lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Can you do a sky with curascant shader?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-13-2003, 08:46 AM   #1
tFighterPilot
Senior Member
 
tFighterPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,729
Can you do a sky with curascant shader?

You know, the one with the buildings and moving cars.
tFighterPilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 12:03 PM   #2
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
In short: No.

Unfortunately a skybox can be static only as far as I know. If somebody knows a way to make it dynamic (and I don't mean the moving clouds) then I'm interested.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 12:56 PM   #3
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
Wedge's Thunder map has flashes of lightning in it.

But you could create a skybox with buildings in it, then use different shaders to create the moving traffic (there's one included with the stock JK2 stuff).

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 01:09 PM   #4
tFighterPilot
Senior Member
 
tFighterPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,729
The whole point is that it will be a sky.

It just looked weird at the Jedi Order map, it looked like an animated wallpaper.
tFighterPilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 04:07 PM   #5
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
A sky can have a farbox and a nearbox, so you could have the farbox be the distant buildings, and the nearbox could be a shader with tcMod scroll.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 05:42 PM   #6
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
Quote:
Originally posted by imyourfather
The whole point is that it will be a sky.

It just looked weird at the Jedi Order map, it looked like an animated wallpaper.
That's because that isn't really a skybox. It's just a shader.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 07:34 PM   #7
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
If the nearbox part of the sky shader works in JO, then you can do it. I can't say for sure, though, I have never tested it.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 08:36 PM   #8
tFighterPilot
Senior Member
 
tFighterPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,729
Quote:
Originally posted by Eldritch
That's because that isn't really a skybox. It's just a shader.
That's what I said.

Emon, do you think you can do it?
tFighterPilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 09:25 PM   #9
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Sure I could do it, but you wouldn't learn anything then, would you? Consult the portion of the Q3 shader manual that talks about skies. It comes with GtkRadiant, under the Help menu. Or find it on Google.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 10:43 PM   #10
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
Quote:
Originally posted by imyourfather
That's what I said.
Actually, you called it animated wallpaper, so roll your uninformed, short-term-memory-problem-having eyes elsewhere.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 10:58 PM   #11
tFighterPilot
Senior Member
 
tFighterPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,729
In the Jedi Order map, they didn't use the shader as a skybox, but just textured the windows with it.

That made it look like a wallpaper.
tFighterPilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 10:25 AM   #12
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
What I meant was that you can't do a skybox out of that animated shader in the kejim texture set.

Wedge, how are those flashes? Did you cheat?

About nearbox: I was thinking on it a few month ago when I first saw it in the Q3A Shader Manual, but never tried. Funny that nobody ever tested it. I'll give it a try at home.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 10:32 AM   #13
tFighterPilot
Senior Member
 
tFighterPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,729
I knew I can't do that.

The problem, is that this nearbox, farbox seems to have only two layers.

The curascant shader has 4.

It won't look as good with only one layer of buildings and one layer of cars.
tFighterPilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Can you do a sky with curascant shader?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:22 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.