lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Replacement for Loading Screens
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-03-2013, 09:14 AM   #1
Sith Holocron
M4-78
 
Sith Holocron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pasadena, MD(Nar Shaddaa East)
Posts: 1,328
Current Game: The Old Republic
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
Replacement for Loading Screens

OK, here was my (hopefully) small modding idea. (By the way, this one should go in the anal-retentive file . . .)

The three pictures below are loading screens for Nar Shaddaa. I think since pretty much everyone uses the Sharen Thrawn skybox for Nar Shaddaa, that perhaps someone should recreate the loading screens to show that particular skybox instead of the original ones.

a) In the "load_302NAR" loading screen, the problem area is outlined in green.



b) I've outlined the problem area in "load_306NAR" in red/orange as the Pazaak Lounge they've taken the picture in has a lot of green lighting in it.



c) The tough one in my opinion would be the loading screen "load_303NAR" which would be tough because of the airspeeder. (The skybox issue is highlighted in green, the airspeeder in orange) Ordinarily, there isn't a airpseeder at that corner of the docks. Yes, I know you can fix up the airspeeder over by the Serocco area and then use that speeder to go to the docks. However, if you do that- then the airspeeder is facing the wrong way. Kind of a bummer but I bet the smart folk here could figure out how change the direction of that airspeeder.





Considering trying out (or returning to) SWTOR? You may as well go through my link and help get me some SWTOR referral points!
Sith Holocron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2013, 10:15 AM   #2
L0ki194
Rookie
 
L0ki194's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 168
Current Game: A Bunch of Games
Hmmm. I'm one of many that uses the mod you're talking about. I never thought about the loading screens though. I think it would be good to do loading screens to match the skybox mod.

(Quick Question: Were can I find a mod that uses concept art for the game as loading screens?)
L0ki194 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2013, 11:28 AM   #3
Sith Holocron
M4-78
 
Sith Holocron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pasadena, MD(Nar Shaddaa East)
Posts: 1,328
Current Game: The Old Republic
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
Concept art loading screens b Darth InSidious can be found at Filefront.




Considering trying out (or returning to) SWTOR? You may as well go through my link and help get me some SWTOR referral points!

Last edited by Sith Holocron; 01-03-2013 at 11:33 AM. Reason: added link and credits
Sith Holocron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2013, 01:45 PM   #4
L0ki194
Rookie
 
L0ki194's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 168
Current Game: A Bunch of Games
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sith Holocron View Post
Concept art loading screens b Darth InSidious can be found at Filefront.
Sweet! Thanks.
L0ki194 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2013, 09:19 PM   #5
L0ki194
Rookie
 
L0ki194's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 168
Current Game: A Bunch of Games
Edit: You can now download my loadscreens here: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...d-loadscreens/


My Mods:
L0ki194's Sith Officer Armors: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...fficer-armors/
K1 Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
TSL Player Height Adjustment: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...ht-adjustment/
Realistic Nar Shaddaa Skybox Mod Loadscreens: http://deadlystream.com/forum/files/...d-loadscreens/

Last edited by L0ki194; 11-20-2013 at 11:25 PM.
L0ki194 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-07-2013, 11:06 PM   #6
Sith Holocron
M4-78
 
Sith Holocron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pasadena, MD(Nar Shaddaa East)
Posts: 1,328
Current Game: The Old Republic
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
Thanks for posting those, L0ki194!

Malkior was kind enough to send a picture to me before L0ki194 posted his so I though I'd put that up here too so folks have an alternate option. Obviously, you'll have to convert it to a TGA file.





Considering trying out (or returning to) SWTOR? You may as well go through my link and help get me some SWTOR referral points!
Sith Holocron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2013, 12:06 AM   #7
90SK
Universal Figment
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Somewhere...
Posts: 4,385
Current Game: Tetris
At one point I made loading screens for an M4-78 mod, I'll try to find the texture I used for the loading lines, since that would be a nice feature to add.

edit: I found the loading screens but not the template for the lines, will attempt to recreate it.


Last edited by 90SK; 01-09-2013 at 12:19 AM.
90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2013, 06:58 AM   #8
Sith Holocron
M4-78
 
Sith Holocron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pasadena, MD(Nar Shaddaa East)
Posts: 1,328
Current Game: The Old Republic
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90 SK View Post
Edit: I found the loading screens but not the template for the lines, will attempt to recreate it.
Best of luck with that. I'm just glad folks didn't think my idea was too out there!




Considering trying out (or returning to) SWTOR? You may as well go through my link and help get me some SWTOR referral points!
Sith Holocron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2013, 08:28 AM   #9
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: KotOR II
How to create the lines for a KotOR II loadscreen in GIMP:

Set Foreground to white.
Select the "Gradient" tool
Set Mode to Normal.
Set Opacity to 15.0
Set Gradient to White-->Transparent.
Set Offset to 64.4
Set Shape to Bi-linear
Set Repeat to Triangular Wave
Enable dithering
Select and drag as with any other gradient, for perhaps 7 px or so.

Kudos to Archon II for figuring this out.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-07-2013, 03:23 PM   #10
Red Hessian
Junior Member
 
Red Hessian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bliss, Mania
Posts: 277
Current Game: Oblivion
Sorry for necroing this thread, but does anyone have the pictures above already converted to tga and with added loading screens lines?
Red Hessian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Modding requests > Replacement for Loading Screens

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.