lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Editing text reference in the inventory
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-25-2004, 03:35 PM   #1
juleswindu
Rookie
 
juleswindu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 16
Question Editing text reference in the inventory

Does anybody knows how to edit the text references of the items in the inventory?

thx
juleswindu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 03:49 PM   #2
Hoa_Binh
Rookie
 
Hoa_Binh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 22
Do you mean the item descriptions?

If that is what you mean they are stored in dialog.tlk.


/HB

(edit)

And to edit them, look for the TLK editor in the NWN Vault homepage. Should work for the TLK files in KotOR too.
Hoa_Binh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 04:44 PM   #3
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
you can view them with the editor. how to edit the entries remains to be seen.

[EDIT] does anyone know how to edit the dialog.tlk file?
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 04:51 PM   #4
eiz
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 35
You can edit dialog.tlk with a TLK editor.

That's not actually necessary. The only time you are actually forced to use a strref is in 2das.
eiz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 04:57 PM   #5
Kitty Kitty
Junior Member
 
Kitty Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 355
Quote:
Originally posted by Hoa_Binh

And to edit them, look for the TLK editor in the NWN Vault homepage. Should work for the TLK files in KotOR too. [/B]

If that doesn't work, then there's no way to do it for KotOR yet that I would know of.


There's something else to keep in mind however. There was a similar limitation for many mods in NWN, and even there in a multiplayer game, most modders avoided actually changing this file.

Reason being... This is a LARGE file. And besides not wanting to take the time to download it (the thing is over 5 meg for KotOR, and I think it was considerably larger for NWN), a lot of people don't want to change it at all.

Like say I decide to make a custom item. So I add like 3 entries to the file. Ok fine.. now Jawa or someone makes a couple items. Well their items and my item happen to both use the same reference numbers. Hmm...

With a large file like this, you can see where it quickly gets messy, and why people wouldn't want to DL 5+ megs just so the spiffy new saber you made has unique text strings.

Now I'm not saying don't bother.. just pointing out that whenever modding in ways you think you'll ever want to actually release.. TRY very hard to never actually have to change dialog.tlk to do it. It's a good habbit to get into.

-Kitty


Kitty Kitty is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 05:09 PM   #6
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
okay then. how do you edit an item's description without editing the dialog.tlk file.
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 05:11 PM   #7
Kitty Kitty
Junior Member
 
Kitty Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 355
Honestly, I haven't tried it yet myself. But Eiz suggested doing it in an alternate way in this thread: Link (as he posted above)

-Kitty


Kitty Kitty is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 05:12 PM   #8
eiz
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 35
It's explained in the linked thread. Basically you need to set the strref to -1 and add an entry for your language.
eiz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 05:57 PM   #9
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
hey thanks alot. any idea what the gender option is for?
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2004, 06:25 PM   #10
eidospsogos
Veteran
 
eidospsogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 906
one more question. this works. but i am getting white squares in the black background of the gui. i am assuming there are coming after hard line breaks(you know hitting enter). anyone know how to get rid of them?

[EDIT] i got rid of them, but only by opening the gff for the emporium and copying out the marks used to make hard returns. does anyone know if this is a common keyboard character or where it is found, etc? i would hate to have to open another .gff everytime i want to change an item' s description.

Last edited by eidospsogos; 01-25-2004 at 08:09 PM.
eidospsogos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2004, 07:40 PM   #11
andargor
Rookie
 
andargor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally posted by eidospsogos
[EDIT] i got rid of them, but only by opening the gff for the emporium and copying out the marks used to make hard returns. does anyone know if this is a common keyboard character or where it is found, etc? i would hate to have to open another .gff everytime i want to change an item' s description.
KotOR outputs text line breaks as newline (0x0A), la UNIX. GFF Editor converts any text pasted as DOS format (carriage return 0x0C and then newline 0x0A). I've had to do the same kind of fiddling you did to get GFF Editor to take only newlines.

Andargor
andargor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Editing text reference in the inventory

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:50 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.