lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Intreface,menu and setup
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-13-2005, 09:29 PM   #1
zippydsm
 
zippydsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 27
Intreface,menu and setup

I would start ranting over the engine but I will stop myself :P


I played KOTOR2 some I hate the inerface everythign is on the left << if thier goign to use the basic KOTOR interface menu make it where you can chose left or right.

I dont know why the computer menu interface on KOTOR2 looks so horried I hope 3 at least looks as good as 1.


KOTOR2 has plenty of extras I just hate the interface its reversed and bugs the heck out of me *L*

I guess the only thing left is the engine the game needs to be optimized and run flawless on the top 2 video card brands (ATI/ NINVIDA)
zippydsm is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2005, 04:28 AM   #2
zippydsm
 
zippydsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 27
Data pads need thier owen area I think the quest log could be upgraded to hold data pad info to.

Heck just for easy of finding Weapons(melee and ranged),Armor(includeing shields,guntlets,visors),grenades/mines, need to have thier owen to
zippydsm is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2005, 08:46 PM   #3
Commas
Junior Member
 
Commas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: If you're going to San Francisco, Be sure to wear some flowers in your hair...
Posts: 320
hmm. i actually thought TSL's interface and menus were a huge improvement from K1


Zaphod Beeblebrox is my hero
DOWNLOAD THE STUFF I MADE!
Commas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 04:17 AM   #4
starmark2k
Someone's Worse Nightmare
 
starmark2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DTC
Posts: 2,830
LFN Staff Member Roleplayer 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commas
hmm. i actually thought TSL's interface and menus were a huge improvement from K1
A agree the interface had everything you needed on them.
starmark2k is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 08:36 AM   #5
Prime
Super Dimension Fortress
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,319
Current Game: Skyrim
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commas
hmm. i actually thought TSL's interface and menus were a huge improvement from K1
Big time.

Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 05:39 PM   #6
IndianaSolo
Rookie
 
IndianaSolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tatooine
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commas
hmm. i actually thought TSL's interface and menus were a huge improvement from K1
Agreed.
IndianaSolo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 09:52 AM   #7
zippydsm
 
zippydsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 27
Neeed to play KOTOR 2 more then if I can get over the dizzying effeect the reversed equip menus and such 0-o
man my brain dose not like it 0-o
zippydsm is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 02:10 PM   #8
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zippydsm
Neeed to play KOTOR 2 more then if I can get over the dizzying effeect the reversed equip menus and such 0-o
man my brain dose not like it 0-o
Dude, sure it was confusing at first but after a while, you get used to it.

No game has the exact same interface, don't tell me you get confused all the time from playing different games with different interfaces.


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 12:35 PM   #9
Soogz
Forumite
 
Soogz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 506
Current Game: Fifa 09
I want to be able to custimize my character more, as much as I enjoyed the faces that they had, I want to custimize their clothing and such, stuff like that.


Soogz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 08:48 AM   #10
Prime
Super Dimension Fortress
 
Prime's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 12,319
Current Game: Skyrim
10 year veteran! LF Jester Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Sooges
I want to be able to custimize my character more, as much as I enjoyed the faces that they had, I want to custimize their clothing and such, stuff like that.
You kind of can, can't you? I mean, there are billions of options in KOTOR...

Prime is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2005, 05:14 AM   #11
DarkMe
Rookie
 
DarkMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In the Darkest place you can think of!
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime
You kind of can, can't you? I mean, there are billions of options in KOTOR...
Yah but he means that mabye you can customize your character just a little bit like in 'the sims2'
DarkMe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 02:23 PM   #12
Smilodon
Rookie
 
Smilodon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Europe
Posts: 239
I think the interface of KotOR 2 was alright, only the "Effects" on your character were too hidden imo. It all depends on how much new stuff KotOR III will include, if these will have to be accessed directly and in that way affect the interface, so it's kinda early to speculate.
Smilodon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 03:11 PM   #13
Commas
Junior Member
 
Commas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: If you're going to San Francisco, Be sure to wear some flowers in your hair...
Posts: 320
i think the only thing i missed from K1's interface was how on the character info screen on the light/dark bar it would have little icons for what stims and spells you had at the time, which was pretty helpful when casting multiple buff spells at once that all last different durations of time. if this was somewhere in K2 i never found it. Other than that tho, i liked K2's menu system best, especially being able to view your inventory, shops' inventories and the workbench in subcatagories like armor and weapons.


Zaphod Beeblebrox is my hero
DOWNLOAD THE STUFF I MADE!
Commas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 10:36 AM   #14
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commas
I think the only thing i missed from K1's interface was how, on the character info screen on the light/dark bar, it would have little icons for what stims and spells you had at the time. Which was pretty helpful when casting multiple buff spells at once that all last different durations of time.

If this was somewhere in K2 i never found it.
Journal Screen --> Messages Log Button --> Effects "tab" up in the heading.

This will take you to a screen with a complete readout (with text) of the Good and Bad effects applied to a character. MUCH better than the KotOR1 variant where you had to guess what those little icons meant, IMHO.

Just a shame it's buried so deep in the interface. They should have left the Messages screen as its own section like it was in KotOR1, rather than hide it away as a sub-section of the Journal.

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2005, 04:11 PM   #15
zippydsm
 
zippydsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 27
Ok the reverved interface on KOTOR2 drives me nuts its ok but sicne I have put a couple weeks into KOTOR my mind is rather set on one way I can use KOTOR 2s interface but it gives me a headache 0-o has to with the wireing in my haed damn learning disabilties *L*

But it would be nicer if was on the KOTOR 1 side *L*

City of heros has a intresting Charatcer (model tweaking) setup altho thier basic charatcer looks to buff << but oh well it would be intresting if for KOTOR3 you could create your 3d persona (face,eye,hair,colors,body preportions,ect,ect)the way you want and then make his clothing from a bunch of persets clothing and mabye reg force robes

I want to paly COV to bad they downgraded COH to the point where it is not as fun to paly......I least want to paly COV once grrr no Ccard anymore....I will get Dungeon Seige to if I have to annoying some retalier to death to get it :P I onyl have paypal boohoo
zippydsm is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 12:40 AM   #16
zippydsm
 
zippydsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 27
I am not saying that KOTOR 2 is worse just the revese is annoying to me and my lil mind *L*
zippydsm is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2005, 08:46 AM   #17
Aleggy
Junior Member
 
Aleggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England
Posts: 486
ok the inerface in k2 didnt bother me at all if i had any problems at all it was with upgrading my armour, for me it was very clear which upgrades could be used with which armour


So long and thanks for all the fish

I pity the fools who have not played kotor
Aleggy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 10:11 AM   #18
THE MANDALORE
Rookie
 
THE MANDALORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Punjab
Posts: 142
I want the "Return to Base" function reactivated...


"Mundiyan to Bach Ke"
- Best Punjabi Song of the Year
THE MANDALORE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2005, 10:44 AM   #19
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,427
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE MANDALORE
I want the "Return to Base" function reactivated...
That would be nice.


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2005, 11:46 PM   #20
IndianaSolo
Rookie
 
IndianaSolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tatooine
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE MANDALORE
I want the "Return to Base" function reactivated...
No thank you. IMO, that was such a cheap way to heal and recover in KOTOR1. The combat difficulty is poor enough without giving us even more ways to make things simple.
IndianaSolo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2005, 10:02 PM   #21
Vladimir-Vlada
Counselor Idealist
 
Vladimir-Vlada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Republic Serbia and Monenegro, Belgrade
Posts: 1,553
Here's an idea:

No more, start-up screen which shows the bad guys. That's just lame and stupid.
Vladimir-Vlada is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2005, 05:57 AM   #22
FiEND_138
..
 
FiEND_138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladimir-Vlada
Here's an idea:

No more, start-up screen which shows the bad guys. That's just lame and stupid.
I have to disagree. I think it's cool...
spoiler:
especially if you choose to go all DS on the galaxy..

Wondering the same thing as LIAYD.

FiEND_138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2005, 06:18 AM   #23
Aleggy
Junior Member
 
Aleggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladimir-Vlada
Here's an idea:

No more, start-up screen which shows the bad guys. That's just lame and stupid.
ok in kotor 1 you had malak on the start up screen wich was fine but what i like about kotor2 was that the sith lord changed depending on your progress in the game i do hope they do the same in kotor 3 and even have it so that once you've completed the game you can choose wich ingame character you have on the start up menu


So long and thanks for all the fish

I pity the fools who have not played kotor
Aleggy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2005, 11:02 PM   #24
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
Why exactly is it lame and stupid?


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2005, 10:42 PM   #25
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladimir-Vlada
Here's an idea:

No more, start-up screen which shows the bad guys. That's just lame and stupid.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeiamyourdad
Why exactly is it lame and stupid?
Begin analysis...

[Sigmund Freud]

I believe it has to do with his inherent dislike of the DS characters and the DS path, hence he doesn't want to see them in the game.

Vlad only wants to see these characters when he is about to whack them with a lightsaber and end their evil reign.

[/Sigmund Freud]

Just my 2 cents on why he said this, anyway!


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2005, 07:42 PM   #26
Aleggy
Junior Member
 
Aleggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHawke
Begin analysis...

[Sigmund Freud]

I believe it has to do with his inherent dislike of the DS characters and the DS path, hence he doesn't want to see them in the game.

Vlad only wants to see these characters when he is about to whack them with a lightsaber and end their evil reign.

[/Sigmund Freud]

Just my 2 cents on why he said this, anyway!
you may have a point but instead of the phraise wack with a lightsaber i would have said slice and dice with a lightsaber lol


So long and thanks for all the fish

I pity the fools who have not played kotor
Aleggy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-28-2005, 11:32 PM   #27
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleggy
you may have a point but instead of the phraise wack with a lightsaber i would have said slice and dice with a lightsaber lol
But Aleggy, ol' Siggy would have never used the term "slice and dice"...

"Whack" is a more subtle term from a more civilized era!



"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-29-2005, 07:17 AM   #28
Aleggy
Junior Member
 
Aleggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHawke
But Aleggy, ol' Siggy would have never used the term "slice and dice"...

"Whack" is a more subtle term from a more civilized era!

[Toad from Toad Hall]

and we'll wack em and wack em and wack em

[Toad from Toad Hall]

ok i concede you are the benevolent one red hawke i am just a lowly padawan who still has to learn his place and you can teach me so much o wise one


So long and thanks for all the fish

I pity the fools who have not played kotor
Aleggy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2005, 12:29 AM   #29
THE MANDALORE
Rookie
 
THE MANDALORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Punjab
Posts: 142
^^^^

True,

But walking all the way back to the Ebon Hawk is such a pain.


"Mundiyan to Bach Ke"
- Best Punjabi Song of the Year
THE MANDALORE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2005, 01:17 AM   #30
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,632
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE MANDALORE
^^^^

True,

But walking all the way back to the Ebon Hawk is such a pain.
but what about realism??


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-27-2005, 11:57 AM   #31
THE MANDALORE
Rookie
 
THE MANDALORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Punjab
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingerhs
but what about realism??

True.

Ok, the Return to Base is officially out.


"Mundiyan to Bach Ke"
- Best Punjabi Song of the Year
THE MANDALORE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Game Discussion > The Unknown Regions > Intreface,menu and setup

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.