lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Performance Problems with rather fast machine :(
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-20-2006, 12:35 PM   #1
Breiti
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 29
Performance Problems with rather fast machine :(

Hi, please excuse my bad english

I just played throught the demo a second time. and noticed that by zooming out as fast as I can all GUI elements disappear.

I just wanted to say that this is absolutely fabulous Great idea !!! I now get a much better view on whats going on on the battlefield.

But what´s going on with the performance ?

From time to time it was unplayable on my machine. And when I say unplayable I really means unplayable.

Here are my system specs :

Athlon XP 3500+
2 Gig of Ram
Gforce 7800 GT

I thought I´d be prepared for every game in the next 2 years and now ...

I´ve checked everything on my system : No other processes slowed it down. It was just the demo. Are you optimizing the speed for the final release ?


Greetz

MB
Breiti is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2006, 01:30 PM   #2
PygmyShrew
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
Hate having to say this, but have you got the latest drivers from Nvidia?
PygmyShrew is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2006, 01:35 PM   #3
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
It could also be that the demo isn't a good friend of your video card

Seriously now, have you tried changing the video settings? Removing certain things like AA or AT see if something is changed.


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2006, 03:14 PM   #4
mrzeld
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
disable soft shadows too if they are enabled.
mrzeld is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2006, 04:01 PM   #5
darthfergie
Q-38 Modulator
 
darthfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,254
LFN Staff Member 
that kind of video card is a friend to every game.

I dunno what the deal is, because the demo works fine on my similarly configured PC, in fact it runs smoother than games like KOTORII (mainly because KOTORII has ATI issues, but oh well).
...check and see if the resolution/refresh rate the demo is putting out is the native resolution on your monitor, 7800 being so new should ship with the latest drivers, so I think you should be fine there. Other than that, what about other games? Do they run well on your compie?


darthfergie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2006, 04:30 PM   #6
PygmyShrew
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
There shouldnt be any problems with 6800,7800 its a safe bet to say they probably developed and testing the game on these cards.
PygmyShrew is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2006, 05:25 PM   #7
Sithxace
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 226
space is perfect, omg wityh my top of the line computer, the ground battle deff got laggy rather quickly.


Sithxace--
http://www.nelproductions.com
Your source to the funniest/craziest videos
EAW.net Moderator
Sithxace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2006, 05:41 PM   #8
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
Of course. The ground battles are much more detailed then the space ones, considering the quality of the various weather effects and details put into the setting. The sand looks nice, the wind, the sand whirlwind, etc.


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Tech Centre > Empire At War: Demo feedback > Performance Problems with rather fast machine :(

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:33 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.