lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Moving Brush
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-23-2004, 04:40 PM   #1
ninjaofthenorth
Rookie
 
ninjaofthenorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 13
Moving Brush

Ok, heres the scoop. I need to make a brush move in game, but all I want it to do is go one way when I push a button, and go the other way when you push the button again. A fx_train wont work (at least to my knowlege) because I dont want it to go in a circle, and a fx_platform goes up and down, while the brush i want to move needs to go horizontially.
Let the flaming begin.
ninjaofthenorth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2004, 05:01 PM   #2
stuna213
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 61
ok the answer is scripting now to find out how to do this search the forums for icarus scripiting and behaved. hope it helps
stuna213 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2004, 05:12 PM   #3
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
There must be an easier way like a door perhaps? Just set a huge lip on the door. You can use the TOGGLE feature for the start and end features. So only when you are in the trigger pressing use it will move.


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2004, 08:03 PM   #4
Shadow_stone
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 72
and put a high wait, or else it just goes right back :P
Shadow_stone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2004, 11:13 PM   #5
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
No, no wait key. When you use the TOGGLE option it should ONLY move when you press USE and stop at the lip. If you want it to do the wait you can do that also.


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2004, 11:28 PM   #6
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
I think you can make a func_platform go sideways with the directional keys, right? but yeah, lauser seems to have figured it out the easy way. Hmmm...


Ill map it real fast and let you guys know.
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-23-2004, 11:37 PM   #7
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Yup, worked like a charm. Just make sure on your trigger multiple, you have "use_switch" (or something like that) checked, and give the trigger a wait of maybe 2, that means you cant use the trigger for 2 seconds. Other wise, if you dont give the trigger the wait, and you press the button, it will think you have pressed it a lot, causing the door to move back and forth.

Nice thinking lauser, heh, I was about to make a script and everything :-D
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2004, 03:32 AM   #8
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
Ah...good. Makes things much easier then.


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-24-2004, 08:38 AM   #9
ninjaofthenorth
Rookie
 
ninjaofthenorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 13
Hooray! Thanks a lot guys!


http://www.clanowf.com/ninja
The best site I ever made
ninjaofthenorth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > Moving Brush

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.