lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Areaportal Question
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-11-2003, 01:41 AM   #1
Business_Eskimo
 
Business_Eskimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 211
Areaportal Question

Hi, I was wondering if anyone knew a way to areaportal an object such as a func_usable... I am familiar with the process of making an areaportal for a func_door but this is beyond my intelligence.
Thanks.


Reviewer at Map-Review
Business_Eskimo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2003, 01:41 AM   #2
Business_Eskimo
 
Business_Eskimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 211
Oh, if it makes any difference, this will be for MP.


Reviewer at Map-Review
Business_Eskimo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2003, 06:34 AM   #3
War Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the battle field
Posts: 212
From what I read on a rtcw tutorial, area portals are for func_door only.
War Master is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2003, 07:01 AM   #4
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
Alas, yes. In SP you can areaportal also func_statics (works), possibly even func_usables (haven't tried), with scripting, but in the more restricted MP environment, I seriously doubt it.
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2003, 05:21 PM   #5
Business_Eskimo
 
Business_Eskimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location: Location:
Posts: 211
Hmm, allright. Thanks.


Reviewer at Map-Review
Business_Eskimo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2003, 07:47 PM   #6
War Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the battle field
Posts: 212
Are you sure about the func_statics? I've tried it before and it didn't work.
War Master is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-12-2003, 03:41 AM   #7
lassev
cryptoscripter
 
lassev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally posted by War Master
Are you sure about the func_statics? I've tried it before and it didn't work.
Quite sure, because I have done it, and it was shown effective with "r_showtris 1"

I had to do it, because my battles with hint brushes in that particular situation didn't prove 100% succesful. But to cut the crap, you have to include in your script that moves the elevator (or what ever) the command set_adjustareaportals("true"). Well, I also added set_adjustareaportals("false") in the end, when the elevator was back in its starting position blocking the shaft, but that was only my precaution, and I don't know if its obligatory.

If you use areaportals with func_statics without this command, you'll get the ever-so-popular HOM. Try it out. It's worth it.
lassev is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Areaportal Question

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.