lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Its possible to convert q3 skin to jk3mp ?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-11-2009, 08:03 AM   #1
Nemesis_RUS
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Question Its possible to convert q3 skin to jk3mp ?

Hi all, i want know, its possible to convert quake 3 skin to jk3 ? i think its possible because jk3 using q3 engine, but idk how
I want convert my fav skin DooM from q3 to jk3mp
Who may give me manual for it pls ? or if easy for someone, make a skin pls ?
DooM model & sounds
Thanks!

p.s. sorry for my english, i am from russia
Nemesis_RUS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2009, 05:57 PM   #2
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
It's possible but you would need to import the model into 3d Max, adjust the scale and proportions around the JK3 skeleton, rig the whole thing, export and compile.

It requires some work, not a simple conversion process.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2009, 07:06 PM   #3
Nemesis_RUS
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Smile

Thanks for help, but may u give a manual for it please ? (if possible)
Nemesis_RUS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2009, 01:03 AM   #4
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
I have a few tutorials up here:
http://www3.sympatico.ca/psykopat/tu.../jk2_guide.htm
http://www3.sympatico.ca/psykopat/tu...n_modifier.htm

Videos by Paul Greveson that explains how to use the skin modifier in more details (its not related to Jedi Academy, just the skin modifier part):
http://www.3dworldmag.com/page/3dwor...orld_114_s_3ds

Tools that you need:
-3d studio max 4.x, 5, 6, 7 or 8 (9 still possibly works but i have never tested it)

-The skeleton:
http://psyko3d.50webs.com/tools/JK3Skeleton.zip

-The JO SDK (yes even if you are modding JA)
http://jediknight3.filefront.com/file/;2433

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2009, 05:46 AM   #5
Nemesis_RUS
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks very much!
Nemesis_RUS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2009, 08:32 AM   #6
Nemesis_RUS
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
I tried with 3d max 5, dont work :O quake 3 model is md3 and i cant export or merge it
Nemesis_RUS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2009, 01:00 PM   #7
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
MD3 importer/exporter:
http://psyko3d.50webs.com/tools/MD3import-export.zip

You'll also need this later, hierarchy auto linker:
http://psyko3d.50webs.com/tools/autolink.zip

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2009, 02:22 PM   #8
Nemesis_RUS
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
ty again
but how use it, and it for jk2 ? in name was jk2 :O
Nemesis_RUS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-12-2009, 04:07 PM   #9
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
You put the importer in your max plugins folder, and modding for JK2 is the same as JK3.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2009, 06:59 AM   #10
Nemesis_RUS
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
I think i complete model to ~80-90%
but i've got 2 problems
1. idk how to export to jk3 format
2. model have some problems with skeleton :O
Unfinished model
download model & u will see what is the problem, idk how its called (because idk this word). May you say please how to fix it ? or its impossible ?
Nemesis_RUS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2009, 07:49 PM   #11
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
1.Take the XSIImporter.dli plugin (from the JO SDK toolkit) and place it in your 3D Studio Max plugin dir, restart 3D max, you will now have a softimage XSI plugin exporter for JK2 & JK3.

2.You'll just have to import a default stance for the lower body...or manually place it around the skeleton (which will probably turn out bad). So try to find a neutral animation frame sequence and import that, im pretty sure there are .cfg files that list which animation is triggered at a given frame for the quake 3 model.

You are not 80 - 90% done, at least not for the whole process...you still have to skin the mesh to the skeleton, segment the model, cap the segments, link the hierarchy, export and then compile .

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2009, 07:30 AM   #12
Nemesis_RUS
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psyk0Sith View Post
you still have to skin the mesh to the skeleton, segment the model, cap the segments, link the hierarchy, export and then compile .
O_O to first time in max it sounds hard.

Where i can get XSIImporter plugin ?
Nemesis_RUS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2009, 07:37 AM   #13
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
1.Take the XSIImporter.dli plugin (from the JO SDK toolkit) and place it in your 3D Studio Max plugin dir.

It should be in the tools folder where you installed JO tools.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > Its possible to convert q3 skin to jk3mp ?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:18 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.