {xg}darthVADER
whats your point ?

i'm going to complete this map wether activision releases a version of theirs or not
thats the spirit! lol


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2004, 07:25 PM   #16
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
yes there are several automated turrets (several dozens)

i cant do the lighting stage of this map it wil have to be as you saw it in those screens i'll try tog et it to work properly by no promises

olso what should i make the rebel base i've tried a mon cal cruiser and that jsut crashed radiant so any sugestions and prefrebly screenshots or ref pics of it


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-26-2004, 10:46 AM   #17
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
You could make it the Yavin 4 Base, kind of like in ANH, but they are attacking a Star Destroyer instead of the Death Star. Just use fog and clouds to simulate the transisition from the planet to space, and then make it so that once someone is in space, they cant just simply return to the planet. (kind of like a controlled flight plan)


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-26-2004, 07:58 PM   #18
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
i was thinking more of a space base but i can try this concept
i just dunno how it wil look


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-26-2004, 09:25 PM   #19
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Check out the way Factor 5 did their "Attack The Star Destroyer" level in RogueSquadron2 (For the gamecube) It may give you some ideas (There's some great stuff - graphics / level design - in that game)
If you don't have it, just check out http://www.lucasarts.com/products/ro...er/default.htm


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-26-2004, 09:39 PM   #20
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
i'm using the star destroyer from rogue squadron 3 as a refrence since i have the game


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2004, 02:15 AM   #21
Nkenobi
Rookie
 
Nkenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 43
looks great so far!


Strong am I on the Editing force

Never leave a job unfinished...
so never start...

Lotr MP TC Staff!
Nkenobi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2004, 11:30 PM   #22
Dilandau-Sama
Rookie
 
Dilandau-Sama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 97
There's already a seige star destroyer created by raven, eveybody's playing it.


The dark side rules! The light side sucks.

My RPG Stats
Dilandau-Sama is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2004, 11:44 PM   #23
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
After playing around in the released Destroyer and Destroyer 2 maps, I think that improvements could easily be made, if the attacking team actually had to board the ship to complete certain objectives and the Falcon was inside the Hanger of the star destroyer.

Alternatively, If you had the Rebel cruiser alongside, it could be a race between the two teams to capture the other ship. Either way, I think an on foot section aboard the ships would be really cool.


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-06-2004, 01:43 AM   #24
Pnut_Man
Existential to the Core
 
Pnut_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 1,061
Having played and enjoyed the FFA Star Destroyer from Jedi Outcast, boarding the enemy ship and 'taking over the bridge', or 'rescuing prisoners' sounds like AWESOME objectives for future flight sim Siege maps.




- Formally hated, praised, and known as Pnut_Man
Pnut_Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-06-2004, 08:48 PM   #25
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
ive been working some more on the siege objectives on this star destroyer and this is what ive come up with so far

The imperial star destroyer Undertaker is curently transporting
a prototype of a new shield generator to correlia for testing
the rebel aliance has heard of this and is planning to intercept the star destroyer and steal the plans

rebel objectives:
obective 1 destroy the shield generator domes to gain acces to the docking bay

objective 2 board the star destroyer and make your way to the cargo bay where the prototype shield generator is located

objective 3 plant explosives on the shield generator

objective 4 make your way to the bridge and download the plans of the prototype

objective 5 make your way back to the hanger and steal a lambda shuttle and return to the fleet
***missions acomplished***

imperial objectives:
objective 1 defend the prototype and plans till you clear the asteroid field and can make the jump to hyperspace


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 12:18 AM   #26
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
It seems like there were smiliar yet different objectives originally planned for Siege, but it was decided to go strictly with Vehicle Combat for vehicle tutorial purposes, plus people had been wanting a space combat map.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 01:12 PM   #27
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Those sound great--I'd really love to see a fully integrated vehicle/personal siege map.

Is it possible to make only certain classes able to fly starfighters/shuttles? Then, you could have a "pilot" class and a "commando" class, and both would be dependent on each other and you'd need both to win.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-08-2004, 01:39 PM   #28
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
i have no idea about that i'll look into it


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2004, 05:17 PM   #29
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
Well, why not make it so that when certain classes spawn, they are near the spaceships/shuttles, like the pilots, and when commandos are spawned, they spawn somewhere inside the ISD away from the ship.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-09-2004, 08:50 PM   #30
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
hmmm maybe

however is there someone who is willing to help me get the lighting for this map to work ???

thx in advance post here and i'll pm you the details on how to contact me


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-14-2004, 08:14 PM   #31
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
I Can Help!!

Hey, I don't know how to mod, skin, model, map, etc., but, I do know what the community wants. I have always wanted to commit to the JA community, and I thought that maybe I could beta test?
Currently, I am beta testing for another (3rd version) KFS map. I am slo beta testing for an awesome Battle of Endor siege map with ground and space.
So, I could beta test.
Some suggestions:
1. Ease down on the TIE Fighters and Bombers
2. Put other ships in like the ones in Asteroids TFFA.
3. Lighting!!
4. Textures, put some good colors in it, the Corellian Corvette actually has red on it.
5. Have combat inside the ships. Siege Star Destroyer 1.0 and 2.0 would be better with fighting on foot.
6. Include many AT-ST's and AT-AT's (Duncans) inside the Star Destroyer. Also, make the Star Destroyer BIG. Also, if you are going to put 72 TIE Fighters (Imperial Class-II Star Destroyers hold 72) make sure that they are spread out.

Hope you like my ideas, and I hope you'll let me beta test!!





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2004, 03:16 PM   #32
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
i'm sorry but i'm looking a difrent kiund of help
some of those things i cant do

1. i'll try
2. i dont have premission to use those
3. thats what i need the help for
4. where do you see a correlian corvette???
5. read this thread i am doing just that
6. i might add some at-st's
and incase you havent noticed but my star destroyer is twice the size of ravens

but i need help from someone who might be able to get the lighting to work


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-15-2004, 11:42 PM   #33
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Question

What lighting errors are you getting? (Specifically)


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2004, 12:00 AM   #34
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Uhh, O.K. I don't mind if you say no for me beta testing. I am kinda full with it (the new KFS map, and a Siege Endor map with space).
But, you said that there isn't a Corellian Corvette. What is the Rebel ship near it? Also, if it isn't a Corellian Corvette, make it a, maybe, a Dreadnaught Heavy Cruiser.
One more thing. You said that you don't have permission to use the ships from Asteroids TFFA. GET IT!! The makers are very nice, they are letting many people use them. Go to this link and ask if you can use their vehicles: http://lucasforums.com/showthread.ph...&pagenumber=20
So make sure you ask.




- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2004, 06:47 AM   #35
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
ok i go some good news the lighting stage worked this time
but now the bad news

the map wont load anymore it crashes the game so any idea's????


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2004, 06:49 AM   #36
{xg}darthVADER
 
{xg}darthVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 457
ok sure i'll ask them if i can use their ships =]

and yes its a dreadnought but its not in the map anymore at least for now i removed it

i'm not letting you beta test because i dont think the map is ready for public beta testing yet
maybe in a week i'll make a beta testing post so keep your eyes peeled


Maps aren't released
...they escape

{xg}darthVADER is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2004, 09:47 AM   #37
Zappa_0
JOM Director
 
Zappa_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 2,967
The game wont hold 72 vehicle Tie-Fighters. Im sure he can add model ones here and there, then a few vehicles. But I dont think you wanna go around and guess what ship is what.
Zappa_0 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-16-2004, 11:37 PM   #38
monsoontide
Multiple Arm Attack!
 
monsoontide's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,092
Well, all the non-flyable Tie's could be on a rack in a different part of the Star Destroyer, while the flyable ones are in the usual place.

{xg}darthVADER - You Need to be MUCH more specific when asking for help with errors - jsut saying the map crashed doesn't help. Specifically, what error does it give (either in a box or in the consol)?


Monsoontide
monsoontide is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2004, 12:03 AM   #39
Andy867
McCan Caoma
 
Andy867's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Shire
Posts: 3,236
As far as vehicle limits go, the most you can have in one map is 64, although you REALLY REALLY wont want even 1/2 of that or the FPS will plummet into the negatives....Basically, you wont want any more than 16 total vehicles in the map 8 on 8 plus the destroyer and Corellian ship or the FPS will suffer tremendously.


Shut yo face before I punch you in the mouth, break your teeth and call you Snaggle-tooth.
Andy867 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-17-2004, 12:19 AM   #40
Zappa_0
JOM Director
 
Zappa_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 2,967
Yea having too much stuff in a map can kill it and the gameplay very quickly. And yes if you want to get help for your errors, you need to go into more detail of your problems.
Zappa_0 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > WIP: Star Destroyer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:02 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.