lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: water problem
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-30-2004, 01:16 PM   #1
Shadow_stone
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 72
water problem

hey, is there a way to get rid of the way (im not sure how to explain this but)

The bespin and yavin water make a map/object all blue/green when it's near the water. Meaning the model in map becomes all blue when its near the water, (it kinda wrecks the image of it... so is there a way to somehow get rid of it ?

The water in the commons isn't what i want (cuz of the way it moves)

Maybe there is another shader that has the same water type effects as the bespon water but doesn't turn its serroundings all blue
(or green for yavin water)
Shadow_stone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2004, 02:17 PM   #2
Jedi_Vogel
Forumite
 
Jedi_Vogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 663
Hmm...

1. Try a different water?
2. Modify the shader?

Post the appropriate water shader here and maybe someone versed in shaders can figure it out *ie, not me* *lol*


Jedi_Vogel (aka {KoH}Zandir{JK})
Website: www.resource-centre.net
Do or Do Not. There is no Try.
Jedi_Vogel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2004, 03:00 PM   #3
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
This must befor JK2 game because that doesn't happen anymore with JA shaders that I'm aware of. Yes you may have to modify a shader and get rid of any FOG parameters.


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2004, 04:17 PM   #4
Shadow_stone
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 72
textures/JediHome/water2
{
qer_editorimage textures/JediHome/water1
surfaceparm nonsolid
surfaceparm nonopaque
surfaceparm water
surfaceparm fog
surfaceparm trans
q3map_material Water
q3map_nolightmap
q3map_onlyvertexlighting
fogparms ( 0.113725 0.137255 0.380392 ) 1024.0
{
map textures/JediHome/water1
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA
rgbGen exactVertex
alphaGen const 0.2
tcMod scroll 0.005 0.01
tcMod turb 1 0.03 0 0.3
}
{
map textures/JediHome/water1
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_SRC_ALPHA
rgbGen exactVertex
alphaGen const 0.2
tcMod scroll -0.005 -0.01
tcMod turb 0 -0.03 0.5 -0.3
}
}



this is the water shader im trying to use for water, (it makes the water movements but its in a solid form, meaning its solid.
What do i do to make it non solid?
Shadow_stone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2004, 05:25 PM   #5
Jedi_Vogel
Forumite
 
Jedi_Vogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 663
Point 1

Quote:
Originally posted by lauser
get rid of any FOG parameters.
Point 2, caulk the other sides of your brush (not the upper or undersides) with caulk_nonsolid... I believe.


Jedi_Vogel (aka {KoH}Zandir{JK})
Website: www.resource-centre.net
Do or Do Not. There is no Try.
Jedi_Vogel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2004, 06:09 PM   #6
Shadow_stone
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 72
alright well ill tell u my idea, it was to create a custom bancta tank, so when u neter the glass goes down as the water goes up, so all sides have to visible ...
Shadow_stone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-31-2004, 01:55 AM   #7
lauser
 
lauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 428
Okay again is this for JK2? You didn't specify. Also, if you are using JK2 you need to use caulk_nonsolid for your brush then cover the TOP and BOTTOM of your brush with water texture.
For JA game you use caulk_water for the brush and ONLY cover the top.


My kung fu is also very weak
lauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2004, 03:49 PM   #8
Shadow_stone
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 72
yeah sry this is for JA, but now how do i get rid of the WARNING:Texture has lightmap but no lightmap stage
when i load the map that appears like 3 dozen times.
(with that custom water texture)
is there something i have to type in the shader?

this is my shader
Quote:
textures/JediHome/water_1
{
qer_editorimage textures/JediHome/water_1
surfaceparm nonsolid
surfaceparm water
surfaceparm fog
surfaceparm trans
q3map_material Water
q3map_nolightmap
q3map_onlyvertexlighting
fogparms ( 0.115098 0.122157 0.0431373 ) 128.0
{
map textures/JediHome/water_1
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA
rgbGen exactVertex
alphaGen const 0.9
tcMod turb 0 0.08 0.04 0.08
tcMod scroll -0.05 -0.001
tcMod scale 3 3
}
{
map textures/JediHome/water_1
blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA
alphaGen const 0.33
tcMod turb 0 0.08 0.04 0.08
tcMod scale 3 3
}
{
map textures/JediHome/water_1
blendFunc GL_DST_COLOR GL_ONE
tcMod scroll 0.05 0.1
tcMod scale 3 3
}
{
map textures/common/stars
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE
rgbGen wave sin 0 1 0 0.5
}
}
Shadow_stone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2004, 12:16 PM   #9
Shadow_stone
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 72
anybody know? this is the only thing preventing me from releasing my map...

edit*
alright nvm its good

Last edited by Shadow_stone; 08-04-2004 at 03:07 PM.
Shadow_stone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > water problem

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.