lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: BlueScreen of Death Vista Startup
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-25-2009, 06:25 PM   #1
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
BlueScreen of Death Vista Startup

I keep getting the BlueScreen on my laptop Randomly, and after that random event I keep getting it, then eventually after many restarts I get in to my computer again. It has just happened again(it started yesterday) and Im in safe mode, pretty pissed.

Here is MS problem report:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 1000008e
BCP1: C0000005
BCP2: 8F0A75AB
BCP3: B60DD060
BCP4: 00000000
OS Version: 6_0_6000
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini110306-04.dmp
C:\Users\Connor\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-59514-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\Connor\AppData\Local\Temp\WER61ED.tmp.ver sion.txt

Read our privacy statement:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?link...3&clcid=0x0409


I really hope you guys know how to fix this.If all else fails Ill go and pay GeekSquad at bestbuy for some help.

Thanks!


Last edited by HK-42; 03-26-2009 at 08:53 AM.
HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 07:11 PM   #2
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
^I can't help b/c I'm not good w/ this kind of stuff...but don't pay (and you will PAY) those half-wits to fix your computer



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 08:59 PM   #3
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,697
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
well, if you have another computer handy, I'd download memtest86+ and check your RAM. you might also want to run check disk to see if there are any errors on the hard drive.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 10:08 PM   #4
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by acdcfanbill View Post
well, if you have another computer handy, I'd download memtest86+ and check your RAM. you might also want to run check disk to see if there are any errors on the hard drive.
I got a error when I tried Memtest, and nothing happened when I hit start for the check.

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2009, 12:08 AM   #5
RoxStar
Moderator
 
RoxStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,411
Current Game: Everything Zelda
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by HK-42 View Post
I got a error when I tried Memtest, and nothing happened when I hit start for the check.


Sounds like it could be your ram. How many sticks do you have in your machine? I would try isolating it and trying to boot it up with just one in to see if your ram needs replacing.

RoxStar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2009, 01:02 PM   #6
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoxStar View Post
Sounds like it could be your ram. How many sticks do you have in your machine? I would try isolating it and trying to boot it up with just one in to see if your ram needs replacing.
Sticks?

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2009, 12:51 AM   #7
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Is your pc a store bought one? Is it still under warranty?

Im personally a bit cautious of telling someone who doesnt know what a stick of RAM is to open up their rig and fiddle around.

@HK-42
Please note, that any advice you receive on this site(or any online tech site) is advice only. Acting on it is entirely at your discretion, and your responsibility for any consequences good or bad.

Astro


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2009, 01:11 AM   #8
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrotoy7 View Post
Is your pc a store bought one? Is it still under warranty?

Im personally a bit cautious of telling someone who doesnt know what a stick of RAM is to open up their rig and fiddle around.

@HK-42
Please note, that any advice you receive on this site(or any online tech site) is advice only. Acting on it is entirely at your discretion, and your responsibility for any consequences good or bad.

Astro
Well I know what RAM is but I never called it sticks, and I dont know how to isolate one, or check how much I currently have. And I know the risks.

I ordered it off Dell's Site, and Im not sure if the warrenty is up, but Im pretty sure it is, but I think it would be easier to ask here then to deal with Dell(there customer support isnt exactly the best). Anyway, I tried a system restore, which worked for several shutdowns and boots, but eventually I got it again.

By the way, my laptop is a Dell Inspiron 1525

EDIT: Memory(RAM): 3062 MB

Also I noticed my Physical Memory on Task Manager is quite low?
Total: 3061
Cached: 2010(give or take 2)
Free: 0-23(varies)


Last edited by HK-42; 03-27-2009 at 01:30 AM.
HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2009, 09:18 AM   #9
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Unless you've paid for extended warranty, standard warranty is 12 months.

Sticks of RAM in a laptop are shorter, and often called SODIMMs by nerdy types


They sit in slots on the mainboard. Taking them out and putting it back in is a bit trickier in a laptop, but can be done with a bit of concentration, and CLOSELY following the instructions in the service manual of your specfific laptop model.

You just need to ensure you are following correct safety procedure:

*Unplug PC/laptop
*Work on grounded surface. ie. not on a shaggy carpet or near water
*anti static gloves if youre super keen

That being said, the numbers youve given from task manager are quite normal. I have a vista x64 that has been purring along nicely for a long time. Heres a cap of my taskmgr memory numbers:


BSODs are quite commonly caused by issues related to hardware or driver changes. Have you done anything like this recently? Had you been using the pc ok for gaming etc until recently?

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat

Last edited by Astrotoy7; 03-27-2009 at 09:25 AM.
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2009, 12:30 PM   #10
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
No I havent had any hardware changes, the only games I have installed Is KOTOR1/2, EAW, Axis And Allies, JK:JA. They have worked perfectly fine for a long time.

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-27-2009, 05:25 PM   #11
RoxStar
Moderator
 
RoxStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,411
Current Game: Everything Zelda
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
If you're not comfortable poking around yourself, see if you can find someone too look for you, it could be that one of the modules (sticks) became unseated.

RoxStar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > BlueScreen of Death Vista Startup

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.