lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Cutting patches
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-10-2003, 11:22 AM   #1
JediForever
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 8
Cutting patches

Hello,

I'm having some trouble with cutting some patches. I basically have a curved wall that I formed from making a 3x3 patch and connecting it to two other walls on each end. I thickened it, and moved the vertices up so it would match the height of the walls. My problem is, when I select the patch that I thickened, and try to clip it (I did Shift+enter, enter, and just shift and clicked), it says deselecting patch for operation. And I'm basically trying to cut a slit into the wall, but it won't let me. My question is how do I do that? Or what would be an easier method of creating a curved wall that's solid and cutting it? Thanks.

-JF


-JF
JediForever is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2003, 12:41 PM   #2
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
You cannot use the clip tool or CSG subtract on patches. What you'll have to do it edit the vertices to get the effect you want. Make good use of the Curve > Insert > Rows / Columns options.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2003, 02:38 PM   #3
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Try the bobToolz Split Patch. Under plugins.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2003, 08:10 PM   #4
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
If you use bobtoolz split patch you're still need to edit the vertices, though.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2003, 09:46 PM   #5
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
It depends on the situation.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2003, 11:55 PM   #6
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
It is situational, yes. But the situation he describes (cutting a slit into a wall) requires vertex editing.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2003, 01:04 AM   #7
JediForever
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 8
Thanks alot guys.

EDIT: Do I just delete the vertices in the patch? How do I make a gap where it's solid on the top and bottom?


-JF
JediForever is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2003, 12:07 PM   #8
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
By moving the vertices around.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2003, 12:12 PM   #9
JediForever
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 8
Ok, sorry. And I do that before or after I thicken it? In other words, should I make the brush, convert to patch, make it the shape I want it, then thicken? Or move the vertices to make the gap and then thicken?


-JF
JediForever is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2003, 12:46 PM   #10
Emon
Strong Bad's Henchman
 
Emon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Massassi Temple
Posts: 3,468
Probably doesn't matter. Before thicken is less work.
Emon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 03:15 AM   #11
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Quote:
Originally posted by Emon
Probably doesn't matter. Before thicken is less work.
Thats only if it thikens in the right direction I have made countless patches and thinkened them only to discover it thikened in the wrong direction so i end up resizing stuff. but yeah in the long run thinkening after geting it the way u want ti seems to be quicker. (of course(sp?) I ussually just make my own thikened patches instead of ussing the sortcut way)

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 03:27 AM   #12
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Hmm...

Patches will thicken on the non textured side always. So to change the direction you have to inverse their matrix.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 04:20 AM   #13
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
ooohhhh Thx Leslie you always seem to have an answer

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Cutting patches

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.