lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Quake 2. Multiplayer
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-18-2004, 03:01 PM   #1
JBRAA
Likes Mojo ;)
 
JBRAA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: mojoart.mixnmojo.com
Posts: 321
Quake 2. Multiplayer

I've installed old Quacke 2. Do I need quakeworld or anything else to be able to get a list of servers? Cause I dont get any list. I've installed the q2-3.20-x86-full-ctf.exe patch. Know what I've missed or need to do to get it to work?

JBRAA is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 04:47 PM   #2
Gabez
Senior Member
 
Gabez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oxford, England
Posts: 3,147
I *think* Quake World is only for Quake 1. Try Gamespy Arcade, although that might be dodgy. I remember it working for me though.
Gabez is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 04:51 PM   #3
Huz
Coconut in the lime
 
Huz's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Space City
Posts: 1,075
10 year veteran! LFN Staff Member 
Beats me! But QuakeWorld is definitely only for Quake 1. :-*

Try the All-Seeing Eye - it's like Gamespy Arcade but without the nagging, or the bloatiness, or the affiliation with Fileplanet and by extension the devil.


"I once ate a teabag" - Thrik
The Huz Experience
Huz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2004, 09:35 PM   #4
JBRAA
Likes Mojo ;)
 
JBRAA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: mojoart.mixnmojo.com
Posts: 321
All Seeing Eye worked. Just played a bit. Man, QuakeII run fast on a 1800+ spec machine.

JBRAA is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-22-2004, 10:55 AM   #5
Twilo
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ireland
Posts: 11
Quake 2 is one of those earlier fps games with no ingame server browser. v320 is the latest you can get a patch (317-320 are intercompatible though). Generally we just used Gamespy back in the dya, or stuck to the same 5 or 6 servers. (wireplay or barrysworld etc.) Curiously the MSN Gaming Zone had a good line in player-run servers, possibly still does. Quake 2's multiplayer code is a bit flaky compared to quakeworld, but these days broadband ought to make that irrelevant.

Quake 2 Threewave CTF is still the best CTF ever made, so give it a go.


And out of the mist came.. oh wait... it's just more mist...
Twilo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Mixnmojo.com > Community Discussion Forums > Mojo International Gaming Clan > Quake 2. Multiplayer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 PM.


LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.