lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: JK is acting screwy!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-31-2003, 11:38 AM   #1
Ockniel
 
Ockniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: at a theater near you!
Posts: 608
Question JK is acting screwy!

My jk2 wont install! I know this shouldn't by in this forum but I think you all could help me more. anyways...

I just uninstalled it cause my gtk wasn't working right so when I tried to install it I get this message

---------------------------------------------
Component: Game
File Group: Game Files
File: :\GameData\Gamedata\base\assets1.pk3
Error: Data error (cyclic redundancy check).
---------------------------------------------

Please Help!!!
I must have it installed!!!
Ockniel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2003, 12:49 PM   #2
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
did you run the game uninstaller from the launcher?
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2003, 11:52 PM   #3
wannadie
 
wannadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 42
A crc error? that means the checksum is wrong which means the file is corrupted. My guess is the disk is scratched right where the data for the "assets1.pk3" file is written.

Have a look at the disk.
wannadie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2003, 01:52 AM   #4
Ockniel
 
Ockniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: at a theater near you!
Posts: 608
yea, the disk is pretty scrached but its never not worked before, anyways Ill try cleaning it.

and no, I didn't uninstall it from the launcher, I did it from the control panel, does it matter?
Ockniel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2003, 09:18 AM   #5
Ockniel
 
Ockniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: at a theater near you!
Posts: 608
ok I tried cleaning it and it still didn't work!

Ockniel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2003, 06:55 PM   #6
shukrallah
White Dragon
 
shukrallah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,250
Yeah, i think the control panel doesnt uninstall properly... i uninstalled a few games using the control panel... but they are still taking up 400 MB on my HD anyways, heres how to find out if its your disk: Try to copy the assets1.pk3 file from the CD.. .load it up, right click and hit copy and paste it on your HD, if it doesnt work its your CD. If it does, then its something else...
shukrallah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-07-2003, 01:15 AM   #7
Jedi Luke
Veteran
 
Jedi Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: At home
Posts: 861
I remember there was had a crc error with my mates assests1.pk3 file with jkii. I downloaded a program called 'Salvaged' to repair the file and it was 100% repaired and my mate could play the game. If you can find the program 'Salvaged.exe', convert your assests1.pk3 to assests1.zip (so salvaged recognises the format) and repair the file. Good luck.
Jedi Luke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2004, 01:50 AM   #8
Progg
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
here is link to "salvaged"

http://www.copperleife.com/craig/tech/crc_error.htm

trying it now
Progg is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > JK is acting screwy!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.