lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: A problem that happened in my game...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-01-2003, 05:28 AM   #1
woodenstool
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 102
A problem that happened in my game...

I'm just at the very first area of year 3 (on deck on the ship) and I step into the cabin. Then the game pretty much just freezes. The light on the CD-ROM drive is blinking and there are very short blasts of sound, but I can't move (the visuals are completely frozen). I can see all my crew members sprouted and somebody just around the corner holding a gun.

I just want to know if anyone else has this same problem, or if it's just MY computer. I've attempted to reload it like ten times and I leave it on for 15 minutes at a time, but to no prevail. Is there any way I can fix this? The game had been working fine before.
woodenstool is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2003, 05:58 AM   #2
pleto4_ryan
 
pleto4_ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Greece
Posts: 545
used any of the patches...?

go to "game help" directorie of the forum...you will find mucho help...


"They've come to witness the Beginning.
The rebirth of Paradise, despoiled by mankind."
Claudia

A journey of a 1000 battles, begins with a single blow.

Un-break my heart...
pleto4_ryan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2003, 11:00 AM   #3
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,202
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Firstly, this is the wrong forum. I've moved it for you but please take more care in future. With that said..

I had this same problem on Year 2.

Basically, one of the files on my CD had become corrupted due to a scratch or something on the CD. This resulted in the game not being able to read it while playing, thus it constantly struggling to read the CD but not actually getting anywhere.

To find out which file is corrupted, open up your Grim Fandango directory. Now, copy every file from your data directory on the CD into the one on your hard-drive. If you have indeed got a corrupted file, one of them won't copy across. Once you've found out which file it is, you can take some steps to replace that file such as borrowing a friend's GF cd and copying it from there.

As a side note, if you copy every single file on both CDs into your data directory, you can run the game without having to put the CDs into the drive. This will increase how fast scenes load and such, so I recommend it.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2003, 02:21 PM   #4
scabb
zo
 
scabb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Wakefield, UK
Posts: 1,652
Quote:
Originally posted by Thrik
As a side note, if you copy every single file on both CDs into your data directory, you can run the game without having to put the CDs into the drive. This will increase how fast scenes load and such, so I recommend it.
Yes, to do so, see here

If that fails, you can always try a save game - I have a bunch, I'm not sure if Thrik's put them up on the GFN yet though. Just email me if you want one.

scabb @ dsl.pipex.com
scabb is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Grim Fandango Discussion > General Forums > Glottis' Garage > A problem that happened in my game...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.