lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Teamspeak
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-04-2004, 09:51 PM   #1
Darth Groovy
The Dapper Zabrak
 
Darth Groovy's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Joliet, IL, USA
Posts: 11,297
Current Game: Awaiting Greatness from PS4!
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member LucasCast staff 
Thumbs down Teamspeak

Boy this program is a steaming pile of poo! I was trying to play Call Of Duty today with [echo] clan and it took us forever to get it to work, and then when it did, we only had partial coms, and really bad reverb. Anybody else use this program? If so does it work for you? If it works, then what are we doing wrong?

Also, is there a "better" program for voicechat/gaming out there better than "teamsuck"?

In case you wondering what the Hell Groovy is ranting about, check it out HERE.
Darth Groovy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2004, 09:57 PM   #2
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
Teamspeak kicks ass, I've got absolutely no probs using it, in fact I was about to psot a thread on how more clans should use it.
Of course i don't host it or have anything to do with the server (so i don't know what you're doing wrong), but it's definately great with really good sound quality and no added lag when playing ja with my clan.
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-04-2004, 10:02 PM   #3
snowman21
Junior Member
 
snowman21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: In strongbadia, commanding my troops to destroy the enemies!
Posts: 340
I used to have teamspeak but I didn't know how the heck to use it (back in the days where I didn't know much about pc's.) and I haven't used it since. Maybe if I join a clan that uses it then I'll download it again.



Moderator of Votj Join today!
snowman21 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 12:28 AM   #4
CapNColostomy
Custom User Title
 
CapNColostomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Across your face.
Posts: 2,497
We (>uB<) just recently switched to Team Speak from Roger Wilco. Haven't had anything but luck with it so far, although it doesn't seem to pick up my mic as well as RW did. Which considering some of the language I use in any given game, could be a good thing.


CapNColostomy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 07:35 AM   #5
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
couple things groovy, headset w/ mic solves a few probs, plus, who was hosting the TS server, needs lots of bandwidth i think...

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 10:15 AM   #6
Mex
Not the brightest cookie.
 
Mex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom, Abingdon
Posts: 4,550
I don't really like talking in games, all of those idiots screaming into the Microphones. Does my head in.
Mex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 11:04 AM   #7
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Use roger willco kike CapN said, i use it to play CS with my friends a few years back. Its damn good!




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 03:06 PM   #8
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
Quote:
Originally posted by acdcfanbill
couple things groovy, headset w/ mic solves a few probs, plus, who was hosting the TS server, needs lots of bandwidth i think...
I just looked this up and you need quite a lot of bandwidth, also, you can totally customize your codec settings, i've found trhat some make the sounds slightly muffled (cs caveman style) and some sound very good. Do a bit of experimenting.
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 03:24 PM   #9
Pie™
A peppermint nightmare.
 
Pie™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 4,132
LF Jester Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by |GG|Crow_Nest
Use roger willco kike CapN said, i use it to play CS with my friends a few years back. Its damn good!
Yeah, teamspeak was really laggy when i tried it... Roger Wilco lagged a lot less




Pondering the mystery of rainbows, UFOs, and ****ing magnets.
Pie™ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 03:29 PM   #10
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Call of Duty... Another game I can't play yet... Poodu
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 09:11 PM   #11
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
Quote:
The amount of users, a TeamSpeak server can handle, mostly depends on the server's internet connection, as the cpu-usage is very low.
Quote:
The voice quality and hereby the bandwidth usage is configurable and can be low for modem users or as good as normal phone calls for better connections. Still the client's maximum bandwidth won't exceed 25.9 KBit/s (=3.3 KB/s) upstream.
Configure Configure Configure!

IMO it is much better than my experience with Roger Wilco back in CS. I think you lot need to play on decent servers and press the settings button
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 09:17 PM   #12
KBell
Very Fun Teddy
 
KBell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Your Closet
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally posted by IG-64
Call of Duty... Another game I can't play yet... Poodu

Poodu huh? So was that post


From what I'm hearing, Teamspeak has worked for most. I've talked about it a lot on #PCGamer on MIrc and heard nothing but good things.


KBell is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-05-2004, 09:58 PM   #13
DarkLord60
Something In the Way
 
DarkLord60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 2,436
Teamspeak doesn't work for


_____________________________________________
]

DarkLord60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2004, 04:28 AM   #14
Darth Groovy
The Dapper Zabrak
 
Darth Groovy's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Joliet, IL, USA
Posts: 11,297
Current Game: Awaiting Greatness from PS4!
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member LucasCast staff 
Quote:
Originally posted by acdcfanbill
couple things groovy, headset w/ mic solves a few probs, plus, who was hosting the TS server, needs lots of bandwidth i think...
Well I am using this one: http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm?pa...9&languageid=1

My teamates say they can hear me fine, but we did run into another problem with this horrible buzzing feedback type sound, not sure what it was, or wear it was coming from.
Darth Groovy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2004, 05:51 AM   #15
MysticSpade
awaiting the Unknown
 
MysticSpade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Near Midgar
Posts: 1,295
when i was in IRON Brigade Teamspeak was our main communication software.

we had no problems what-so-ever with it.


XBL GT: MysticSpade
MysticSpade is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2004, 10:32 AM   #16
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
I'm using the same headset/mic groovy has, and I was producing some echo when I spoke.
swphreak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2004, 03:10 PM   #17
Alegis
In hiding
 
Alegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,880
LFN Staff Member 
I haven't tried any other programs but *we* use teamspeak and it works perfectly. Only the hoster of the server said something a while ago it took some bandwidth but TS works fine


-"The glass is neither half-full nor half-empty: it's twice as big as it needs to be."
Alegis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2004, 04:33 PM   #18
Agen
The Spoon Guy
 
Agen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: A house
Posts: 5,216
put your mic level up but mute it
Otherwise you get an echo or a screech (this probably isn't your problem, it's too simple but it could be )
Agen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2004, 04:01 PM   #19
Elijah
"ZDawg"
 
Elijah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Behind you...
Posts: 1,770
GROOVY! Use Ventrilo

http://ventrilo.com

I had a server running off my site for a long while... but its easy to set up, and free.
Elijah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > Teamspeak

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.