lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: New Server Creator Tool
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-19-2005, 11:25 AM   #1
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Thumbs up New Server Creator Tool

I am finally publishing the program I've been posting about. You can use this program, along with a formatted text file, to easily create batch files which start game servers.

Download everything HERE. The program (.jar file), the readme, and the formatted text file for SWBF2 Beta are all in the Zip file. Read the ReadMe file. To run a *.jar file, you just double-click on it like a *.exe file.

How the program works is explained in its ReadMe file. If you have any questions/comments you can post them here, send me a PM, or email me at zerted@gmail.com. You can customize the program by editing the formatted text file. If you want the source code (in Java), send me an email.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2005, 07:09 PM   #2
Chris-h11
Rookie
 
Chris-h11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 96
I dont really understand how this Works? The only options it gives me is "Create a Batch File" and "Exit Program"?
Chris-h11 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2005, 07:29 PM   #3
yellowblood
Rookie
 
yellowblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yavin 4
Posts: 41
which file do I need to run?
http://www.cya.co.il/up02/05/10/20/battlefront.PNG

thanks, I can't wait to try the program


yellowblood is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-19-2005, 07:35 PM   #4
Chris-h11
Rookie
 
Chris-h11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 96
you must have used WinRar to Extract the .jar File? Because i noticed that, you aren't supposed to Open it with WinRar you are just supposed to Double click the Icon then a Browse should pop up, then browse for the SWBF2 Formatted Argument thingy or whatever then it will let you create, But there is LOADS of glitches because when you click the Checkmark you can't even type in the Textfield?

p.s. I figured it out NVM my post before
Chris-h11 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 12:53 AM   #5
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Unhappy

Hmm, sorry but this wasn't very helpful. All it did was take my batch file and erase everything in it.

I couldn't choose any options. I tried creating a new one, but it didn't have anything in it when done except the location of the exe file.

I thought this program was going to be like some other server launchers wherein it was an exe file, that when launched brought up a window with checkboxes. You put up all the options you wanted, saved the file from within the program and launched it, and that you could then load and launch various batch files from it.

Instead it looks more like you've just helped the people who don't know how to rename a txt file to .bat and a listing of the possible commands. Am I missing something? How is this more helpful than just reading the thread and piecing it together on your own? If I am I misunderstanding this, I apologize...

Basically all I can do is create the batch file, and then it's done. There's nothing more it lets me do!

Also it doesn't save the directories when locating files, so it takes awhile to locate the files each and every time, which is somewhat annoying if the point of the program is to save time creating these things!

Anyway, hope you take that constructively or show me where I'm wrong!


Also I think this portion is in error:

Quote:
-Capture the Flag maps

//uta1g_1flag
/~Utapau Rebel vs Empire Capture the Flag
/:Capture the Flag mode between the Rebels and the Empire on Utapau.
/\side1
\~Captured Flags
\:The amount of caputred flags needed for the Empire to win the round.
/\side2
\~Captured Flags
\:The amount of caputred flags needed for the Rebels to win the round.
(from the command line arguments.txt). First off "captured" is misspelled, but also the number after the command, ex:

uta1g_1flag 200 200
The numbers are the number of reinforcements, NOT the number of captures. I honeslty don't know how to change the number of captures. It's always just the first team to 5 caps wins.


Rather than describing the sides as "number of kills needed to win" it should just be "the number of respawns available to the team" or something of that nature. Having "200 tickets" really just means you have 200 "lives" for your team to use until you lose. Now of course there are other ways to lose tickets, such as having your control points captured (in conquest), which is why they say "our reinforcements are being drained/cut off/we're losing reinforcements" etc. Killing your self or your teammates contributes to losing the tickets as well.

In Conquest your team loses under two conditions:

1) You run out of tickets before the other team (ie: your army wiped out completely).

2) All the control points on the map are captured for a certain period of time (Victory in ... 10... 9... 8... etc).

In Assault however, (space map) the team who destroys all the enemy targets AND gets 180 kills wins, regardless of how many tickets are left (though of course if a team runs out of tickets first, they automatically lose). So you could have 1500 units each and still lose because your targets were all destroyed and you lost 180 units.

In CTF its based on captures, but again, theoretically if you lose all your troops, you lose. But with only 5 captures, chances are you'll lose based on that 99% of the time rather than on tickets (unless the server set it really low for some reason, but 200 should "never" run out first).


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 06:02 AM   #6
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Well, first off, sorry if you guys don't like it. The program is for not having to remember or type in all the commands. I do not know how to get stats from an open server or send commands to that server. If someone knows a place on the net that has that information, please send me the link. The real strength of the program I think, is its inputed text file. Anyone can change it to add their commonly used commands or remove ones he or she never uses. To create batch files to run server for other games, all you need to do is create a different input text file. An updated text file is HERE or just download the zip again.

Clicking the checkmark locks its text fields. If you want to edit the text field again, uncheck the check mark. What other glitches did you come across?

For Kurgan: I'm not sure why you couldn't choose any options. Was there no options being displayed or was it when you clicked on a check box, nothing happened? As for saving the locations of your files, yes I was going to add that. My amount of school work suddenly jumped up and I didn't have much time to work on the program. I wanted to get it out before SWBF2. When SWBF2 comes out, everyone will just use: http://www.blackbagops.com/swbf2/index.shtml . At least you can pass in the text file so you don't need to select it every time.

For yellowblood: you need to run the .jar file not extract/open it with WinRAR. If you have any type of Java Virtural Machine (JVM) installed, you should be able to double-click on it and the program will run. If WinRAR opens it when you double-click, try right clicking on it and selecting 'Open With...' then pick something that looks like Java.exe, JVM, or Java Standard Binary.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 06:12 AM   #7
yellowblood
Rookie
 
yellowblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yavin 4
Posts: 41
Thanks, I'll try


yellowblood is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 10:53 AM   #8
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
No offense was intended. I just wondered what would make a person want to use this program to create batch files vs. just renaming a text file? That's all.

One could just download a text file with a full list of commands and edit that, couldn't they? I agree, everyone will just use the other program when the game comes out, but I'm just wondering what the advantage of this program is over the manual method. I mean that's the point isn't it? I'm busy with school myself, so I understand the lack of time to work on it.

PS: No options were being displayed. I could create a batch file and close the program. No other options. I created the text file and that was it, done, nothing more I was allowed to do.
I understand that programming has its limitations, just offering my feedback, which I assume you wanted since you posted. Just trying to help!


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 06:46 PM   #9
Chris-h11
Rookie
 
Chris-h11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 96
You have to Open the .jar file and it should pop up a window, that is where you have to open the .txt file about the Command Arugments then it should give you options...
Chris-h11 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 11:47 PM   #10
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Do you open an existing bat file or create a new blank text file?

Because I tried that I thought, and all it did was let me "create" the file, and then that was it. No options anywhere. I ended up with a text file that just executes the exe, that's it.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-20-2005, 11:56 PM   #11
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Are you supposed to create a text file with all the commands in it, then use the JAR file to open it, which turns the text file into a batch file? Because that's all it appears to do for me.

It doesn't display any option check boxes or anything of that nature. I just get "create batch file" and "exit program."


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2005, 04:31 AM   #12
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
When you run the program, it should pop-up an open file prompt. Select the file: SWBF2 Beta Formatted Command Arguments.txt. It is included in the zip file. The program should open up with all the options which are formatted in the text file.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2005, 02:58 AM   #13
Chris-h11
Rookie
 
Chris-h11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 96
There is a Mistake with your .txt file it should be:
Quote:
;
;how to edit these files:
;
; ';' = comments out the line
; '-' = a new tab, all the commands under this will be in this tab in the GUI
; '//' = a command line argument (a chech box in GUI)
; '/\' = a parameter for the above command
; '\~' = the prompt for the command
; '/~' = the prompt for the parameter
; '/:' = a tool tip explaning the above command
; '\:' = a tool tip explaning the above parameter
;
; every command is to be on its own line
; every line with a command has to be at least 3 characters long
; every command must be the first two characters on a new line
;
; Linear format:
; o) new tab
; 1) new command
; 2) command prompt
; 3) the above command's tool tip
; 3) a new parameter for above command
; 4) the above parameter's prompt
; 5) the above parameter's tool tip
; 6) any more parameters, following the format: 3 then 4 then 5
;
;
; Version 1.1
; October, 20th 2005
; by [RDH]Zerted, zerted@gmail.com

-Game Startup

///nointro
/~No Intro Movies
/:Turns off the intro movies when the game is first started.


///nomovies
/~No background menu animation
/:Turns off the background animations in the menus.



-Sound Settings

///nosound
/~No sound
/:Turns off the sound for the server machine.

///nomusic
/~No Music
/:Turns off the music for the server machine.


-Video Settings

///win
/~Windowed mode
/:Runs the game in a windowed mode.


///norender
/~No graphics
/:Prevents the display of the game's graphics.


///resolution
/~Server window's size (width, height)
/:Sets the game's window size.
/\width
\~Screen Width
\:Screen width in pixels
/\height
\~Screen height
\:Screen height in pixels



-Hero Settings

///heroes 1
/~Heros On
/:Turns Heros on


///hrunlock
/~Hero Unlock Mode
/:1 = kills, 2 = points, 3 = ???
/\hero unlock
\~Enter the unlock mode
\:1 = kills, 2 = points, 3 = ???


///hrunlockvalue
/~Hero unlock value
/:The hero unlock value.
/\hero unlock value
\~Enter the value
\:Sets the threshold of the unlock. (ex. 15 = first team with a member to reach 15 points)


///hrplayer
/~Hero Award Mode
/:Sets the mode in which determines who get the hero.
/\hero award mode
\~Award Mode
\:1 = top player gets the hero, 7 = worst player gets the hero.


///hrteam
/~Hero Team Mode
/:Sets which teams get heros.
/\hero team mode
\~Hero Team Mode
\:Sets which team gets heros (ex 3 = both teams have heros on the field at the same time, but not always)


///hrrespawn 2
/~Hero Respawn
/:Not sure what this does, but should be selected.


///hrrespawnvalue
/~Hero Respawn Value
/:Time for respawning as a hero.
/\hero respawn value
\~Respawn Seconds
\:Time in seconds between hero respawning.



-Network Settings

///lan
/~LAN Game
/:Turns your game into a LAN game. Only people on your LAN will be able to join the game.


///autonet dedicated
/~Dedicated Server
/:Makes the game run as a dedicated server.


///autonet listen
/~Non-Dedicated Server
/:Lets you play on the server. Your name will be "AUTONET".


///bootlagger
/~Boot Laggers
/:Boot any player who's ping gets above the limit.
/\boot laggers
\~Ping Limit
/:The ping limit. Any player with a ping higher than the limit will get booted.


///throttle
/~Bandwidth
/:Sets the amount of bandwidth the server uses.
/\throttle
\~Bandwidth Amount
\:Sets the maximum bandwidth per client (in KB) for the server. The higher the bandwidth, the more human players can join.


///tps
/~Ticks
/:Server tick rate. This determines the maximum FPS for clients.
/\ticks
\~Tick Rate
\:An integer which will be the tick rate for the server.


///netregion
/~Network region
/:Sets the region for the server.
/\net reigon
\~Server Reigon
\:The reigon your server is in. (ex. USA).



-Game Settings

///gamename
/~Game Name
/:Sets the server's name.
/\server name
\~Enter the server's name
\:Sets the server's name.


///pregametime
/~Warm-up Time
/:The time after a map loads and before the round starts.
/\pregame


///spawn
/~Spawn Invincibility
/:Set the amount of time a unit is invincible after respawning.
/\spawn invincibility
\~Time in seconds
\:Invincibility time after unit respawning.


///playerlimit
/~Player Limit
/:Limits the maximum about of human plays that can join the server.
/\player limit number
\~Maximum human players
\:Sets the maximum amount of human players allowed to play on the server.


///playercount
/~Player Count
/:Sets the amount of human players needed for the round to begin.
/\playercount number
\~Human players required for round start
\:Sets the minimum numbers of human players need to connect before the round will start.


///noteamdamage
/~Team damage off
/:Turns off friendly fire. You cannot hurt teammates.


///sideselect
/:Select Team
/~Lets players choose/switch sides during a battle.


///autoassign
/:Auto-assign team
/~The server will automatically set a player's team/side.

///noaim
/~Auto-Aim off
/:Turns off auto-aimming


///voicemode 2
/~Voice Mode 2
/:Not sure waht this does. Maybe voice chat?



-Bot Settings

///bots
/~Minimum Bots
/:Sets the minimum number of bots in the game.
/\min bots
\:Amount of Bots
\~The minimum number of bots in the game.


///difficulty
/~AI Difficulity
/:Sets how hard the AI is.
/\ai skill level
\~AI Skill
\:1 = easy, 2 = normal, 3 = elite



-Map Settings

///randomize
/~Random Map Rotation
/:Makes the server load the maps in a random order.


-Conquest Maps

//uta1g_con
/~Utapau Rebel vs Empire Conquest
/:Conquest mode between the Rebels and the Empire on Utapau.
/\side1
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Rebels.
/\side2
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Empire.


//uta1c_con
/~Utapau CIS vs Republic Conquest
/:Conquest mode between the CIS and the Republic on Utapau.
/\side1
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the CIS.
/\side2
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Republic.


//tan1g_con
/~Tantive IV Rebel vs Empire Conquest
/:Conquest mode between the Rebels and the Empire on Tantive IV.
/\side1
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Rebels.
/\side2
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Empire.


//tan1c_con
/~Tantive IV CIS vs Republic Conquest
/:Conquest mode between the CIS and the Republic on Tantive IV.
/\side1
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the CIS.
/\side2
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Republic.


-Capture the Flag maps

//uta1g_1flag
/~Utapau Rebel vs Empire Capture the Flag
/:Capture the Flag mode between the Rebels and the Empire on Utapau.
/\side1
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Rebels.
/\side2
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Empire.


//uta1c_1flag
/~Utapau CIS vs Republic Capture the Flag
/:Capture the Flag mode between the CIS and the Republic on Utapau.
/\side1
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the CIS.
/\side2
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Republic.


//tan1g_1flag
/~Utapau Rebel vs Empire Capture the Flag
/:Capture the Flag mode between the Rebels and the Empire on Utapau.
/\side1
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Rebels.
/\side2
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Empire.


//tan1c_1flag
/~Tantive IV CIS vs Republic Capture the Flag
/:Capture The Flag mode between the CIS and the Republic on Tantive IV.
/\side1
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the CIS.
/\side2
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Republic.


-Space Maps

//spa1g_ass
/~Space Yavin Rebels vs Empire Assualt
/:Assualt mode between the Rebels and the Empire on Space Yavin.
/\side1
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Rebels.
/\side2
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Empire.


//spa1g_1flag
/~Space Yavin Rebels vs Empire Capture The Flag
/:Capture The Flag mode between the Rebels and the Empire on Space Yavin.
/\side1
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Rebels.
/\side2
\~Reinforcments
\:The amount of reinforcements for the Empire.
Chris-h11 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2005, 05:04 PM   #14
Chris-h11
Rookie
 
Chris-h11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 96
You also left out the option for a Admin Password and a Game Password.

P.S. The Script would be nice for a Site, I can Have 2 (My Original that is under Constructions, and yours)
Chris-h11 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2005, 05:20 AM   #15
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Yea I noticed that the admin password isn't there. I'm not sure I know waht you mean in your P.S. section Chris-h11



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2005, 12:24 PM   #16
Chris-h11
Rookie
 
Chris-h11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 96
Let me Make This Simplier,
Problems:
- "/pregame" is Actually supposed to be "/pregametime"
- No Admin Password Option
- No Game Password Option
As for my P.S.:
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerted at "How To Create a Server (Without Reading that Long Thread)"
Do you want my program converted into a Java applet for your web page? It would lose the first prompt about selecting the formatted text file and depending how you build the web site, it would lose the second prompt of selecting the location of the game's .exe file.
Chris-h11 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2005, 10:22 AM   #17
FoxTrotDude
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
i maybe stupid but with what am i supposed to open the .jar file with??? not with winrar
FoxTrotDude is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2005, 01:00 PM   #18
Chris-h11
Rookie
 
Chris-h11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 96
If you have Java Installed it should (When you Double Click it) Open with java and Prompt for the Formatted Command Line Arguments.txt File


Chris-h11 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2005, 01:06 PM   #19
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Most people have some verson of Java installed on their computers (a lot of web sites use it). Use Java to run the .jar file. The executible is located somewhere. Here is an example: C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\javaw.exe

Right-click on the jar file. Select 'Open With...' Go to the above directory (might be a little different on each machine) and select javaw.exe. If you can't find it, you can try searching for javaw.exe.

Also, you are not stupid.

NOTE: I just updated the text file to include some missing commands (the ones two posts up).


Thanks (to the post below)



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info

Last edited by zerted; 10-30-2005 at 01:43 PM.
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2005, 01:10 PM   #20
Chris-h11
Rookie
 
Chris-h11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerted
NOTE: I just updated the text file to include some missing commands (the ones two posts up).
Ok, I'll Tell you if Anything else is wrong


Chris-h11 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront II > Server Administration > New Server Creator Tool

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.