lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: X-TIE Ugly Possibility (Help Needed First)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-30-2004, 10:31 PM   #1
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
X-TIE Ugly Possibility (Help Needed First)

O.K., I need a lot of help!! If someone could tell me why the following is happening and how I could fix it, I would be very grateful.


Problem:


I am making a X-TIE Ugly (TIE Fighter with X-wing cockpit). I am trying to replace the TIE cockpit files with the X-Wing cockpit files. I finally do it. Then, I rename all of the things in the models/player folder like this:



it was- models/players/x-wing/x-wings

I made it- models/players/x-tie-ugly/x-wings



Then, I load up the game and try to spawn the X-TIE Ugly. It says something like:



"models/players/x-tie-ugly/model.glm has wrong version [5 (something something something and so on) should be 6]"



What the hell does that mean?!?! I don't know how to fix it either. I have tried everything to my modding knowledge.


So, if there is no easy way around this, (I don't know how to make models) I hope that someone would be nice enough to make models for me (and the other files in models/players/(ship name) like the .md3's, .gla's, and .glm's and this person telling me what I would rename the skins, etc.).


Thank you very much.




- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-01-2004, 12:14 PM   #2
Wudan
Got Balance?
 
Wudan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Salt Lake, UT
Posts: 1,442
Did you make the model in the:
I made it- models/players/x-tie-ugly/
folder? Based on your post, it doesn't sound like you did - what did you make?

The model.glm in that folder has the wrong version, so JKA refuses to load it.


Mt-Wudan.com
I made a silly little program called Dragon, which is an animation tool for the GLA format, used in Jedi Outcast, Jedi Academy and Krakatoa.
Wudan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-01-2004, 01:48 PM   #3
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Umm, no. I don't know how to make a model. Could you please tell me which program(s) I should get? Also, how do I make them after that? Please give me a detailed description/steps on how to.

Thank you.





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-01-2004, 01:52 PM   #4
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Oh, you also asked what I made. Nothing. I simply created a new folder in models/players called x-tie-ugly and put X-wing skins of the body and the X-wing .md3's in it. I also renamed the folder names in the model.glm files to models/players/x-tie-ugly and it didn't work. So, please tell me my above post.





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2004, 09:22 PM   #5
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Umm, I would really like some help here please. What program do I need to model? And all the other stuff like how long it takes, how to turn it into a vehicle, how to make the .md3 files, etc.




- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2004, 10:55 PM   #6
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
to make a vehicle you'll need 3ds max or maya.... if all you want to do is edit and resave the .md3 you can get gmax or milkshape.


Sounds like you tryed making the model into a player model or something... a .md3 is a map object... you place the "modelname".md3 in a map. It's not a playable objet... this meaning that it can't be a vehicle or a player model unless it is set up to be one in amodeling proram..

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > X-TIE Ugly Possibility (Help Needed First)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.