lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: WIP carbonfreeze2 Update news
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-16-2002, 01:34 PM   #1
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
Post WIP carbonfreeze2 Update news

ok go here http://www.sgnonline.com/vb/showthre...&threadid=2938 for screenshots so far


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2002, 02:04 PM   #2
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
looks great, but why is the exhaust shaft so dark?


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2002, 02:44 PM   #3
Padawan_7
 
Padawan_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 295
WOW, that looks great LDJ!!!!!!

And yeah, that shaft is too dark. But, you probably havenít gotten around to placing lights down there. At least I hope...
Padawan_7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2002, 04:47 PM   #4
Toonces
Raise Hand If Sure!
 
Toonces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,362
Impressive....Most Impressive

Looks great LDJ, this map will be a treat

Toonces is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2002, 07:18 PM   #5
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
thanks Toonces me ol mapping chum =]]]]
and padwan 7 =]]]

oh and pit was bright before

but some people prefered it with a dark look. with the flashing lights it kinda gives it an errie feel

i know in film some areas tend to be brighter, but in other shots the pit is dark as ive made it so you really have to say, right do i keep it bright or do i make it look kinda mysterious ?

i want to make it brighter. but alot of people like it as ive said so i tend to go with them to keep them happy

but i may lighten it very slightly

The other reason it is darker is because i switched to q3map2 bsp tool
and it made the lights alot darker as it did in episode1 version 2

the lights in the main pit are actually 30,000 strong . Most lights are 50 to 300 in the corridoors so you can see how large the area is =]],. Basically if you leap off the gantry youll never reach the edge by the time you hit the bottom of the shaft unless ya get a really good run up HEHE


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2002, 07:38 PM   #6
Archonon
Rookie
 
Archonon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 209
This looks amazing LDJ!! Thanks for the fantastic makeover to my fave JK2 map. Will this version have botroutes though? That's who I'm always stuck playing against and I'd love to be able to actually play in this map
Archonon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2002, 07:40 PM   #7
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Livingdeadjedi
i know in film some areas tend to be brighter, but in other shots the pit is dark as ive made it so you really have to say, right do i keep it bright or do i make it look kinda mysterious ?

i want to make it brighter. but alot of people like it as ive said so i tend to go with them to keep them happy

but i may lighten it very slightly
i see what you mean (http://wso.williams.edu/~rfoxwell/st...ics/JoinMe.jpg). i think the map would benefit if the lighting was slightly brighter and closer to the lighting in that image. it's the best of two "worlds" (http://wso.williams.edu/~rfoxwell/st...ics/Vader3.jpg and http://wso.williams.edu/~rfoxwell/st...ics/Vader4.jpg).

also, i was looking around and though it'd be sweet if the carbon chamber had some psuedo-random smoke/steam bursts coming from the grates or pipes. this is only if you were feeling fancy, though. http://www.pearl-jam.com/starwars/swpixnot/darthbes.jpg


overlord

Last edited by t3rr0r; 11-16-2002 at 07:54 PM.
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2002, 08:04 PM   #8
Padawan_7
 
Padawan_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally posted by Livingdeadjedi
i know in film some areas tend to be brighter, but in other shots the pit is dark as ive made it so you really have to say, right do i keep it bright or do i make it look kinda mysterious ?

i want to make it brighter. but alot of people like it as ive said so i tend to go with them to keep them happy

but i may lighten it very slightly
Well if I could vote on the matter, I would have to say please make it brighter.

As a person who is actually afraid of heights, I think nothing is more terrifying than actually seeing how far a drop can be. For example, one time I visited the top of the Empire State building in New York. When I slowly approached the top of the building's edge to look down toward the street, I found that I couldnít really see anything because it was very cloudy up there. And I, of course, was just fine. But then when there was a brake in the cloud cover, and I could actually see the street lights, cars, etc. below......eeeeeeee!!!

Also, as for the mysterious side of things goes, I feel the carbon freezing chambers inside already provide that, and quite well I must add.

But LDJ, you're the master mapper. It is, of course, all up to you. I just wanted to provide you with maybe a different perspective on things.
Padawan_7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2002, 12:54 PM   #9
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
oh i have added steam at intervalls. but it not much. 1 because jk2 steam isnt very dense and also it would make FPS hit the roof LOL but ya get loads in the carbon pit itself when you fall in =]]] that only lowers FPS while your in there so doesnt effect anyone else


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2002, 03:10 PM   #10
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Livingdeadjedi
oh i have added steam at intervalls. but it not much.
just the odd little "pfft" is good.


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2002, 03:11 AM   #11
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,698
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
also, not to be nitpicky but from what i remimber in ESB wasnt Cloud City made mostly of white? as in the walls and doors and whatnot? even Ravens maps have all this brown all over... anyone else remiber it like that?

btw: Map == heart attack *dies*


acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2002, 05:23 AM   #12
D.L.
 
D.L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 598
The special edition gave it more of an orange glow. It depends on the time of day really. Then again, you never really saw Cloud City at street level in the films. Just the interior of a few buildings.


Star Wars, General Chat and Games. Join if you want!
http://lounge.proboards5.com

The NJO Mod Website
D.L. is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2002, 03:08 PM   #13
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
yes your dead right
the walls in bespin during the day are brilliant white , with a yellow line around some walls

now to get jk2 to do this would be very difficult. Sort of thing a mod maker would need to do.
so i chose to go for the sunset effect, i did make textures lighter, but when i made lights bright as well even with a scale of .1 they were just to bright


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2002, 05:47 PM   #14
Wudan
Got Balance?
 
Wudan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salt Lake, UT
Posts: 1,442
The Quake3 lighting has an overall problem with white. It would take time to get it so that it looks white and not grey, but it could be done, in theory.

Raven's Bespin is brown and orange because of this
Wudan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2002, 02:15 AM   #15
DapperDanMan
 
DapperDanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Washington
Posts: 40
Good show. That's amazing man. Can't wait!
DapperDanMan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2002, 04:17 PM   #16
nomad
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NY City, USA
Posts: 303

Great to see this!! I've been looking forward to this map ever since you released the original beta.
LDJ, without question, your maps are phenominal.
The architecture and lighting in Jabba's Palace is so authentic. Thank you so much for working on these great movie arenas.

If I had a vote, I would go for the pit to be brighter as well. Sometimes a group of people seem to be the majority, but then you find that they are not... so just in case this is one of those sittuations, I figured I'd give you my opinion.

Best of luck, and I am so looking forward to playing in this map.
nomad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2002, 08:06 AM   #17
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
Right then
im hoping to release map this Sunday if all goes well

the main pit is lit just right now and the window has been improved to suit film =]

I havent been able to place a secret area in that i wanted to, so i will make a duel map for that

Lighting in the City corridoors is as good as i could get it. Sometimes the odd blue or red light is cast onto areas far from where the actual red lights are, but ive only seemed to encounter this problem with jk2. Even when using q3map2 compiler

But the city is really just a starting point, the real areas are in the carbon room and the gantry. But ive tried to make city area as fun as possible with multiple areas.

If jk2 engine had been able to make more (id hit the maximum shaders) then i would have made

1. The dinning hall
2. Secret landing pad with My famous and soon to be improved Vaders Shuttle NOT THE MODEL FROM JK2 game though.
3. a larger entrance area like in film, off of the xwings landing pad


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2002, 10:10 AM   #18
Pnut_Man
Existential to the Core
 
Pnut_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 1,061
Great news! Can't wait for tomorrow =) This is a beautiful map..




- Formally hated, praised, and known as Pnut_Man
Pnut_Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2002, 11:26 AM   #19
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
yep
once maps compiled, i will spend tonight trying to get the bots on a set path

only trouble they would have is with the One set of elevators. As if the elevator goes down and they try to follow. they will get stuck on top LOL and must keep going up and down on the lift till they die

oh well that would be good for a laugh =]

the route wil take them on a single path to the gantry
and obviously anyone they encounter they will attack


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2002, 12:22 PM   #20
Padawan_7
 
Padawan_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 295
Cool, I can't wait! Thanks in advance LDJ!!!!!
Padawan_7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2002, 02:51 PM   #21
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
ok this is strange.
ive made map. but when i try adding the bot routes it doesnt work ??? unlike my other maps

basically i type devamp ffa_carbonfreeze2
then \set bot_wp_edit 1 then i restart

but when i do bot_wp_add
instead of placing a bot route it says bot_wp_add is set to 1 default 1 ???? but this shouldnt happen HEEEEEELPPPP as i know people like bot support and if this doesnt work there wont be any
but ive goto add it cause some people cry if they cant play wi**... by themselves


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2002, 04:09 PM   #22
YoDa2k2
 
YoDa2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Degobah
Posts: 102
Exelent LDJ! If u complete this map it will far surpass any map you have done so far (Duel Of the Faites is my fave ^_^ but the Jabba and Sarlacc maps are also well done) IMO. One question though, how friendly will this map be to people with low end comps? (IE 1.3 ghz P4, 128 MB RAM, and Geforce2 32 MB card) i hope it wont be to hard on us but i will be geting a Geforce 4 64 MB card and MAYBE some ram for x-mas so...

anyway GREAT MAP! i cant wait LDJ, if its even close to the quality of your other maps we are all in for a real treat!


"You must defeat Vader.. Then, only then a jedi will u be"

"Fear is the path to the Dark Side, Fear leads to anger, anger leades to hate, hate leads to Suffering"
YoDa2k2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2002, 06:49 PM   #23
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
well my friend has got an amd duron 800mhz cpu a nvidia tnt2 and a msi k7t pro version 2 mother board
and it plays fine on his

i get a slight slowdown of 40 fps in some areas. on my 1.4 with a geoforce 3

but he says he gets no slowdown apart from when theres tones of weapons firing and funny enough the HUGE IMMENSE pit gets the best FPS LOL


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2002, 06:50 PM   #24
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Livingdeadjedi
well my friend has got an amd duron 800mhz cpu a nvidia tnt2 and a msi k7t pro version 2 mother board
and it plays fine on his
yay, that's good to know.
/me whipes brow


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2002, 11:29 PM   #25
Padawan_7
 
Padawan_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally posted by Livingdeadjedi
ok this is strange.
ive made map. but when i try adding the bot routes it doesnt work ??? unlike my other maps

basically i type devamp ffa_carbonfreeze2
then \set bot_wp_edit 1 then i restart

but when i do bot_wp_add
instead of placing a bot route it says bot_wp_add is set to 1 default 1 ????
Hmm...dangerous and disturbing this puzzle is.

Just kidding. Don't type "\set bot_wp_edit 1". Instead, type "\bot_wp_edit 1".

That should make it work.

Padawan_7
Padawan_7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 10:31 AM   #26
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
Ok doing final Compile =]] its 1.30pm here in UK so takes 3 hours 40 mins to render. Then ive goto add bots again and then wait for Sergio to get online so i can send it to www.pcgamemods.com

I got bots working on other version
but they kept getting trapped on the lifts so ive removed the top of the lift so its just a platform, that way while they stand and wait for it they wont get crushed LOL

also put a trigger hurt at the base of the lift shaft. as it appears that somehow a bot fell back and got stuck there LOL
oh well it made me laugh

So depending on how fast the map is put on pcgamemods
it will either be up tonight or tommorrow HOPEFULLY


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 12:13 PM   #27
YoDa2k2
 
YoDa2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Degobah
Posts: 102
*puts fingers together* Yes..... Exelent....


"You must defeat Vader.. Then, only then a jedi will u be"

"Fear is the path to the Dark Side, Fear leads to anger, anger leades to hate, hate leads to Suffering"
YoDa2k2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 12:39 PM   #28
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
ok it will be a days delay before release

on removing the top of the lift for the damn bots i forgot to change the lip height of the lift ROFL
so ill render again over night


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 02:29 PM   #29
Toonces
Raise Hand If Sure!
 
Toonces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,362
Coolness LDJ, I'll be watching this thread. As soon as you release the map I'll upload it to JKII.net and give you some mad press on the front page

Toonces is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 02:33 PM   #30
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
Thanks Toonces me old Modelling chum

Hey ive just ordered 3d studio max 4
and two books to help me

Its so i can make 3d models but i could get you to teach me how to make textures for skins if the book doesnt explain it =]

Oh i will soon start some maps for AOTC TC WOOHOOO


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 03:07 PM   #31
Hekx
Republic Mofo
 
Hekx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Where?
Posts: 3,304
Hot Topic Starter 
I have a 1GHz AMD Athlon with a Nvidia TNT M64, and I get a slow framerate on Duel of the Fates
I usually get 40 - 60 fps on most maps, but those big glowy purple things lag my CPU like hell
Thank god for Q3 engine tweak commands
Hekx is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 06:43 PM   #32
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
ok map is now uploading to www.pcgamemods.com
so will be there tonight sometime. UK night that is LOL
So USA will get it this afternoon for all me USA fans out there


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 07:13 PM   #33
Toonces
Raise Hand If Sure!
 
Toonces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,362
Cool LDJ, can't wait to check it out

I've got a bunch of files to upload tonight, but if you can, e-mail it to files@jediknightii.net and as soon as I get it I'll post news about it on the main page

Toonces is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 07:17 PM   #34
Padawan_7
 
Padawan_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 295
Yes, this is great news!
Padawan_7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 07:19 PM   #35
t3rr0r
Goblet of Fire
 
t3rr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Livingdeadjedi
ok map is now uploading to www.pcgamemods.com
so will be there tonight sometime. UK night that is LOL
So USA will get it this afternoon for all me USA fans out there
what about (us) teh canucks?


overlord
t3rr0r is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 10:47 PM   #36
Toonces
Raise Hand If Sure!
 
Toonces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,362
It's up!

http://www.jediknightii.net/files/in...k=file&id=1061

Most impressive...

Toonces is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 11:15 PM   #37
Hekx
Republic Mofo
 
Hekx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Where?
Posts: 3,304
Hot Topic Starter 
Screenshot looks purdy, downloaded it now

Because it's 4am here, I'll play it tomorrow

Good work LivingDeadJedi
Hekx is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2002, 11:16 PM   #38
YoDa2k2
 
YoDa2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Degobah
Posts: 102
oh my..... THIS IS THE WORST PICE OF CRAP EVER!!!




just kidding!

LDJ, any doughts i had that u wernt the best maper in the comunity are completly gone.. this map far surpasses any other maps ive seen..... EXELENT JOB MAN!


"You must defeat Vader.. Then, only then a jedi will u be"

"Fear is the path to the Dark Side, Fear leads to anger, anger leades to hate, hate leads to Suffering"
YoDa2k2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2002, 08:13 AM   #39
DeTRiTiC-iQ
 
DeTRiTiC-iQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Posts: 540
disappointing map. its only good for role-playing...

its depressingly linear, the elevators and tunnels slow you down far too much, and the architecture before the freezing room and gantry area is pretty basic It feels like LDJ spent ages making the carbon freeze chamber and gantry, then just bolted on the rest of the map to make it bigger.
DeTRiTiC-iQ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2002, 12:01 PM   #40
keo718
Jedi Council
 
keo718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,036
Nice work. Do you still plan on a Kamino map?


"Do or do not. There is no try."

Custom Avatar made by Aru-Wen
keo718 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > Showcase forum > WIP carbonfreeze2 Update news

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:12 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.