lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: How screwed am I?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-14-2003, 12:14 PM   #1
Mr. Chopper
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 139
How screwed am I?

I accidentally deleted the newest version of my map, but I still have the .bsp file. Is there any way to convert that back into a .map file or am I royally screwed?
Mr. Chopper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 12:22 PM   #2
tFighterPilot
Senior Member
 
tFighterPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,729
You are royalty screwd.

There is a convertor, but it only works for Quake III

In a second thought, you probably still got the .bak file, turn it into .map file.
tFighterPilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 12:40 PM   #3
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
Yeh, don't panic - change the .bak file into a .map file for this map and it should work. There are also things called snapshots, look in the maps folder, a folder called snapshots, which have previous versions of the map. Learn from this - make millions of backups, maps are v delicate and tend to go wrong for no reason, a lot like VCRs.


------------------------------------------------
www.map-review.com
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 12:44 PM   #4
Mr. Chopper
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 139
yes but you see, I don't have those either. All I have is the freaking BSP.... so yes, I am freaking out.
Mr. Chopper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 12:57 PM   #5
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
If you don't have a .bak file or a .map file or any other kind of backup, you are just going to have to bite the bullet and start over. Anything you made before can be made again, don't sweat it too much; this will probably be a decent learning experience. I know that every time I lose sensitive data, it just makes me that much more careful in the future. Plus, now you'll have a chance to re-do anything that you weren't 100% satisfied with the first time around. Did you half-ass anything? Was there anything you felt like was a quick and dirty hack job? Now you can take this opportunity to rework any problem areas that you might not have otherwise. I know it seems sucky right now, but everything will work out in the long run. Hang in there.
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 12:57 PM   #6
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
So you don't have the .bak file OR any of the snapshots? How did that happen?


------------------------------------------------
www.map-review.com
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 01:09 PM   #7
Mr. Chopper
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 139
Screw it. I put M O N T H S of work into my map and now there's no conversion utility or no one will say where it is. Hell with it, I'm done.
Mr. Chopper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 01:20 PM   #8
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
Now hang on. I can't see the point of asking for help then rushing off before people have a chance to try to help! I'd be going kinda mad too if I lost a big map, infact I have twice, both times I kinda lost it. Anyway, hopefully you'll calm down and return.

There is, to the best of my knowledge no conversion utility.

If you have no bak file (you always get one by default, so if you deleted that too) check the snapshots folder, in the maps folder, every map you've worked on can have up to 10 backups there, I managed to find one which meant I lost only about 2 hours of work when I thought I'd lost a whole month. Unless you deleted them or you had the snapshots utility turned off (it is on by default I think) then you will have them, 10 of them. The latest should be no more than a week or two old at the worst.

If you don't have snapshots, or bak files, which mean you deleted all of these, then have you made any other backups, like calling the file a different name at somepoint, which would leave you and older version with a different name?

If you have none of these, and th bsp is not good enough for release, as a map reviewer myself and hopefully some other map reviewers would be happy to take a look at it for you to at least give you some feedback on it, so its not a complete waste of time.


------------------------------------------------
www.map-review.com

Last edited by Kengo; 07-14-2003 at 01:49 PM.
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 02:35 PM   #9
tFighterPilot
Senior Member
 
tFighterPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,729
How did it happen anyway?
tFighterPilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 03:56 PM   #10
Mr. Chopper
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 139
Thank God for file restore apps.
Mr. Chopper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 04:38 PM   #11
Kengo
 
Kengo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radio Free Europe
Posts: 1,145
Glad to hear you got it back!

Twice its happened to me, twice I nearly went mad, twice I luckily got it party back


------------------------------------------------
www.map-review.com
Kengo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 10:34 PM   #12
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
Uuummm..obviously know one here knows where the map files are. I will tell you. There are 4 count them....4 back up files for future reference. They are located in the maps folder for those who don't know.

1) autosave.map
2)autosave.bak
3)ORIGNAL.map
4)ORIGINAL.bak

ORIGINAL being the name of your map.........

Thank you come again........


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 11:56 PM   #13
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Kengo mentioned "snapshots" before--keep in mind that, as handy as they are, they aren't turned on by default in GtkRadiant. You have to enable them yourself in the preferences.
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2003, 09:56 AM   #14
tFighterPilot
Senior Member
 
tFighterPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,729
They are in JK2Radiant
tFighterPilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2003, 01:17 PM   #15
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
there was a console command... but i think they took it out with one of the patches :/
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2003, 01:38 PM   #16
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
I've been thinking about making a simple plugin or hack for GtkRadiant that enables saving of a backup to the location of your current map\backup00.map, backup01, map, etc. Probably bound to CTRL-B. It doesn't sound very useful, but the JK level editor, JED has it, and it's saved myself and others so many times.


Clarionet, n. An instrument of torture operated by a person with cotton in his ears. There are two instruments that are worse than a clarionet -- two clarionets.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2003, 06:05 PM   #17
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
I think snapshots are for the same reason. The shortcut is CTRL+S. If snapshots are enabled of course.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > How screwed am I?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.