lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: strafe jumping in seige?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-01-2004, 01:59 PM   #1
stubert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 227
strafe jumping in seige?

do you guys have any idea why you can't strafe jump under any class is siege andhow this might be undone?
stubert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2004, 03:57 PM   #2
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Define strafe jumping.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2004, 05:10 PM   #3
stubert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 227
the technique in quake 3 based games that allows a player to move very fast.

for instance, i can grab the flag on mp/ctf4 in 13 seconds and score a point be 20 seconds into a game. it's an integral part of the hardcore gaming scene and is purposefully disabled in seige mode on jk3


if you'd like a demonstration, send me an aim (stubert311)
stubert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2004, 08:32 PM   #4
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
what buttons do you use to strafe jump? just left and right plus jump?


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2004, 08:38 PM   #5
stubert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 227
http://www.trickingq3.com/Tutorials/..._Tutorial.html


that tutorial should answer all your questions, it's much the same for jk2/3
stubert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2004, 12:59 AM   #6
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Ok, well since Jump Strafing (at least I heard) is suppose to be an exploit of the Quake movement code, I honestly can't say how it doesn't work in Seige. Does it work in the other gametypes?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2004, 02:01 AM   #7
stubert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 227
well.. it's not an exploit.. it was a bug in quake 2 but since it added so much dimention to the game they kept it in the game.. it works in every gametype but siege in jk3 and i remember reading the purposefully disabled it
stubert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2004, 04:05 PM   #8
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Well, I meant exploit as in it was originally not intended.

Anyway, this means that there has to be an exception set up in the bg_pmove.c and/or or possibly the g_active.c. Look for g_gametype checks in those files and you should be able to backtrack it.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2004, 04:50 PM   #9
stubert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 227
yep found it

static void PM_Accelerate(


must have missed it
stubert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > strafe jumping in seige?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:30 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.