lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Group??
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-13-2003, 06:01 PM   #1
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Group??

I am looking to find a way to make three brushes one solid brush. That means not cut like "func_group" does. The reason is that in-game, they look like they are three seperate brushes. How do I do that?

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-13-2003, 06:34 PM   #2
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Ok, well, there are a few caveats here, but you've got some options.

Look carefully at the three brushes you want to combine and observe: if they were to be combined into one brush, would any of the angles at any of the vertices be greater than 179? If not, then, by all means, select all three brushes and do a ctrl+u "CSG Merge" operation.

If "CSG Merge" is impossible in your situation, you can always head over to the SplashDamage forums and search for "phong" to learn how to impliment phong shading in the q3map2 compiler. You'll have to use q3map2 to compile your map, and you'll have to code your own phong shader, but it will smooth out those ugly lighting hiccups you seem to be complaining about now.
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 08:51 AM   #3
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
A note: CSG Merge works in GtkRadiant only. In JK2Radiant CTRL+U means 'Make non-solid'.


L. J.

Last edited by Leslie Judge; 07-14-2003 at 09:36 AM.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 10:19 AM   #4
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Oh, oops, silly me: I always assume everybody is using Gtk. So yeah, everybody, use GtkRadiant, dammit.
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2003, 10:58 AM   #5
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
Yeah... I forget it too, all the time.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2003, 04:48 AM   #6
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Thankfully jka will use gtk instead of q3rad

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-15-2003, 11:03 AM   #7
Omikron
 
Omikron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 264
Well, thats good to know.
And for the brushes, if they are simple, make 'em again, or just texture them better (thats wat makes seperate brushes look seperate in my maps).




Its nice to be important but its more important to be nice - Scooter, Move Yours Ass
Gunners rule!
Omikron is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 06:03 PM   #8
mknote
 
mknote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Selma, IN
Posts: 163
Well, I am using JK2 Rad. I tried GTK and hated it. So, how do I do it in JK2 Rad?

MK
mknote is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 06:11 PM   #9
rgoer
 
rgoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 316
Ugh, here's how you do it: you get over it and learn to love Gtk. What did you hate about it, exactly? You can make it behave almost exactly like JK2, but without the constant bugginess and crashing... all it takes is a few minutes to actually look through the preferences. For cryin' out loud--JK2Radiant absolutely sucks, and I've got no sympathy for those who kid themselves into thinking otherwise. That is what you're doing, by the way: kidding yourself. Give yourself a week with GtkRadiant... trust me, it will be time well-spent.
rgoer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-16-2003, 06:13 PM   #10
Leslie Judge
Teacher
 
Leslie Judge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,382
No way except of deleting them a build only one instead of the previous three.


L. J.
Leslie Judge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2003, 03:15 AM   #11
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Quote:
Originally posted by rgoer
Ugh, here's how you do it: you get over it and learn to love Gtk. What did you hate about it, exactly? You can make it behave almost exactly like JK2, but without the constant bugginess and crashing... all it takes is a few minutes to actually look through the preferences. For cryin' out loud--JK2Radiant absolutely sucks, and I've got no sympathy for those who kid themselves into thinking otherwise. That is what you're doing, by the way: kidding yourself. Give yourself a week with GtkRadiant... trust me, it will be time well-spent.
This is a little off topic but if we were on a server I would have to say u have the link to gtk radiant bound to a key. You must have emorized the url by now lol

On topic: If they are similarenough just make them into one brush like i do

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Group??

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:16 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.