lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Is this computer good enough to run Obi-Wan?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-27-2000, 02:46 PM   #1
Qui-Gon Jinn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post Is this computer good enough to run Obi-Wan?

PIII 800 MHz
256MB RAM
30GB Hard Drive
32MB NVIDIA geFORCE AGP Graphics Card

Is that a good enough system to run Obi-Wan, (you think?)

------------------
http://www.JediKnight.8k.com

"Be Mindful of the Living Force." - Qui-Gon Jinn


  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2000, 03:14 PM   #2
Argath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

No. Obi-Wan will require at least two 800 MHz CPU's to run correctly.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2000, 03:29 PM   #3
Qui-Gon Jinn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

ARE YOU SERIOUS?? If so, then LEC's crazy! Who has those computers?? 1 person out of a 1000 almost!

------------------
http://www.JediKnight.8k.com

"Be Mindful of the Living Force." - Qui-Gon Jinn


  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2000, 03:47 PM   #4
Argath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Of course I'm serious. Obi-Wan is actually not even being designed to run on x86 Windows-based systems. It will require at least a 667 MHz DEC Alpha 21264 with 512 MB of RAM running on UNIX to get any kind of decent framerate. Dual or quad CPU's preferred.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2000, 03:56 PM   #5
Qui-Gon Jinn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Then Obi-Wan will not make ANYmoney at all. Oh by the way, someone else just told me to punch you for telling me a non-true, non-sense fact. Visit http://205.229.72.73/html/Forum1/HTML/003670.html and see for yourself.

------------------
http://www.JediKnight.8k.com

"Be Mindful of the Living Force." - Qui-Gon Jinn




[This message has been edited by Qui-Gon Jinn (edited February 27, 2000).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2000, 05:04 PM   #6
LDB_Leeman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Qui-gon - Argath is joking.

He merely played along with his story because the machine specs you quoted are sufficient enough to be running Quake 3 Arena, Unreal Tournament, and Obi-Wan at the same time. A PIII 800mHz is sufficient enough for you!
(no offense, but you seemed to be extremely confused).

------------------
www.thereckoning.co.uk - My Personal Starcruiser.
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2000, 05:11 PM   #7
Qui-Gon Jinn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Oh, really? Cool! Cause I'm getting that computer. I just wanted to know if it was good enbough, and since it is, I will buy it.

------------------
http://www.JediKnight.8k.com

"Be Mindful of the Living Force." - Qui-Gon Jinn


  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2000, 08:20 PM   #8
Darth Kurgan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Of course Argath was joking, in reality, only supercomputers can run ObiWan. It will be at least five years before any consumer pc will be able to handle the sheer power it takes to run.

Kurgan

[This message has been edited by Darth Kurgan (edited February 27, 2000).]
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2000, 08:56 PM   #9
The_Gamesta
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Red face

Sad......and I wanted to get that game.....so much for that....
  you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-27-2000, 10:50 PM   #10
StormHammer
Fallen Jedi
 
StormHammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Outer spiral arm of the galaxy
Posts: 5,437
10 year veteran! 
Qui-Gon:

Does that GeForce Card have DDR RAM? If it doesn't, I'd get one that does - it gives a boost to performance.

Also, it occurs to me that the Athlon 850Mhz chip was released this month, which is faster than the Pentium III 800Mhz. Even if you don't want an Athlon machine, Intel are sure to respond quite soon and bring out an even better chip.

Personally, I'm holding off a little while myself from buying any new computer. Although I have a lowly Pentium 200Mhz with a Voodoo 1 card, most of the games I have will run at an acceptable frame rate - including Unreal Tournament and Wheel of Time. So I haven't got the highest texture settings, and not everything is switched on, but for now it will suffice until my dream machine becomes available.

Intel and AMD are supposedly going to release 1Ghz+ processors in the third quarter of this year - but judging by last year, I think they'll bring those release dates closer Maybe I can convince my wife to buy me one for my birthday (in June), then I can spend my savings on all of those wonderful games that will be coming out.

Now there's a thought...



------------------
'I have a very bad feeling about this.'
StormHammer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Knight / MotS > Is this computer good enough to run Obi-Wan?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:39 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.