lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Water Shader problem....
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-21-2003, 03:52 PM   #1
Kyle_KatarnJedi
 
Kyle_KatarnJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Yavin 4
Posts: 196
Water Shader problem....

In my map I have 2 custom shaders, the sky works fine, but my water doesnt seem to. Here is the code.... I get the texture in Raident but no whitebox around it...

Code:
textures/jc2/sky_light
{
qer_editorimage textures/skies/sky.tga
q3map_skylight 350
surfaceparm sky
surfaceparm noimpact
surfaceparm nomarks
notc
q3map_nolightmap
skyParms textures/jc2/sky 512 -
}

textures/jc2/water
{
	qer_editorimage	textures/jc2/water
	surfaceparm	metalsteps
	surfaceparm	nonsolid
	surfaceparm	nonopaque
	surfaceparm	water
	surfaceparm	fog
	surfaceparm	trans
	q3map_material	Water
	q3map_nolightmap
	q3map_onlyvertexlighting
	fogparms	( 0.113725 0.137255 0.380392 ) 1024.0
    {
        map textures/jc2/water
        blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA
        rgbGen exactVertex
        alphaGen const 0.2
        tcMod scroll 0.005 0.01
        tcMod turb 1 0.03 0 0.3
    }
    {
        map textures/jc2/water
        blendFunc GL_ONE GL_SRC_ALPHA
        rgbGen exactVertex
        alphaGen const 0.2
        tcMod scroll -0.005 -0.01
        tcMod turb 0 -0.03 0.5 -0.3
    }
}
Perhaps you guys can help me It seems to be soild and not water....


<? require_once("salvation.jesus") ?>

<Jesus Savior of my Soul>

<? require_once("eternallife.jesus") ?>
Kyle_KatarnJedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2003, 02:11 PM   #2
[SASH]Nathan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 49
can u see the water moving in game yet its solid? sumtimes if u make complex water brushs the game will make sum work yet sum will be solid, its all about careful placing of the brushs making sure none are touching the void and not to many other brushs in them/ touching them, also using chaulk to texture the sides of the brushs ( chaulk_nonsolid ) and then texturing top and bottom of the brushs with yur water texture.


www.JK2mods.com
[SASH]Nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2003, 03:43 PM   #3
Eldritch
Mmm, Donuts
 
Eldritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,216
Did you add the new .SHADER file you created to the end of the shaderlist.txt file so that Radiant knows where to find the shader info?

That's the # 1 thing most people forget to do when creating new shaders.

Eldritch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2003, 02:11 AM   #4
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
Also don't forget that sometimes Radiant compiles the water as solid.. It's done it to me and a few other ppl I know.

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2003, 03:38 PM   #5
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Also, try naming your shader something other than the actual water image (just change the textures/jc2/water line to textures/jc2/jc2water or something).


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > Water Shader problem....

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:59 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.