lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: beam?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-15-2003, 12:24 AM   #1
Johnny-Rico
 
Johnny-Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 144
beam?

damn beams. i did a beam texture and a shader and when i put it on the map i just get all black and the light color at the bottom of the black and its solid and all how do i make the shader work?
Johnny-Rico is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2003, 12:34 PM   #2
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
You should post the current shader code here to let us see.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2003, 01:26 PM   #3
Johnny-Rico
 
Johnny-Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 144
i open it in notepad and this what i get

e:/lucasarts/star wars jk ii jedi outcast/gamedata/base/textures/prom/beam
{
surfaceparm nomarks
surfaceparm nonsolid
surfaceparm trans
q3map_nolightmap
{
map e:/lucasarts/star wars jk ii jedi outcast/gamedata/base/textures/prom/beam
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE
}
}
Johnny-Rico is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2003, 01:38 PM   #4
Obsidian-Jovani
 
Obsidian-Jovani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Onderon
Posts: 223
Quote:
e:/lucasarts/star wars jk ii jedi outcast/gamedata/base/textures/prom/beam
Well first I don't think you need that whole line there.
Just put: textures/prom/beam


Binary Sunset Studios

WIP: A SP Project entitled "Resurgence"
Obsidian-Jovani is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2003, 01:45 PM   #5
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Obsidian is right. Change both lines where the full filename occurs to just read from "textures\" onward.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2003, 01:46 PM   #6
Johnny-Rico
 
Johnny-Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 144
thx guys its working but i got another problem now its solid i just put a no draw on the top of it do i need to put in some place else?
Johnny-Rico is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2003, 05:12 PM   #7
Obsidian-Jovani
 
Obsidian-Jovani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Onderon
Posts: 223
You could try to texture the beam brush first with caulk_nonsolid then texture the surfaces with the beam texture. If that doesn't do it then something is missing from the shader code.


Binary Sunset Studios

WIP: A SP Project entitled "Resurgence"
Obsidian-Jovani is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2003, 05:13 PM   #8
Livingdeadjedi
 
Livingdeadjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: England
Posts: 276
well first make sure your beam shader is non solid and that the no draw your using is the none solid one


LiVingDeAdJedi AOTC TC ( clonewarsmod) Senior map maker
Livingdeadjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2003, 09:57 PM   #9
Johnny-Rico
 
Johnny-Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 144
thx guys
Johnny-Rico is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2003, 11:19 PM   #10
Fragmaster-B
 
Fragmaster-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally posted by Obsidian-Jovani
You could try to texture the beam brush first with caulk_nonsolid then texture the surfaces with the beam texture. .
my question is why would you use a caulk_nonsolid?? instaed of a regular caulk??


Age is a very high price to pay for my maturity. If I can't stay young, I can at least stay immature!
Fragmaster-B is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2003, 12:17 AM   #11
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally posted by Fragmaster-B
my question is why would you use a caulk_nonsolid?? instaed of a regular caulk??
Because you can't walk through regular caulk. You know, when you import an .md3 model into your map, say, an AT-ST, you construct a phantom "shell" of brushes that you texture with caulk. You use regular caulk for these so you can walk on the AT-ST without passing right through it. Hope this answers your question.
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2003, 03:20 AM   #12
Shotokan
 
Shotokan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 899
You can also use clip to make the AT-ST "solid"


Online name: _Leviathan_
Shotokan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2003, 04:02 AM   #13
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
1) For md3 models, use CLIP not caulk.

2) For beams/water/glass/anything transluscent, use nodraw or nodraw_solid.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2003, 11:08 AM   #14
Johnny-Rico
 
Johnny-Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 144
my beam is still solid dont know why i just put no draw on the top do i need to put it in another place?
Johnny-Rico is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2003, 12:11 PM   #15
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Hey, you learn something every day. Why use CLIP instead of caulk for .md3 models? Do you go about it the same way (make a bunch of brushes that roughly approximate the form of your .md3), just use CLIP instead of caulk? What's the difference?
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > beam?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.