lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: WTF? XSI 3.0 importer not working.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-20-2003, 08:37 PM   #1
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
WTF? XSI 3.0 importer not working.

Ehem... guys, Raven... you forgot to supply a valid XSI importer/exporter for 3dsmax that can import the XSI files in the so called JA modelling tools =).



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-21-2003, 02:45 PM   #2
Duncan_10158
 
Duncan_10158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 365
good point.

i couldnt import the xsi files from the JA modelling set neighter. also i couldnt find another xsi importer that works.
did somebody get the new xsi files imported? how? did you use the old xsi importer from raven with 3dsmax 5? does that work at all?

a lot of questions, but i think i come close to bring all the new animations i did finaly into JA.
Duncan_10158 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-21-2003, 04:10 PM   #3
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Download the XSI importer fot 3dsmax from www.softimage.com. That will succesfully import the dotXSI files.

To find the plugin more easily I recomend you to go first to Site Map and then select Converters from one of the boxes below.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2003, 11:06 AM   #4
Duncan_10158
 
Duncan_10158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 365
Thanks CortoCG,
i got the xsi importer plugin and it works for 3dsmax 4.2 too.

and here is the link for everyone else looking for it. but you need to be registerd to get it:
http://www.softimage.com/download/xs...ax/default.htm
Duncan_10158 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2003, 11:12 AM   #5
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
No es nada Duncan, you're welcome =).

Another thing, Im working on a clean JA humanoid skeleton, Ill release it later on tonight.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2003, 05:13 AM   #6
Tragas
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Is the skeleton in the root.xsi file a creature from Hoth from the begining of ESB?

Also, I don't know Max so well and I'm curious to know if there's a way to do all of this in Maya and then stuff it back into Max to export it to the game engine.
Tragas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2003, 12:10 PM   #7
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
There is a way to do the model in Maya and then finish the process in 3dsmax, no big deal at all. But heres what I would like to try, and I need a Maya user to do it. If you have Maya 4 or up theres a dotXSI exchange plugin for it at www.softimage.com.
Its a beta stages, but it would be cool to see if the plugin is good enough to make the models completely on Maya, then export them to .xsi and compile them with carcass.
Pls, register on my forums and I well get to the bottom of this (the link for it is on signature).



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2003, 01:39 PM   #8
Tragas
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Yea I tried downloading the plug in for the exporter but the instructions are incomplete or inaccurate. If anyone has the MEL script that it's supposed to make from the makefile.mak and wouldn't mind giving it to me please let me know.
Tragas is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > WTF? XSI 3.0 importer not working.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.