lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KotORTLK - TLK file browse/search/edit utility (Current Version: 2.3)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Sorry, this thread is closed. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-03-2004, 12:32 PM   #1
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Assassin's Creed 4
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
KotORTLK - TLK file browse/search/edit utility (Current Version: 2.3)

Edit tk102 9/29/06: This application has been officially retired from service. Please refer instead to stoffe -mkb-'s TalkEd utility

---------------------
KotORTLK v2.3 (11/14/05)
http://www.starwarsknights.com/tools.php

v2.3 - TLK->TXT and TXT->TLK functions added.

v2.2 - Added 'Add Entry' and 'Delete Entry' to the File menu. Added a label that shows the number of entries in the current TLK file.

v2.1 - Added better support for extended ASCII character set (0x7F through 0xFF). This allows characters such as é to be saved in the TLK file correctly (instead some weird 2-char sequence).

KotORTLK is a utility for browsing, searching, and editing the dialog.tlk file in KotOR.

Make a backup of your TLK file before you do any editing!

I also suggest using the Page Up and Page Down buttons for scrolling, cuz it's just easier.

Last edited by tk102; 09-29-2006 at 03:59 PM.
tk102 is offline   you may:
Old 12-03-2004, 12:59 PM   #2
StormTrooper789
Junior Member
 
StormTrooper789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Millington,TN
Posts: 258
Thank you!!!


I scored 12.03156% on the Geek Test.
What about you?

Official Internet Exploiter hater!

Did you know Microsoft wants to "Assimilate" you with their products?
StormTrooper789 is offline   you may:
Old 12-03-2004, 01:16 PM   #3
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Thanks! This tool will be very useful!

And good choice for the icon you scared me with this earlier today
Darth333 is offline   you may:
Old 12-03-2004, 05:39 PM   #4
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Another very nice tool TK! Thanks!


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may:
Old 04-15-2005, 10:15 PM   #5
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Not sure if it's because of the patched Dialog.tlk file, but KotOR TLK won't save changes for TSL.

Yes, I'm clicking Apply and yes I get the prompt telling me that the app has finished saving my changes
Achilles is offline   you may:
Old 04-15-2005, 11:09 PM   #6
Shadow Blaze
Junior Member
 
Shadow Blaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 357
Your just making tools like crazy tk! Nice work! I have a feeling I will be using this sooner or later.

EDIT: Heh heh oops didn't look on the time stamp... I'm just not having a good day. Anyways just ignore this post. Achilles has a problem he needs help with.


Hk-47-"Query: Now is there any other horrors you wish to insert in my system, or is your electronic butchery done?"

My WIP Thread

Last edited by Shadow Blaze; 04-16-2005 at 12:31 AM.
Shadow Blaze is offline   you may:
Old 04-15-2005, 11:39 PM   #7
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by Shadow Blaze
Your just making tools like crazy tk! Nice work! I have a feeling I will be using this sooner or later.
He released this five months ago (not to take away from his hard work).

I hope that Tk102 reads back far enough to see that someone posted a legitimate issue instead of seeing your post and assuming that someone bumped the thread for a +1 to their post count.
Achilles is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 01:46 AM   #8
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Assassin's Creed 4
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Hmm, works for me. Just remember to make sure you're opening and saving in the SWKOTOR2 directory, not the SWKOTOR directory (which is what the Open As... and Save As... dialogs will default to). [I should fix that. ]

Has it been 5 months?

Oh and if you happened to have overwritten your dialog.tlk for SWKOTOR by mistake, there's another copy here.


tk102 is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 01:51 AM   #9
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Yeah, I was doing that and it still wouldn't save changes. V.2.0 is the only one in existence, correct?
Achilles is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 02:01 AM   #10
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Yeah, I was doing that and it still wouldn't save changes. V.2.0 is the only one in existence, correct?
v2.1.4 over at:

http://www.starwarsknights.com/tools.php


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 02:25 AM   #11
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Wrong tool (unless I'm missing something)

Thanks for the reply though.
Achilles is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 03:06 AM   #12
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Wrong tool (unless I'm missing something)

Thanks for the reply though.
err... DOH! :

* double-checks the coffee pot and makes sure he's not using De-caf *

Sorry 'bout that.. I saw "tlk" and my mind jumped to "dialog" instead...


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 03:21 AM   #13
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Assassin's Creed 4
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally posted by Achilles
Yeah, I was doing that and it still wouldn't save changes. V.2.0 is the only one in existence, correct?
Yes it is. Very strange. What are you attempting to edit exactly? -- I'll try to replicate your situation.


tk102 is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 03:25 AM   #14
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
I was trying to edit entries 75351-75355. I eventually just threw my hands up and used dlgeditor to change the specific dlg entries, but I have many similar changes to make and I'd rather edit one .tlk file than multiple .dlg files.
Achilles is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 01:32 PM   #15
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Assassin's Creed 4
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Still works for me... at least insofar as KotORTLK shows the changes when closed and re-opened. (Haven't tried to check in-game.)

Are you trying to add strange characters?


tk102 is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 03:36 PM   #16
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
No just text. Would copy/paste from Notepad cause the changes not to take hold? They appear to take before I save, however when I reopen the app, the old entries are still there (again, I am clicking apply after each change).
Achilles is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 03:51 PM   #17
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Assassin's Creed 4
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Good question. Have you tried typing something directly to see if there's a difference? I would think Notepad would be fine to paste from (unlike Word), but maybe that's what's going on.


tk102 is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 04:07 PM   #18
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Doesn't appear to make a difference. Changes aren't saved regardless of copy/paste or keyed entry
Achilles is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 04:11 PM   #19
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Assassin's Creed 4
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Is the dialog.tlk file modification date/time changing?


tk102 is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 04:15 PM   #20
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Nope.
Achilles is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 04:34 PM   #21
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Assassin's Creed 4
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Then double-check where you're saving the dialog.tlk file. (It defaults to SWKOTOR directory, not the SWKOTOR2 directory.)


tk102 is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 04:55 PM   #22
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
I have been extremely careful about where I've been saving it to.
Achilles is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 05:10 PM   #23
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Assassin's Creed 4
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Try saving it with a different name then, like dialog2.tlk or something. It should save it for sure that way. Then later try renaming it back.


tk102 is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 05:20 PM   #24
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Yes it did work that time. When I went to rename dialog.tlk, I got a prompt asking me if I wanted to make changes to the read-only file. I wonder if something in KotORTLK is not overriding the file's read-only status?
Achilles is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 05:34 PM   #25
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Assassin's Creed 4
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Ah, that must be it. Hey thanks for going through all that with me. Now I know what I can do to improve KotORTLK.


tk102 is offline   you may:
Old 04-16-2005, 05:39 PM   #26
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Glad I could contribute. I was seriously starting to feel stupid for a while there
Achilles is offline   you may:
Old 07-08-2005, 11:40 PM   #27
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Assassin's Creed 4
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v2.1 - Added better support for extended ASCII character set (0x7F through 0xFF). This allows characters such as é and ń to be saved in the TLK file correctly (instead some weird 2-char sequence).

This is the same fix that was made to DLGEditor v2.1.7. The target audience for this fix are non-English modders.


tk102 is offline   you may:
Old 07-09-2005, 09:01 AM   #28
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Thanks tk!
Darth333 is offline   you may:
Old 07-21-2005, 05:55 PM   #29
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Assassin's Creed 4
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v2.2 released

v2.2 released

Added Add Entry and Delete Entry to the File menu.

Added a label that shows the number of entries in the current TLK file.


tk102 is offline   you may:
Old 07-21-2005, 11:45 PM   #30
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Cool, thanks Now we have a complete .tlk editor for Kotor!
Darth333 is offline   you may:
Old 07-22-2005, 07:57 AM   #31
Ayatus
Rookie
 
Ayatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 12
The menubar has disappeared.
Ayatus is offline   you may:
Old 07-22-2005, 10:46 AM   #32
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Assassin's Creed 4
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
I aplogize.


Version 2.2 re-uploaded.


tk102 is offline   you may:
Old 07-22-2005, 11:15 AM   #33
Ayatus
Rookie
 
Ayatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 12
This tool works perfectly, great thanks.
Ayatus is offline   you may:
Old 09-30-2005, 01:35 AM   #34
LiquidZoo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 195
Sorry to dig up an old thread, but the download link on starwarsknights seems to have disappeared? Did I miss something somewhere?
LiquidZoo is offline   you may:
Old 09-30-2005, 08:11 PM   #35
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidZoo
Sorry to dig up an old thread, but the download link on starwarsknights seems to have disappeared? Did I miss something somewhere?
http://www.starwarsknights.com/tools.php#de

Look closely, the "Download Here" link is right under the black description


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may:
Old 10-21-2005, 08:32 PM   #36
shamelessposer
Rookie
 
shamelessposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 173
No matter what I do with KOTORTlk, I get a BadStrRef.

Example:

I tried turning the blank entry 42504 into "Hoth". Instead of listing "Hoth" in the planet select screen like it should, I get "Bad ".

What am I doing wrong?


This one's SUPER LUCKY!

You can't change someone's mind, but you can change whether or not you see their posts. Learn to love your ignore list.
shamelessposer is offline   you may:
Old 10-25-2005, 11:21 AM   #37
Januszka
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
I wanted to know if there is any way to extract the tlk file iunto a txt file so i can edit the file with a text editor and later reinsert the txt into the tlk file. Is it possible?
Januszka is offline   you may:
Old 10-27-2005, 07:39 PM   #38
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Januszka
I wanted to know if there is any way to extract the tlk file iunto a txt file so i can edit the file with a text editor and later reinsert the txt into the tlk file. Is it possible?
I am not aware of such a feature in KotORTLK, but Kotor Tool has the ability to export a TLK file as XML, which you can open in any text editor. It does not yet import the files, however. If there is some actual demand for this, I can add it.


Kotor Tool Developer
http://kotortool.starwarsknights.com/

"You want to help everyone who asks for aid, answer all of their questions, write that crucial bit of code for which they're searching, and be the hero who saves the day (and their job), but there comes a point when you realize that sleep is sometimes necessary."
—Stephen Toub

Visit the Kotor Tool Forum
Fred Tetra is offline   you may:
Old 11-02-2005, 04:52 AM   #39
Januszka
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Well the thing was, I want to have all the entries of the tlk file in a txt file or similar so i can have several people working on them (we're working on a revising of the translation). And when its done be able to put them back again to the tlk file.
Januszka is offline   you may:
Post a new thread. Sorry, this thread is closed. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > KotORTLK - TLK file browse/search/edit utility (Current Version: 2.3)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.