lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: JK2radiant vs GTKradiant...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-01-2003, 06:01 PM   #1
fattysbox
 
fattysbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 67
Question JK2radiant vs GTKradiant...

Hello all,

As I am new to mapping, I currently have JK2Radiant. However, some people use GTKradiant as there mapping tool of choice.

The big question: should I switch to avoid future errors?

This may have been discussed before, but what are the advantages/disadvantages to both of them?

Thanks in advance!
fattysbox is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-01-2003, 06:18 PM   #2
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Disadvantages of JK2Radiant:
  • texture menu errors
    buggy patch editing
    buggy brush creation/resizing
    unable to disable "snap to grid"
    buggy "undo"
    awful "redo"
Disadvantages of GtkRadiant:
  • uh...
As you can see, I, too, favor Gtk. Switch to Gtk, fatty, you won't regret it.
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-01-2003, 06:26 PM   #3
Obsidian-Jovani
 
Obsidian-Jovani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Onderon
Posts: 223
I'm tired of using JK2Radiant. Grief, grief, grief.

Hey what is a good compiling option using the Q3map2 compiler in GTK Radiant for just testing stuff out?


Binary Sunset Studios

WIP: A SP Project entitled "Resurgence"
Obsidian-Jovani is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-01-2003, 06:36 PM   #4
fattysbox
 
fattysbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 67
Thanks fellas,

Yeah I already think I am missing some texture sets. Also, sometimes when I create a brush it randomly disappears, not to mention that undo does really suck.

Ok, Im convinced...
fattysbox is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-01-2003, 07:19 PM   #5
War Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the battle field
Posts: 212
I use both and I wouldn't have it any other way. I would use Gtk full time if my system shaders showed up all the time, if the target2 and target3 waypoint lines would show, if the 3d preview window looked better and if you could see the angles of the entities. I like to have a black background so it sucks that func_groups appear black. And I hate having to resize entity windows all the time.
War Master is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2003, 03:24 PM   #6
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Quote:
Originally posted by Obsidian-Jovani
Hey what is a good compiling option using the Q3map2 compiler in GTK Radiant for just testing stuff out?
Either of the options marked "(test)"--they usually have vis -fast, light -fast, or some combination thereof, and none of the fancy light options.

Quote:
Originally posted by War Master
I use both and I wouldn't have it any other way. I would use Gtk full time if my system shaders showed up all the time, if the target2 and target3 waypoint lines would show, if the 3d preview window looked better and if you could see the angles of the entities. I like to have a black background so it sucks that func_groups appear black. And I hate having to resize entity windows all the time.
What on earth...? You can change the colors with the "Colors" menu, and I don't know what's with the system shaders, you could try a flush/reload shaders.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2003, 05:40 PM   #7
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Wedge, he meant that his personal preference involved working with a black background (probably the "black and green" theme), and that there is no way (that I have found) to change the display color of brushes that have become part of a func_group entity--you can change the colors for "default brush," "selected brush," and "selected brush (camera)," but, alas, no "func_group brush." They remain black, no matter what. It is kind of a sucky behavior, and it caused me to abandon the "black and green" theme in favor of "qe4 original."
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2003, 05:47 PM   #8
War Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the battle field
Posts: 212
Where's the option for changing the colors of entities? I'm well aware of flush & reload shaders sometimes I have to hit it 3 times before the shaders show up in the preview window. Sometimes they show up perfectly most of the time they don't show or they look all broken up. It's not a video card driver issue either because I changed cards and it's still the same. I reinstalled GtkRadiant a couple of times. Either way, I'm going to continue to use both editors according to what they are good at.
War Master is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2003, 05:47 PM   #9
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
Every now and then I still have to use JK2 Radiant and I hate it!!
The ONLY reason I use it is to see clip brushes.....I can't see CLIP texture in GTk!! I mainly use clip over all my stairs to make a smooth transition...instead of bobbing up and down when ingame you just transition quite nicely from stair to stair..... it really works well.


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2003, 07:00 PM   #10
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Clip brushes are filtered out by default in GtkRadiant. Go to View \ Filter, or press ALT + 7.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2003, 03:14 PM   #11
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
rgoer, how dare you post more than me!! LOL..j/k man...cheers..


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > JK2radiant vs GTKradiant...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:45 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.