lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Supergrip ???
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-29-2003, 05:05 PM   #1
Straider
Lurker
 
Straider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7
Arrow Supergrip ???

Hey there, sory if this has already been post, but some people telling there is some kind of supergrip, you guys know what this is?
Straider is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2003, 05:58 PM   #2
Kusanavi
 
Kusanavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 159
Current Game: Team Fortress 2
The Walking Carpets Guild Member Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
I have not heard of this "supergrip" and it sounds like a mix of force powers using grip and another force power :|


Kusanavi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2003, 06:03 PM   #3
|GG|Carl
Invisible
 
|GG|Carl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,175
Yeah.. like... lightning and grip or something...
|GG|Carl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2003, 07:19 PM   #4
vert1go
 
vert1go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: England.
Posts: 80
Haven't heard the word 'super-grip' since jk1. In jk1 you would grip someone and then repeatedly tap the grip key, it would kill in a second or two and it was a technique frowned upon by most people.


vert q3.jk.rtcw.
vert1go is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2003, 07:31 PM   #5
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
In JK1 "supergrip" was possible (level 4 grip, hold down the key and then rapidly tap it until you ran out of mana either killing them or rendering them completely immobilized with Absorb), although rendered entirely useless by Protection or a SuperShield.

Yeah, never heard of anything like that in JA, sorry.

Since Grip doesn't even work the same way in JA/JK2 as JK/MotS, I don't think it would have the same effect anyway.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2003, 07:46 PM   #6
MuRaSaMuNe
 
MuRaSaMuNe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 591
Heheh I miss the old super grip and the deadly eye. I kind of wish the protection still deflected bolts though. Never heard of a supergrip in jk2/jka......
MuRaSaMuNe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2003, 09:57 PM   #7
Quin
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 8
speaking of grip... why is it that grip dosen't always activate in JO/JA? Sometimes it works right away and others it takes 5-10 seconds before it grips.
Quin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2003, 10:02 PM   #8
GeckoYamori
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 6
Most likely due to lag between you and the other player.
GeckoYamori is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2003, 11:37 PM   #9
Amidala from Chop Shop
Politically-correct jerk
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In exile
Posts: 1,433
Re: Supergrip ???

Quote:
Originally posted by Straider
Hey there, sory if this has already been post, but some people telling there is some kind of supergrip, you guys know what this is?
Sounds like a denture adhesive to me.
Amidala from Chop Shop is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2003, 01:12 AM   #10
Quin
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 8
I would think its lag... but it happens when used on bots as well. Is there a minimum range?
Quin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2003, 02:47 AM   #11
DungeonShade
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
Well, you can't be behind an object in JA when you use grip. Sometimes you can be near the edge of an object (even one above you) and it will keep you from getting a decent grip. As for JO, I have no idea - I had that prob too sometimes. Ahhh...ns_streets....the memories lol. Me and my bro would really test our skill on that map by playing with 5 bots on our team. Keeping above the negatives was challenging enough, let alone getting to the frag limit.


www.bobandgeorge.com
DungeonShade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2003, 07:06 AM   #12
only1kenobi
 
only1kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: A galaxy far, far away
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally posted by Quin
speaking of grip... why is it that grip dosen't always activate in JO/JA? Sometimes it works right away and others it takes 5-10 seconds before it grips.
I think grip in JA requires precise aim, unlike JO where you could be aiming in the general direction of your enemy and grip them...
only1kenobi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2003, 07:18 AM   #13
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
I never heard of this "super grip" before.

Is it a force combo?




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2003, 11:54 AM   #14
Damar Stiehl
 
Damar Stiehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Sith Temple of Ascention
Posts: 160
Well, maybe Desann's grip from JKO could count as "supergrip" - you couldn't push out of it... Except it doesn't work for the player character, even if you set grip to 200...


Our hearts are free from anger,
Our cause we know is just,
Kill not for joy or hatred,
We fight because we must.
Damar Stiehl is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2003, 12:20 PM   #15
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
You mean the player won't beable to use push to counter the force grip? Like Desann?




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-01-2003, 03:11 PM   #16
Darth Kaan
 
Darth Kaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ruusan
Posts: 900
Re: Re: Supergrip ???

Quote:
Originally posted by Amidala from Chop Shop
Sounds like a denture adhesive to me.
LOL! Now that was funny.

Darth Kaan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-02-2003, 12:07 PM   #17
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Thumbs up

Oh yeah, I remembered the most important part of "super grip" in JK1... you had to use it from the "cycle force power" menu rather than a bound hotkey.

People sometimes called it "Sith Grip" for some reason... ; )


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Strategy Shack > Supergrip ???

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.