lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Accessing the OJP Source (Pre-SVN Posts)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-16-2003, 07:37 AM   #1
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Ok everything should be cleaned up now.

Everything has been placed in the appropiate folders, except for the Basic/Enhanced source files. For them, they are both stored in the /Basic folder with all the files branched in two branches.

MAIN (HEAD) is the primary branch of the project (the trunk). This stores all the files for the Enhanced version of the project.

OJP_BASIC is the secondary branch for storing all the Basic distro's files.

I've set things up this way so it will be as easy as possible to merge code additions tfrom Basic into Enhanced.

Be sure to keep your branches straight when doing changes since a screw up can create a lot of extra work as you can see from some of the revision logs.

In addition, I've put tags (PRE_REORGANIZATION_2 and POST_REORGANIZATION_2) to make it easier to find the file versions from before and after the lastest reorganization. However, all I did was delete everything from the Enhanced folders and made sure all that stuff was in the new branched structure.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2003, 08:46 AM   #2
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
There's now a new branch specifically for the saber system I'm working on. This is so people can play with/test the system before we put it in the game proper.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2003, 09:46 AM   #3
Teancum
 
Teancum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 187
I signed up and tried to join the project, but I kept getting errors that would not let me join. Has the account/pass changed?
Teancum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2003, 10:11 AM   #4
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Try "openjedisource" instead of "opensourcejedi" for the password. I can never remember what it is suppose to be.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-25-2003, 06:54 AM   #5
Teancum
 
Teancum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 187
It was 'openjedisource'. Question, though: How do I actually get the source? I went to get the MP icon, and it just took me to some directory. I couldn't find where to d/l it.
Teancum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-25-2003, 12:34 PM   #6
Darth Sun
 
Darth Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 73
I stumbled upon this same problem as well.

Also, when downloading the source code, it refused my username (even though I joined the OJP repository) so I was "forced" to download the source code using the ojp/ojp read-only account you created.


Darth Sun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-25-2003, 08:06 PM   #7
Teancum
 
Teancum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally posted by Darth Sun
Also, when downloading the source code, it refused my username (even though I joined the OJP repository) so I was "forced" to download the source code using the ojp/ojp read-only account you created.
Me too
Teancum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-25-2003, 09:50 PM   #8
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Please describe what you did and what sort of error you're getting.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-25-2003, 11:20 PM   #9
Darth Sun
 
Darth Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 73
When I try to download the code in the download page it asks for the login (which is normal), yet once the login is entered it refuses and refuses till it goes to a 401 error page saying I have no access to the content I'm trying to download.

If I use the ojp/ojp login it allows me to download the code though.


Darth Sun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2003, 03:48 AM   #10
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
hmmm, ok. Please email the freepository.com support email. It's probably something they did.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2003, 09:28 AM   #11
Teancum
 
Teancum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 187
I have the source now, but why do all of the files have a ",v" after the extension? I tried merely removing the ,v but then Windows says it's an invalid file.
Teancum is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2003, 09:36 AM   #12
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
I'm guessing you downloaded the source tarballs instead of the actual files. I'm not sure how you're suppose to get the files from that....


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2003, 09:46 AM   #13
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
The raw CVS is like a mobile repository. Use that. set it up as a new module. With out Razor setting up write access though all you can do is donwload it. You can't upload. I need to get ahold of some people on my side to give me a few permissions. They've been blocking ports like crazy. Pretty soon They'll get to the ports JKA uses.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2003, 09:54 AM   #14
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Yeah, I just checked things and it looks like the "pure" source option of the download tarballs is busted. It only seems to get the stuff from the main directory only. I'm trying the raw type right now.

Either way, I recommend that everyone just get direct access, it's WAY easier to deal with once everything is setup.

Kenshire, please get on your IM and msg me if you can. I think I've figured out where the saber is being told to face the owner all the time while you're trying to stick it.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2003, 12:07 AM   #15
NickR
 
NickR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 141
Razor knows I've had problems with direct CVS access using TortoiseCVS. And according to the owner of freepository, it's probably because he recently disabled direct access to new account members. I might be wrong about the exact nature of this, but that's what I believe to be the problem. It could also just be a port problem though.


I get dumped on alot. It's one of the hazards of being me!
NickR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2003, 05:14 AM   #16
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
NickR, They're talking about something. But the information is appreciated.

According to the admin, there's a problem with the tarball system at the moment. He's working on a fix.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder

Last edited by Kurgan; 07-28-2005 at 10:28 PM.
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2003, 06:16 PM   #17
NickR
 
NickR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 141
Sorry, didn't really read through all the posts. I now realise you guys are talking about joining the project via the website. I joined and I had no problems, except for getting remote access with TortoiseCVS so I can download and upload files without having to use the freepository web interface.


I get dumped on alot. It's one of the hazards of being me!
NickR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-28-2003, 01:30 PM   #18
toolman639
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Baton Rouge La
Posts: 11
Hey when will the fix for the vehicle limit be out and what will the limit be.
toolman639 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-28-2003, 07:46 PM   #19
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Quote:
Originally posted by toolman639
Hey when will the fix for the vehicle limit be out and what will the limit be.
Wrong thread. The correct thread for this is here.

I'm not sure when we will have our next public release but I know the vehicle limit will be 64 different types of models (with 128 vehicles allowed ingame at once).


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 09:54 AM   #20
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Good news.

I've figured out a much easier way to get things set up for a direct access so it shouldn't take too long if anyone is interested.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2004, 09:12 AM   #21
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Some reminders for those that are actively committing changes to the repository:

- Always document your changes. Internal changes can be explained with the CVS comment but the external stuff needs to be documented at all times. If people don't know about the change, it's useless to everyone.

- If you're adding or changing something to both Enhanced and Basic (basically everything in Basic), add your modifications, commit to the Basic branch (OJP_BASIC), and then merge to the Enhanced (HEAD) branch. See below for new files note.

- For new files, please clear them with me first. After that, add a basejka version of the file to the HEAD branch (if a basejka version exists). Lastly, add/commit the modified version to each branch where it is needed. These steps ensure an easier to understand/use revision history so please try to follow them.

Thanks,
Razor Ace


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2004, 04:42 AM   #22
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
The SaberSys branch has been merged into the Enhanced branch so the SaberSys branch is no longer in use.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-28-2004, 06:31 AM   #23
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
1. The password at the beginning of the thread was bad. It has now been fixed. Sorry about that.

2. We're probably going to create a temp branch for the AotC folks to get their code merged and ready before we merge to main. I'll keep everyone posted.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-19-2004, 10:48 PM   #24
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Ok, the AotC TC branch isn't going to happen but I finally came up with tutorial on how to direct access the CVS repository.

================================================== ========
Tutorial - Getting Direct Access to the OJP CVS Repository
================================================== ========
Note: This tutorial is only for Windows OSes.

1. Go to https://www.freepository.com/ and sign up for an account. Do NOT use spaces in your username.

2. go to http://www.tortoisecvs.org/ and download the tortoiseCVS program. You can use a stable or beta

version, whatever works best for you.

3. Install tortoiseCVS. You might have to reset your computer to get all the Windows Explorer extensions

to work.

4. Log onto freepository with your new account.

5. Click on "join a freepository".

6. Sign up for the OJP repository
freepository name = OpenJediProject
freepository pass-code = openjedisource

7. Using the pulldown tab on the left, select OpenJediProject

8. Click on Secure ID entries. This will send you an email.

9. Check your email for that email. The email will have something like
:sserver:razorace@freepository.com:3025/mnt/usbhd/fp/fp1/222yx9P6fFHQYOpenJediProject
This is your CVSROOT. You'll need this later.
Note: if you don't get the email, you can still get your CVSROOT by clicking on the Secure ID

entries button again.

10. Here comes the fun part. You need now need to log your tortoiseCVS into the repository so that the

program will know what your password is. Download this file...
http://ojp.jediknight.net/files/CVS1.zip

11. Unzip CVS1.zip to where ever you installed tortoiseCVS.

12. Open up login.bat with a text editor.

13. You now need to modify your CVSROOT by adding a ";version=1" next to the ":sserver"
This...
:sserver:razorace@freepository.com:3025/mnt/usbhd/fp/fp1/222yx9P6fFHQYOpenJediProject
would become this...
:sserver;version=1:razorace@freepository.com:3664/mnt/usbhd/fp/fp1/222yx9P6fFHQYOpenJediProject

But remember that you need to use your own original CVSROOT, not the one used here.

14. Replace the example CVSROOT with your CVSROOT in the login.bat.
set

CVSROOT=:sserver;version=1:razorace@freepository.c om:3664/mnt/usbhd/fp/fp1/222yx9P6fFHQYOpenJediProject
will be
set CVSROOT=<yourCVSROOTHERE>

15. Save the file and then run it. I recommend that you run it from the command prompt so that you'll see

everything that goes on.

16. The program will prompt you for your password (use your freepository account password, not the one used

for the repository as a whole). If it worked, your .cvspass file in your tortiose directory will have some

stuff in it (use a text editor). Otherwise, you have a problem. You can't use backspace or delete while

typing in your password or it will not work. Be careful.

At this point the program should spend a long time downloading the repository to your system.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder

Last edited by razorace; 09-07-2004 at 07:32 PM.
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2004, 07:20 PM   #25
Brad Oliver
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 15
I just built a Mac SDK for Jedi Academy. In the grand scheme of things, that was childs play compared to trying to download the OJP source.

Here's what I've done so far. Maybe someone can help get me the rest of the way.

1. I registered at freepository.com, signed on, saw stuff.

2. I downloaded and compiled the cvs 1.11 with sserver support that is required by freepository.

3. I renamed my cvs to cvs111 to avoid a conflict with the pre-existing cvs (1.10) provided by OSX and installed it into ~/bin/

4. I grabbed the cert.pem file from freepository.com, renamed it to .cvsSSLkeys and put it in my home directory.

5. I logged in with "cvs111 -L login" and was able to get the status of the repository. That is, it told me no modules had been checked out.

6. I then tried "cvs111 -L checkout OJP" and was greeted with a "connection refused" message.

7. I tried to login again, and got a "connection refused"

8. Now I can no longer telnet to freepository.com or ping it, as mentioned in the freepository.com troubleshooting notes.

So after all this, I suspect the server went down right when I was getting ready to get down to business, but that seems like really strange timing.

Can anyone else currently log in?I can't grab the "full source" tarballs from freepository.com - they returned essentially empty .tar files with some readmes and some guy's resume. I also can't use the GUI CVS client for OSX, since the cvs required by freepository is a special build.

Is there an easier way to grab the source that I'm missing?
Brad Oliver is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2004, 08:00 PM   #26
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Yeah, I know what you mean. The setup is terrible but it's the only place that has a hosting deal that allows for our type of project.

Anyway, the server seems to be up for me. This seems to happen a lot with new accounts. Personally, I think he's overly paranoid. Using weird security proticals only makes it hard for us to access the repository.

I beleive there's a way to grap the raw data and then create a local mirror of the repository but I've never tried it. Keshire is the one to ask about that.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2004, 06:17 AM   #27
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Ya you can grab the actual module and set up a local "sand box" type deal with it.

No fuss no muss. But as far as uploading your changes you'd have to lobby Razor to give you the web access to freeRepository.

first Download the raw CVS format (this includes all the ,v files).

then make a new module.

:local:C:\Location_Of_Raw_CVS\

what it should do is make a new module but import it from it from the raw cvs making it act like it was from the actual freeRepository server. From there you can checkout the module from this local version.

And here is the output.

C:\cvs.exe -q import -m OJP tcvs-vendor tcvs-release CVSROOT=:local:C:\OJPSDK

No conflicts created by this import

Success, CVS operation completed

C:\cvs.exe -q checkout -d jkasdk OJP
CVSROOT=:local:C:\OJPSDK


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2004, 02:23 AM   #28
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Oh yeah, Brad, it sounds like it's probably something on freepository's end, I suggest you email the support email address for freepository (support@freepository.com, I think) about it. This seems to be a common issue with new accounts.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2004, 03:31 AM   #29
GangsterAngel
Rookie
 
GangsterAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 139
This is ****in me off , i have the ,v files how do i use them ,, and where is TortoiseCVS
GangsterAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2004, 03:46 AM   #30
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
TortoiseCVS

install it. Reboot.

unzip the OJP and cvsroot to where ever you want the source files.

right click| CVS| make new module

set protocol to locally mounted folder

set repository folder to directory where the CVSROOT is

click fetch list

set module to OJP

click OK

it will set up a sand box that works exactly like the server version.

read the tortoise instructions on how to do anythign else. You also need to know how to compile code as that is what it is.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2004, 04:30 AM   #31
GangsterAngel
Rookie
 
GangsterAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 139
http://www.arc.ufgclans.net/untitled.JPG

Last edited by GangsterAngel; 06-07-2004 at 04:43 AM.
GangsterAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2004, 04:40 AM   #32
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
go back a directory and try again.

I'll post a screen shot here in a little bit.

*edit*
http://mediaservice.photoisland.com/...3225699549.jpg
*edit*


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.

Last edited by keshire; 06-07-2004 at 04:51 AM.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2004, 04:55 AM   #33
GangsterAngel
Rookie
 
GangsterAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 139
that image is 2 blury , u in 800 & 600 or somthin ?
GangsterAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2004, 04:58 AM   #34
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
when you do the fetch list it pulls all the module names from the cvsroot folder.

OJPS is not one of them. Your trying to do this inside the OJP folder it looks like.

use the openjediproject-raw-cvs folder as the local directory. DO THE FETCH LIST! "SELECT" OJP! hit ok.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2004, 05:24 AM   #35
GangsterAngel
Rookie
 
GangsterAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 139
1

i have stuff like
\jka-universalSource\OpenJediProject-raw-cvs\Basic\source\cgame
but no .dsw ?
GangsterAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2004, 05:30 AM   #36
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
First, you hit new post instead of reply. You can tell when it tells you it can't post without a subject.

Second, that would be because its .NET project files. Use Google to search for prjconverter.exe. After that direct all your questions to the coding forum.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2004, 05:38 AM   #37
GangsterAngel
Rookie
 
GangsterAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 139
Unhappy d

Some files are still ,v files ??!?

jka-universalSource\OpenJediProject-raw-cvs\OpenJediProject-raw-cvs\OJP\Basic\source\game
GangsterAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2004, 05:41 AM   #38
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
ignore them or delete them. You have everything you need to modify or compile the source.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2004, 05:43 AM   #39
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Read the tortoise tuitorials on how to access different branches. Any questions that should be directed to the tortoise people .


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2004, 10:21 PM   #40
jbminn
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally posted by razorace
Yeah, I know what you mean. The setup is terrible but it's the only place that has a hosting deal that allows for our type of project.

Anyway, the server seems to be up for me. This seems to happen a lot with new accounts. Personally, I think he's overly paranoid. Using weird security proticals only makes it hard for us to access the repository.

I beleive there's a way to grap the raw data and then create a local mirror of the repository but I've never tried it. Keshire is the one to ask about that.
Terrible? Paranoid?

That's a bit harsh, razor ace. I consider myself very security-conscious, and am proud of the contribution freepository made or continues to make to thousands of projects across the globe since it went live in 1999.

Script kiddies try to crack freepository over a 1000 times per day. The security measures in place on the site protect your code from them.

Sserver is actually quite mainstream these days. The sserver connect method is now included by default in CVSNT, which is the binary used by TortoiseCVS. That's why you can now use TortoiseCVS to connect directly to your freepository.

When I began designing the secure remote command line interface to freepository, I wanted to use ssh. But that simply _couldn't_ work in the silo'ed fashion necessitated by the many thousands of repositories on the freepository server. Fortunately, Corey Minyard had recently released his sserver reference implementation. This was exactly what freepository needed: a secure pserver-like protocol.

I began using sserver when almost no one had heard of it. Today, sserver (natively or via plugin) is available in virtually every mainstream cvs cleint.
jbminn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Open Jedi Project (OJP) > Accessing the OJP Source (Pre-SVN Posts)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.