lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: A question about createing Items
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-22-2003, 06:54 PM   #1
Sycofrogg
 
Sycofrogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philly
Posts: 7
A question about createing Items

Hello all, im not new to the website nor the game, just haven't gotten involved, more like lingering about reading what I can.

Anyways, to my question. Im not sure if this has been talked about before so i'll do my apology in advance if it has. How will createing items go about? Will it be done in a seperate program and then uploaded into the game? Will you have to be in a ceratin area in game to create somthing? Will you have to gather certain materials for certain items to create?

Just something I was wondering.


Sycofrogg is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2003, 08:16 PM   #2
setsuko
fashion nugget
 
setsuko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: la Suède
Posts: 2,551
There is no metagame where you create the items. You craft them ingame, with crafting skills. You don't have to be at a specific place, but "where there aren't monsters chewing on you" is a tip. Yes, you need materials, most things require stuff like "15 units of metal", and then you can use different kinds of metal, giving different qualities to the item. However, if you make a blueprint for mass production of the item, you can't change the type of metal etc.

Crafting will consist of an artisan first making the components, then someone who has enough skill put it together (artisans doing most things, but experts like weaponsmiths will off course be better at their 'thang'). If you are satisfied with the result, you could make a blueprint of it, enabling an industrialist to mass produce the item at a factory. Then, you are pretty much only limited to resources. Since resources will eventually vane, and be replaced with new sorts at new places, blueprints will eventually be rendered useless. You also need the type of metal etc used in the product to be able to repair it fully. This means that items will also eventually have to be replaced, making the scene interesting for the artisans.

EDIT: oh, I missed the "do I need to search for the minerals etc" thingy. Weelll.... someone has to. You can use a portable 'extractor' to gather resources (you'll need the extractor and some basic skills to find them), or if you are more skilled, you could build an extracting plant on top of the resources, that you could empty whenever you come across it. Or, if you are lazy and don't mind sharing the profit, you could buy resources from players who specialize in gathering resources rather than being artisans.


http://www.swgalaxies.net/fanimage/images/23.jpg
Al extrañar un amigo bueno siempre me siento algo melancólica...
setsuko is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2003, 08:29 PM   #3
Exar_reborn
 
Exar_reborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Where the business takes me
Posts: 543
So set, if I have like a droid engineer/weaponsmith/armoursmith. he has to be able to find the ore first? So you think that I should take that LITTLE bit of points left and put into scout?



"We must show the entire Republic and all of the other Jedi,
never to underestimate the power of the Sith!"
~Exar Kun
Exar_reborn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2003, 10:41 PM   #4
legameboy
Pirate Flavored
 
legameboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 2,488
you should focus on one crafting proff. like armorsmith, add a wee bit of points to scout and like 1/3 or 1/4 of your points to mining, that way you are a self-supported armor smith, or just make GOOD weapons with the BEST materials and sell the things for high and pay people alot to get you ore, i dont think scout is TOTALLY neccesary but it is nice to have
legameboy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-22-2003, 10:49 PM   #5
Exar_reborn
 
Exar_reborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Where the business takes me
Posts: 543
So you don't think someone would do to well as a Droid Engineer, Artisan, Architect? Or is that to much?



"We must show the entire Republic and all of the other Jedi,
never to underestimate the power of the Sith!"
~Exar Kun
Exar_reborn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2003, 01:03 AM   #6
UnfrozenCaveman
 
UnfrozenCaveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cori Celesti
Posts: 714
You have approx. 3.5 professions. I.E., you can master three professions and then a half of one. They have said to master will require a bit of time...but anyways...

I'd def. only due one tradeskill, like armorsmith. And you don't need to put skills into the scout profession, just hire one to do it for you, or if you are in a PA get one of your PA's scouts to help you out. I'm planning on being a ranger, so maybe we could do some business.

Back to your last post. That's fine with the professions, someone could do well as long a they are fine with not really having combat a part of their SWG gaming experience. They are all tradeskill professions, you'd be in a city pretty much your whole time. That's all.


Ebik, Rodian Holo Grinder Extrodinare

APST = |337
UnfrozenCaveman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2003, 09:05 AM   #7
Sycofrogg
 
Sycofrogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philly
Posts: 7
k, thanks for the replies, they've been helpful.
Sycofrogg is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-23-2003, 11:44 AM   #8
setsuko
fashion nugget
 
setsuko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: la Suède
Posts: 2,551
Also, when thinking about the "3.5 professions", keep in mind that the skill trees that are not starting skill trees requires one or several branches from one (or more) starting skill trees. And that to become a good crafter, you propably don't have to master a skill tree as long as you just pick the skills that suits you the best. After all, we've been told that specialized characters that masters their skill trees are kinda rare in the beta, since appearantly versatility is just as good as being specialized.

But a droid engineer/weaponsmith/armoursmith would have to get a lot (or all?) of the artisan skill tree, so you might not collect every single skill in all four trees, no. Especially not if you have scout skills too. But who knows, it might work, the advantage with this skill system is that you are free to experiment until you get a set of skills that works together.


http://www.swgalaxies.net/fanimage/images/23.jpg
Al extrañar un amigo bueno siempre me siento algo melancólica...
setsuko is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars: The Old Republic MMO Forums > Community > SWGalaxies.net > Star Wars Galaxies discussion > Development Forum > A question about createing Items

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.