lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Singleplayer Models
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-23-2010, 01:35 PM   #1
DepecheMoses
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Singleplayer Models

Is there a way to change the singleplayer character model? I know you can change the lightsaber (because I did, years ago) but I just started playing again and forgot how to do anything technical.
DepecheMoses is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2010, 02:32 PM   #2
nizwiz
Rookie
 
nizwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 159
If I'm not mistaken, you just have to place copies of the model.glm and the skin files of the model you want to use into models/players/kyle (in your new pk3) to override Kyle's model.glm (you don't have to copy the textures, since they're referenced by path in the model.glm and skin files; but that also means you cannot simply rename the path of the model folder, but have to retain it in its original place - hence the copies).
nizwiz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2010, 11:12 PM   #3
katanamaru
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 471
Yeah leave one copy of the model you want to do in the base folder.
Then do what Nizwiz did.
katanamaru is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2010, 01:57 PM   #4
Ol'Soul
Lurker
 
Ol'Soul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3
Current Game: Jedi Knight II
Ok, I'm confused. Can anyone please explain this to me. I'm trying to use the "Reborn_To_Maul_SP" so I put the pk3 file in the base folder like it told me to in the readme, then I start my game and my lightsaber hilt has changed, but the skin is still Kyle. Is there anything I need to do "in game" to change my appearance? I went into the console enabled cheats, and typed in the: model reborn/boss and nothing happened.
If I have to change things in the pk3 file or the cfg file, I can't access them. I tried to download a couple programs to edit them, and all they did was check them for viruses. Apparently I'm a noob for this kind of stuff. I am trying to run it on Vista, maybe that is one of the problems...
anyway, any help would be awesome. Thanks!


"What fun is being cool if you can't wear a sombrero?"
-Hobbes
Ol'Soul is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2010, 01:59 PM   #5
Ol'Soul
Lurker
 
Ol'Soul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3
Current Game: Jedi Knight II
oh, one more thing, when I go to the "mods" tab when the game is started, nothing is there. I've tried creating folders in both the base and GameData folders, and also just leaving the pk3 file in the base and GameData folder, but it doesn't show up.


"What fun is being cool if you can't wear a sombrero?"
-Hobbes
Ol'Soul is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2010, 10:25 AM   #6
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Have you tried starting a new game and see if the character shows up?

Here's a guide for Jedi Academy, which should be similar for JO:
http://warpedproductions.echonetwork.net/jatut1.html

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2010, 10:21 PM   #7
katanamaru
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 471
That file you downloaded 'Reborn to Maul' requires a seperate mod as well. If I remeber correctly you need to check the readme to get the link to the origianl Maul skin/model and put that in your base folder along with the 'reborn to Maul' mod.

If you want mods to show up in the "Mods" menu you need to go into your 'gamedata' folder and make a new folder there. Name it whatever you want and then drop the desired mods inside of it. It will then show up under "mods."
katanamaru is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > Singleplayer Models

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.