lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Carth Bug Solved *MAJOR SPOILERS, BUT I GOT IT ALL COVERED, READ!*
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-21-2003, 07:54 PM   #1
Katarn07
Joxer the Mighty
 
Katarn07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: No clue
Posts: 4,250
Carth Bug Solved *MAJOR SPOILERS, BUT I GOT IT ALL COVERED, READ!*

I was lucky that I did not encounter it, as I know many didn't encounter it either. But for any XBOX owners here or any of you getting it on XBOX, here's a tip on how to avoid a bug that is not able to be fixed and you can only beat the game by... starting ALL over (unless you have several game saves and one being before you leave the 5th world) So here goes, as spoiler free as possible.

After completing the 1st 5 planets (this includes Taris and up) there is an option you have that may trigger this dreaded bug that BioWare and gamers having the problem have found the cause of.

After completing the first 4 worlds, come back to this thread and read the spoiler box

spoiler:
When choosing which party member to break you all free, do NOT choose Mission to do so. We know she can't stand up in a fight and you'll use her cloak, but when you open the detention center doors cloaked, she remains so and after the climax of the game comes an important cutscene with her in it. If she's cloaked, the game can't show her.


As a result, the game freezes trying to get the model shown and there has yet to be a way to fix this other than doing what I said. You really have no idea how close I came to selecting this option and I am relieved I took another course of action

This may not be the only solution, but it is how to avoid encountering it in the first place



Like to read? Like fantasy stories? Like doing people you've never met in person favors? Then read and review my original movie screenplay! You will, you must. It is your destiny....

Check out the best shots of all of my collections along with some of my better attempts at artwork here.
Katarn07 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2003, 10:23 PM   #2
ultimaster
 
ultimaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: G-Spot, Ontario
Posts: 174
Great...now I have to start over then


The Countdown is on...
ultimaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2003, 12:34 PM   #3
Hannibal
Senior Member
 
Hannibal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Indoors
Posts: 3,225
Current Game: Black Ops/Biosock
LFN Staff Member 
You don't have to start over. Just either don't use Mission or if any of your characters have high awareness equip them with awareness enhancing belts and head gear.
Then they'll see Mission.

Hannibal is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2003, 02:23 AM   #4
RedDwarfe
Rookie
 
RedDwarfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: KarribaAath
Posts: 25
ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH HHHH



Ok so I have 2 saves...both of them AFTER i
spoiler:
have beaten malak round 1 on the leviathan and then go back to the ship after escaping


What can I do? I used mission!!!

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO


Dude,
Meet me in Montana,
Love,
Jesus (H Christ)
RedDwarfe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2003, 02:35 AM   #5
RedDwarfe
Rookie
 
RedDwarfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: KarribaAath
Posts: 25
Oh yeah and I dont think any of my characters have a high enough awareness...

I am so angry................arghhhhhhhh! 40 hours of gameplay.....for NOTHING ljfgf'ffjs'p0fjsdklfjsdkljf


Dude,
Meet me in Montana,
Love,
Jesus (H Christ)
RedDwarfe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2003, 01:46 PM   #6
Jedi Apprentice
Fallen
 
Jedi Apprentice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SWK Forums, EB and JAF
Posts: 1,323
Dude, it sounds like you already got past that part.

No sweat.

If it didn't mess up whenever you were on that part, then you have nothing to worry about it.


WWJD
Video Game Central---Administrator
StarWarsKnights.com
EchoBase Network--News Poster

This do in remeberance of Burrie:
Jedi Apprentice is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2003, 02:23 AM   #7
RedDwarfe
Rookie
 
RedDwarfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: KarribaAath
Posts: 25
No thats the problem is did mess up and i cant change anything- dohhhh

have to start again- but oh well i guess nothing i can do....except fix all the attribute and force and feat mistakes i made before... (have a better tank of the light in the end i guess) But still i got to see all that important story stuff......and now have to wait to play it out....


Dude,
Meet me in Montana,
Love,
Jesus (H Christ)
RedDwarfe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2003, 02:51 AM   #8
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,806
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
Even if they have a low awareness, if you let the xbox sit there for long enough the character will eventually detect her.
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2003, 04:11 PM   #9
RedDwarfe
Rookie
 
RedDwarfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: KarribaAath
Posts: 25
Ok im gunna try just letting the xbox sit there and see if it works... Has anyone else been able to just let the xbox sit there and have it work?

*fingers crossed*


Dude,
Meet me in Montana,
Love,
Jesus (H Christ)
RedDwarfe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-09-2003, 05:44 PM   #10
RedDwarfe
Rookie
 
RedDwarfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: KarribaAath
Posts: 25
Sat there for an hour....... no detection.... Oh well- thanks for trying to help... Any other flaws i should watch out for?


Dude,
Meet me in Montana,
Love,
Jesus (H Christ)
RedDwarfe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2003, 10:06 PM   #11
boinga1
Pimpin' ain't easy
 
boinga1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,931
Let it try overnight... or when you're at school/work.
boinga1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2003, 03:52 AM   #12
RedDwarfe
Rookie
 
RedDwarfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: KarribaAath
Posts: 25
tried that too

Yeah I tried letting it sit for over 24 hours....nadda... But its cool- Im already past the bug part- I used HK the second time i got to the bug. Turned out to be for the better- I missed ALOT of the quests possible on Taris and as a result now I am full Uber-Light God. Thanks for attempts to help me though everyone!


Dude,
Meet me in Montana,
Love,
Jesus (H Christ)
RedDwarfe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-22-2003, 06:44 PM   #13
SamNMax
Forum Idiot
 
SamNMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: All around America, searching for Bruno
Posts: 1,262
Johani does the same thing Mission does. Thank God I turned her cloak off befor relicing the crew.


"There are no words that can discribe such a thing."
"Stupid and inane are the words I like to use."
SamNMax is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > Ebon Hawk's Machine Room > Carth Bug Solved *MAJOR SPOILERS, BUT I GOT IT ALL COVERED, READ!*

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:28 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.